We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG”

Maria Corona Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Maria Corona Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #51 of 565 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Price range: $19 - $48
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: WELCOME TO MARÍA CORONA ….Celebrate México and its rich culinary tradition in every bite! Romantic atmosphere, beautiful patio, warm service and memorable Mexican cuisine, fine dining. Dedicated to our grandmother Maria Corona born in 1916 in Mexico City, here you will find her traditional recipes along with her cooking secrets as they’ve been handed down from generation to generation. Our restaurant serves as an honorable guardian and preserver of the traditional Mexican cuisine and cooking methods. The mole is made from scratch from the toasting of the chiles to grinding of the almonds in traditional stone “metate” . Our tortillas are handmade, the salsas are prepared in prehispanic stone molcajetes, Guacamole prepared at your table…. Everything is done in the purest of Mexican Cooking Traditions. Located in the heart of downtown San Lucas with indoor or patio seating. Live music and folcloric dances nightly from 6:30 to 9:30 pm. Octuber to July - Open for lunch and dinner from Noon to 11pm. August to September Open from 4 pm to 11 pm Amazing Sunday Brunch from 10 am to 2 pm
so. cal
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“OMG”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This was our first visit to Maria Corona's and definitely not the last. At the resort we were staying at, everyone was talking about this restaurant on how good it was. My husband and I decided to give it a try. He had the beef shanks which practically melted in your mouth and I had the beef in the molcajete. Very delicious as was the guacamole! Definitely would recommend!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lakini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcgroupcabo, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Maria Corona Restaurant, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments, we work as a team for our clients.
Our mission is to make your dinner a unique and memorable experience.

Best regards from all of our staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    878
    214
    73
    35
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican Cuisine”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Maria Corona restaurant is in a neighborhood area away from the Marina. The restaurant is beautiful, and has a nice patio seating area. There was a Mariachi band playing (but not too loudly) the night we ate there that added a nice ambiance to our meal. The service is excellent. The food is delicious, authentic and fresh. The inside portion of the restaurant is gorgeous with a beautiful fountain, large lanterns hanging from the ceiling, as well as local artwork on display. This restaurant will not disappoint during your Cabo stay!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank RLH89Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcgroupcabo, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Maria Corona Restaurant, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
It is always nice to hear that our clients enjoyed their visit to our restaurant.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and hopefully we will be able to greet you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
115 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

While looking for a place to eat dinner, I asked our taxi for a recommendation hoping to get something a bit off the beaten path. He recommended Maria Corona, and, overall, we were not impressed.

First, the menu was a bit pricier than we expected, which would have been fine had the food been fabulous, but the food was just okay. I had tacos that tasted no better than the tacos I had eaten the night before at my resort's inexpensive little taco bar. It was pretty disappointing. In fact, the consensus from everyone in our group (six adults) was that the food was just okay. We sat outside on the patio, which was lovely, but a breeze kept blowing leaves and flowers into our food (not the restaurants fault, obviously, but still less pleasant).

Second, the service felt just okay as well. When we left, my friend turned to me and expressed that she felt like they were annoyed or frustrated with us the whole time and didn't really want our business. I didn't feel that as much as she did, but I definitely didn't think the service was outstanding. They also allowed some musicians onto the patio to play for us--something we did not request and found a bit annoying to have our dinner interrupted by a band requesting money to play for us (they played the first song for tips--fine, but then they wanted us to pay them $8 for each additional song! No thanks...).

This was definitely a middle-of-the-road experience and, with all the good dining in Cabo, I don't think I would recommend that my friends come here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank miss_faw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcgroupcabo, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Maria Corona Restaurant, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
We appreciate your comments, in our constant efforts to improve, this is always one of the best ways to do it, listening to our clients. We are sorry to read about your experience, certainly is not what we want to offer to our clients. We hope you give us another chance , so you can experience a better service, therefore a much better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Maria Carona, Cabo San Lucas”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Great food, service and atmosphere. Love the out door dining area to sit, cool off, have a cool drink and people watch. Just a short walk from Centro and the busier traffic and chain restaurants Maria Corona is well worth the walk.

Helpful?
Thank clapsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcgroupcabo, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Maria Corona Restaurant, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are happy to know you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to get the chance and welcome you back in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Awesome!!”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The setting was beautiful. The waiters ( Ramirez/Rafael ) were great! The food (presentation and taste) was Best in Class! Will be the first place we go on our next trip back to Cabo

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcgroupcabo, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Maria Corona Restaurant, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It will be a pleasure to have you dinning with us again on your next trip to Cabo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maria Corona Restaurant also viewed

 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Maria Corona Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing