We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hit up for timeshare at dinner?”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Felix's

Felix's
Ranked #272 of 555 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Hit up for timeshare at dinner?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

First of all, I love this restaurant. We went there twice for breakfast (Mama's) and enjoyed the food and ambience so much that we decided to go back for dinner. Now keep in mind that while we were in Cabo we were constantly approached--bordering harassed--to go to timeshare presentations. No surprise, I know, but we sought out places where we could find some piece and quiet. I expect a restaurant to give its customers a respite from aggressive salespersons. We thought we had found such a place a Felix's. However, there was a woman who we assumed was the hostess or owner. She came to us at the beginning of our meal and was mingling at the all of the tables. As we were finishing our dinner she came to us and asked how our dinner was- and was chatting it up-(what is lost in this review is that the coconut shrimp was delicious) and proceeded to tell us that she could arrange for the dinner to free and another free dinner if we agreed to go to her timeshare spiel. We were horrified. We turned her down and sadly did not return to this wonderful little restaurant. I have been meaning to write this review for several months--We were there in June. I hope that Felix's has thought better of resorting to such a breach of trust to their customers. This encounter made us lose our appetite.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sactotraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    38
    12
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First time visit, definitely not the last”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

After years of going to Mama's for breakfast and our traditional eggs benedict, we decided to try the nighttime version and was delightfully surprised at how good all our selections were. In particularly, I highly recommend the seafood pasta (on the back page of the menu) - just spicy enough, with fresh pasta perfectly cooked. Would absolutely go back and order the same dish!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia2136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Remembered it good in the past, but....????”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Sorry guys! We remember when the "salsa bar" WAS noteworthy. But now?? Well, not sure what happened. Just got too comfortable. Hard to say. We've been a number of times in the past couple of years (treated by friends or we probably wouldn't have gone) and each time is consistent - average. Beer is cheap - that's always good, but this time it wasn't even "Mexico cold!" Food's OK, though for the price it should be considerably better.
The waiter, Jorge, is the best. I'm hoping he start's looking for work elsewhere, though, as I'm guessing this place won't survive much longer.
I'm sure you're nice people, but if you can't put out a product that shines....retire.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Average food, greatly overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Service was great, but then we were the only people there until joined by another couple when we were almost finished with our meal. The famous salsa bar only had 15 kinds of salsa. The pico de gallo had gotten very ripe in the warm temperature and was inedible. The other sauces were cooked so they didn't suffer the same fate. I had the coconut mango shrimp and DH had the Mexican shrimp. Both were medium size shrimps heated up in their respective sauces rather than being browned first, resulting In less than flavorful dishes. Sides of rice and beans unremarkable. The margaritas were strong and beer cold, chips were freshly made, so that saved the day.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank grmmybtty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Mexican fun and fantastic authentic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

This will be the first place we go to on each return. Talk about wow flavours and authentic preparation. The staff bring a whole new meaning to service and enjoyment. Speak a little Spanish and you will find yourself being treated like family. Great breakfast/brunch as well.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank CityMice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Felix's also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Felix's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing