We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and presentations!”
Review of Don Manuel's

Don Manuel's
Ranked #69 of 566 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $62
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Amazing food and presentations!”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Chef Gabriel amazing!!! Took awesome cooking class with him and still craving ceviche!! Food was fresh and delicious and each entree a piece of art.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrTodd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    49
    21
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodside, Ca
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Incredible service and view!”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Service is impeccable. Food was fantastic but I hate to admit it I liked the restaurant better at Marbella Suites restaurant where we stayed. The wine selection was sooo good. I chose a 1/2 bottle that was $125 and ridiculously good. Fantastic setting and view. Would recommend for a special dinner.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Veda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pacific sunsets and great food”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I've been to Don Manuel's a couple times and both were memorable. The restaurant is at Capella, an upscale spa, hotel and residences on the Pacific side of Pedregal, so expect beautiful sunsets, a bit more breeze and slightly lower temps than in Cabo and San Jose. In the winter months a light coat or wrap is recommended, though they usually roll out the space heaters if needed.

The ambiance is amazing. You drive through the mountainside to arrive at a beautiful welcome area, then downstairs to the spacious pool, bar and restaurant area. You are welcomed and taken to your table by a very professional staff who speak good English. The bar is warm and cozy and you can choose to sit inside or outside.

The menu is creative and I found it to be quite reasonable for a restaurant of this caliber. I've spent more at other area restaurants with not nearly the level of service or cuisine here. Appetizers are $16-$22 and entrees are $30-$40. I've had the black cod paella-style and the suckling pig - both were cooked to perfection with yummy sides and in a striking presentation. I've also tasted friends' lamb and snapper and they were delicious.

The service here is excellent - attentive, but not intrusive, and very knowledgable about the menu and the general cuisine of the area. The noise level is modest, allowing easy conversation and the ability to hear the waves on the beach.

This is a place I bring friends I want to see the best Los Cabos has to offer. The food, the staff, the atmosphere all are world-class and worthy of a special night out. If you want to really make an impression for someone's first night in town, come early to have a drink and watch the sunset and then have a fantastic meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tcpindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
126 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Classy oceanside setting with great food”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Everything about Pedregal is first class and both this restaurant and their even more upscale and expensive restaurant (El Farallon) are at the top of a list of Cabo dining establishments. Don Manuel's is located poolside along the Pacific Ocean and offers stunning views of the water and nearby cliffside homes. Tables are comfortably spaced making for a more intimate dining experience and most tables are within earshot of where their small band plays live music. Service is superb and food quality is excellent--we had the scallops and pork appetizer and sea bass and suckling pig for the main course. Don Julio margaritas were great. Cost is very expensive and on a par with Palmilla and Las Ventanas, but worth it for the food and ambiance.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dubaytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fine dining in a gorgeous setting”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We chose Don Manuel based on the reviews and the setting. We were not disappointed.

From the minute you enter the big gate of Capella Pedregal Resort and drive through the cathedral-like tunnel to the hotel entrance, you are impressed by the beauty and exclusive feel of luxury.

The restaurant itself faces the ocean. The setting is romantic and the experience is wonderful.
Order the specialty cocktails. The food and service lived up to expectations. Staff is friendly, very attentive, and go out of their way to make your experience special. Most expensive meal we had in Cabo by far, but worth it!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NosyBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Manuel's also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Don Manuel's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing