We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new favorite”

Maria Corona Restaurant
Ranked #51 of 572 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Price range: $19 - $48
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: WELCOME TO MARÍA CORONA ….Celebrate México and its rich culinary tradition in every bite! Romantic atmosphere, beautiful patio, warm service and memorable Mexican cuisine, fine dining. Dedicated to our grandmother Maria Corona born in 1916 in Mexico City, here you will find her traditional recipes along with her cooking secrets as they’ve been handed down from generation to generation. Our restaurant serves as an honorable guardian and preserver of the traditional Mexican cuisine and cooking methods. The mole is made from scratch from the toasting of the chiles to grinding of the almonds in traditional stone “metate” . Our tortillas are handmade, the salsas are prepared in prehispanic stone molcajetes, Guacamole prepared at your table…. Everything is done in the purest of Mexican Cooking Traditions. Located in the heart of downtown San Lucas with indoor or patio seating. Live music and folcloric dances nightly from 6:30 to 9:30 pm. Octuber to July - Open for lunch and dinner from Noon to 11pm. August to September Open from 4 pm to 11 pm Amazing Sunday Brunch from 10 am to 2 pm
Bellingham, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Our new favorite”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We were recommended this restaurant by other guests staying at our resort and were not disappointed. We started our meal with chips, a variety of salsas, and fresh guacamole made at our table along with their house margaritas which are the best I have had in Cabo. Don Julio is their standard tequila. We all ordered from the 'Gramp's Favorites' section of the menu. I had the Pork Chile Verde and my brother had another pork entree and both were excellent. Presentation of food, ambiance and service was also excellent. The prices on the menu are a great value, but they do ask you if want alot of extras - bottled water, appetizers, soup, etc, so if you are being cost conscious just say 'no'. If you are not, go for it, because everything was great here!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    886
    216
    73
    35
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“great restaurant”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We (husband and i) went recently like a week ago while our vacation. We found it walking around while looking for something else, is off the strip but caught our attention because it looks very pretty from the outside.
The attention and customer service was EXCELLENT!!!!!, we went for lunch and unfortunately I dont remember our waiter's name but he was awesome. Even the owner or manager came at some point to check on us.
Margarita is a must, is was excellent, just with the house tequila.
Corona beer was very cold, which it was not the case in other restaurants.
The food was amazing, lots of flavor and big quantities. We were very hungry and with a guacamole, which by the way, they do it table side, and a main course and dessert we were super full.
What really made our day was the fact, we wanted to try fried ice cream and they didn't have in the menu and they did it for us. It was very yummy!!!!
The restaurant was really not busy and that's why they did it for us, but still, maybe at some place else they would have said no, but at Maria Corona was not the case. I really loved the fact they did that for us.
They have a sign at the door that says, a/c inside. The A/C was very poor. That will be my only complaint but other than that it was a great experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lourdes R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodland hills, ca.
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“lovely restaurant”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We agree with other reviews, great food, (Mole, diablo shrimp) ambiance,service, music. We liked so much came back a second night. We also were approached by hostess about timeshare,(she was never pushy) I think it was something she does on the side not part of the restaurant. We made it clear at the moment it was brought up we were not interested, it was dropped, & still had great service, friendly attitude.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CaWoodlandHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fundido Indeed!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The restaurant was recommended by our concierge at Pueblo Bonito Rose. The food and margueritas were excellent. We went back a second time just for the fundido! See you next year!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 4guysMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
"The OC", CA
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Fine. Nothing to write home about.”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The place is off the beaten track. Cute. It is newer but looks like it has been there forever. Red wine came out COLD, that was unfortunate. I had grilled shrimp. They were fine. Tiniest portion of rice you have ever seen. It was pretty good but was 3 forkfuls. Veggies were also pretty good but very small portion. Chips were adequate (so far the chips here have not been my favorite). Hubs' chile rellenos were ok... not spectacular. "Sopapillas" were not sopapillas but more bunuelos... they were adequate. Musicians playing inside were very lovely... we didn't know if it would be too loud an obnoxious and opted to sit outside... it was hot out there and the music was nice so we regretted our choice. We were chatted up by the "hosts" standing out front gathering and bringing in guests. Turs out they are sales people for a timeshare trying to get you to come to do their 90 minute tour. They are nice, but when we are spending $100 for dinner, we do NOT want the restaurant to trick us into a sales presentation!!! We feel like we should've gotten our dinner for FREE at that point. Shame on you Maria Corona.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mazmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maria Corona Restaurant also viewed

 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Maria Corona Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing