We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best local tacos.”
Review of Gardenias

Gardenias
Ranked #40 of 578 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch
Description: Mexican home style food and tacos. Delicious variety of tacos: fish & shrimp (breaded or grilled), cochinita pibil, nopales, chicharron, barbacoa and chicken. Also our special Shrimp Molcajete prepared with salsa, onion and cheese. Ceviche, Seafood soup, Tortilla soup, Fish salad, Shrimp cocktail and much more! Serving delicious tacos in for over 30 years with prime products only!
Costa Mesa, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best local tacos.”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

These people are so nice and have a wonderful restaurant. The food is great...love the fresh squeezed Orange Juice in the mornings.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brigide D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    646
    190
    48
    25
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Culver City, California
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Local very yummy taco 'joint'.”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Nothing fancy but simply delicious fresh fish and shrimp tacos (along with other typical local dishes).
All the condiments on the table to make them as loaded or spicy as you want.
$2.50 or $3 each with super fresh-made soft tacos and super cold drinks.
A completely family run business with friendly service.
4 could eat lunch for $20-25, a food bargain in expensive Cabo.
Open everyday 10-10?
We stop there at least once each trip (for 20+ years).

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ethan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Best Fish Tacos I ever had!”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Not only are the tacos made with sea bass--but chunks of sea bass--fresh and either grilled or fried...then she comes to the table with a whole host of salads and accompaniments and sauces and what can I say--YUM yum, yum. I have a problem with spice, so they catually made some new chopped tomatoes and cilantro to replac the spicey ones so I could dress my tacos. The guacamole is not spicey and there ia a lime mayonnaise that is sensational. It is a messy
lunch (or dinner) but its so tasty...my mouth is watering thinking about it.

And you know what it costs? 2 dollars a taco!!!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JJ416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, USA
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great, cheap, fun”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Really good tacos at really cheap prices. Several varieties and multiple salsas to go with them, all delicious. Not much of a bar---a few beers (very cold!), margaritas and a couple other things. No wine. Very down to earth and authentic. Don't think they're open past 5 p.m. Great lunch or light snack or carry out a bunch to your vacation place for later. When you don't want to spend a lot.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank msserene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tacos Gardenias is one of our favorites”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

We travel to Cabo two to three times a year. We have been going to Gardenias for years. It has outstanding seafood and great fish and shrimp tacos. We love all the food we have eaten there. We were recommended by locals to go there. The restaurant closes early in the evening during the off season so you have to pay attention to the hours.

The restaurant is not fancy. It is a open air, taco shack. It is very clean and very reasonable. It is close to the beach and resorts. You can't go wrong eating there. It is the best.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PFlyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gardenias also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Gardenias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing