We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hidden gem”
Review of Misiones De Kino

Misiones De Kino
Ranked #10 of 608 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $21
Cuisines: Italian, Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Misiones de Kino Pasta Bella & Bar “Where Mexico and Little Italy meet for a true culinary experience” We have dedicated our Restaurant in honor of Padre Eusebio Francisco Kino Eusebio Francisco Kino (August 1645 – March 15 1711) was a priest from a town in what is now northern Italy. For the last 24 years of his life he proved that Baja California is not an island but a peninsula by leading an overland expedition there. By the time of his death he had established 24 missions and visitas (country chapels or visiting stations). Misiones de Kino is our “visita” (visiting station) for new and old friends, to share wine and break bread with each other. We welcome you to come and enjoy the tranquility and seclusion of an early Baja style Mission. Misiones de Kino specializes in authentic Mexican, seafood dishes and exquisite Italian cuisine, all brought to you by our family Trattoria.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We have been to Cabo numerous times but this was our first visit to Misiones De Kino. It was highly recommended by other travelers. It did not disappoint! Great food, great service and great atmosphere. We are so glad we tried it and we will be back. The special sauce was one of the best we have ever tasted. Prices are very good. A must for a visit to Cabo.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank colson11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel V, Owner at Misiones De Kino, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

I'm so glad you were referred to us, thank you! We get so many people that say the same thing they didn't know we were here, given the off the beat and path location. So we are always glad when we get new clients for the first time and they get to experience quant charm.
Thank you for taking the time to review us, but truly thank you for taking the time to try us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,070)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

765 - 769 of 1,070 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

We heard that Israel had several entrees with his special sauce, so we had a predisposition to one of this entrees. All four of us ordered fish and octopus cooked with Israel's special sauce. The combination isn't on the menu but as we were deciding if we wanted fish or octopus, the server suggested "half-and-half." Voila, the choice was easy and we learned we couldn't have gone wrong with just one or the other. The sauce is creamy and has a mayonnaise component, so I was wondering if I would agree that it lived up to the high expectations since I'm not a big fan of mayo. I found it to be a nice sauce and change of pace from what we were used to at Cabo area restaurants. The entrees came with traditional and delicious fresh vegetables and Mexican rice. For dessert, I selected flan. This flan was special and we asked the server about what made it different. We guessed right on the cinnamon powder sprinkled over the top, but were stumped on any other ingredient. It turns out there was some Rompope drizzled on top which is a liqueur that we have run across elsewhere in Mexico once before. Delicious. Very attentive and personable staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bjwcfpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel V, Owner at Misiones De Kino, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

The sauce, I fell in love with it too, (and Israel the sauce was a bonus) I am allergic to dairy so I myself couldn't believe a creamy sauce could exit without dairy, but behold Chilpalla sauce it is heavenly and deliquete to make as well. Next time you come in you might want to try it over pasta with octopus, scallops and shrimp order extra bread so you can enjoy ever drop.

Thanks for reviewing us it means a lot.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere is wonderful and the food is unbelievable. They have jumbo shrimp cooked three ways, all of which are great. My favorite is with the secret garlic sauce. A true chef must be cooking because the food is gourmet.

Thank Jackrcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel V, Owner at Misiones De Kino, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Love the title shrimp to die for! Thank you for taking the time to review us, TA is such a great way for people to get opinions and we appreciate it a lot. The secrets sauce is my favorite too, and the coconut mango too. The shrimp in the Baja are fabulous you just can't go wrong. Thank you again, look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

An old mission turned restaurant gets top reviews for food and service.
On a recent occasion we were treated with excellent service (we were13 ) and very good food.
The location is not one that you should walk to at night ( off the beaten path and poorly lit street)
Take a taxi and enjoy a fine meal with old Mexico ambiance.

Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel V, Owner at Misiones De Kino, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for the review, part of the location is the charm you just can't stumble across us. I am so glad you and your group enjoyed us for dinner, hope to see you on your next trip down.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We found the food to be OK and the service better but this is not a place we will be trying again. Wife had the Scampi and I had the Coconut shrimp and we both had a Caesar the items were much better at some of the other places we tried. Many people around enjoyed there meals in talking to then we just didn't.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank hillla43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel V, Owner at Misiones De Kino, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you for trying us, we appreciate all reviews great, good and average it gives us an opportunity to improve our business. I'm sorry that the food didn't meet your expectations. Thank you again for trying us, wish you had a better experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Misiones De Kino also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Misiones De Kino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing