We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food, superior service”

Maria Corona Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Maria Corona Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #47 of 587 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Price range: $19 - $48
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: WELCOME TO MARÍA CORONA ….Celebrate México and its rich culinary tradition in every bite! Romantic atmosphere, beautiful patio, warm service and memorable Mexican cuisine, fine dining. Dedicated to our grandmother Maria Corona born in 1916 in Mexico City, here you will find her traditional recipes along with her cooking secrets as they’ve been handed down from generation to generation. Our restaurant serves as an honorable guardian and preserver of the traditional Mexican cuisine and cooking methods. The mole is made from scratch from the toasting of the chiles to grinding of the almonds in traditional stone “metate” . Our tortillas are handmade, the salsas are prepared in prehispanic stone molcajetes, Guacamole prepared at your table…. Everything is done in the purest of Mexican Cooking Traditions. Located in the heart of downtown San Lucas with indoor or patio seating. Live music and folcloric dances nightly from 6:30 to 9:30 pm. Octuber to July - Open for lunch and dinner from Noon to 11pm. August to September Open from 4 pm to 11 pm Amazing Sunday Brunch from 10 am to 2 pm
Reviewed June 19, 2014

If you're looking for an authentic Mexican meal served by folks who'll take the time to talk to you and share a little of their lives, Maria Corona is your place. We've been there several times over the past few years, and never been disappointed in either the food or the staff. The restaurant has been expanded in recent years, and offers plentiful seating inside and out. On this year's visit, we had an excellent shrimp dish prepared at the table by our waiter, Ulises Ines, who handled the cooking with aplomb and took the time to talk to us about both our lives and his. Congrats, Ulises, on the upcoming birth of his first child. We'll look forward to seeing you soon! Also, they had a killer band playing outside, with a profoundly talented guitarist.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcgroupcabo, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Maria Corona Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We will make sure all the staff know they are doing a great job. We willbe waiting for you on your next trip to cabo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,256)
There are newer reviews for Maria Corona Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

682 - 686 of 1,258 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2014

A charming patio right in Cabo with attentive wait staff. The food was wonderful. Our party had shrimp, enchiladas, black bean soup--all delicious. The margaritas were also excellent. This resataurant also has the best live music we have found in Cabo. The overall experience was wonderful!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcgroupcabo, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Maria Corona Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Thank you for your review and your visit. We would love to have you dining with us on your next trip to Cabo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Already a huge fan of this restaurant, the experience we had last night even surpassed our expectations! We were greeted with a smile and given the choice of sitting inside or outside. We chose a cozy outside table under a beautiful flowering tree with hanging lanterns and twinkling lights.

Our servers for the evening, Jhonatan and Rafael, introduced themselves and assured us they would take great care of us throughout our dining experience - and take care of us they did! We started out with a round of fantastic margaritas and as always, the Maria Corona Fondue...a magical combination of mozzarella, chorizo, sweet corn, and mushrooms made table-side and served in a piping hot traditional Mexican molcajete with a side of handmade corn and flour tortillas.

We were also brought tortilla chips, pico, and an excellent roasted tomatillo salsa. And if you like really (and I mean REALLY) hot salsa, ask for their house made habanero salsa, puréed with roasted garlic, zucchini, and carrots.

Our party of four then split a couple of shrimp entrees, the special of the day (10 ounces of jumbo prawns cooked table-side in garlic and butter with your choice of coconut, mango, or mushroom sauce) and the chipotle sautéed shrimp. Both dishes were amazing and the shrimp incredibly fresh.

After dinner, we wanted to have a little tequila to sip on, and this is where our server, Jhonatan, really wowed us! Instead of heading right for the most expensive bottles OR just assuming our table of gringos would prefer a more mainstream libation, he brought over three bottles, all with very different flavor profiles, aging, and price points. We ended up trying all three (a unique Jose Cuervo, a beautiful Herredura, and another fantastic choice I can't remember the name of).

Jonathan spent a good amount of time not only describing these tequilas, but giving us an in-depth explanation of tequila in Mexico...from how and where it's made to the regulations around barreling, aging, and bottling. We were not only impressed by his knowledge, but also his truly genuine, sincere, and warm personality. He was by far one of the best servers I have ever had, and we have eaten at some pretty great restaurants around the world.

Overall, we wanted to formally thank Jhonathan, Rafael, and the staff of Maria Corona for a truly memorable experience!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MadisonTaylor50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcgroupcabo, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Maria Corona Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Thank you for such a beautiful and detailed review. We like going out of ou way to make your experience with us unforgettable. We will share this review with the staff so they keep up the good work. We hope to have the chance to greet you back on your next trip to cabo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

This is a must in Cabo! Our first time to the restaurant and we were not disappointed! We ordered lots of different dishes and were not let down by any of them!!!! The only reason I give it a 4 is the cheesy Aztec guy walking around taking pictures...... Could have done without that!

Thank Robinsb40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcgroupcabo, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Maria Corona Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments, Its always good to have feedback on things we can improve. We hope to have the pleasure to have you dining with us in a near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

One of the best meals we've had in Mexico and at home! Try their Maria Corona cheese fondue - it was to die for! Between the chips/salsa and our appetizer we ended up splitting and entree. It was our anniversary dinner and our waiters bought us cheese cake (amazing!!). The service was incredible, the food was incredible. The only thing just "good" in my opinion was the drinks - but I think Monkey Business spoiled us in that department. The price was incredibly affordable - $60USD for appetizer, entree and 4 drinks! We will definitely be back. Great atmosphere (music on the patio, great service, great food, fair price!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank danda913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcgroupcabo, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Maria Corona Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

All the staff work hard every day to give you an unforgettable experience, It will be an honor to have you back on your next trip to cabo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maria Corona Restaurant also viewed

 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Maria Corona Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing