We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Happy Ending!!”

Happy Ending Cantina
Ranked #25 of 560 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Happy Ending's 5 full-time chefs prepare generous proportions of delicious food, always at affordable prices, in its completely new kitchen. Our Crispy Tacos, Huge Burritos, Super Nachos, Cheeseburgers, Super "Loaded" Fries, Quesadillas, etc., Have become the most popular in Cabo. The kitchen is located directly on the sidewalk to make it easy for those who simply want to eat at the outside counter or take their food to go. Our bartenders and waiters can also place orders and serve food to our customers inside Happy Ending. Food is served everyday from 10:00 am to at least 3:00 am.
sydney
Level Contributor
120 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Always a Happy Ending!!”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

What a great place! Bought a pair of gym pants in their shop,wore them to the bar & got a free shot of tequila!!Fabulous!!
If you sign your name on a bill,they will staple it to one of the beams in the bar or a pair of knickers that are hanging there!
Great margarita's and wonderful service from Carlos aka Diego...that's not his real name,but he looks like Diego Rivera who is on the 500 peso note!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bellacabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
bellacabo from Sydney, Australia:

Trip Advisor has designated you a "Contributor" because you've written 20 reviews about businesses in 11 cities. Thank you for writing such a great review about Happy Ending Cantina, for naming it "Always a Happy Ending!!" and for rating it with all "5-Stars."

Thank you for describing Happy Ending as a "great place," "fabulous!!," with "great margaritas and wonderful service." ALL your opinions and comments are very much appreciated.

Bartender Carlos, or "Diego" as you nicknamed him, personally asked me to thank you for your nice comments about him and for comparing his looks to "Diego Rivera," whose image is on the 500 Mexican Peso note. I think I just might start calling Carlos "Diego" as well. Carlon/Diego is one our most popular day shift bartenders. He's a real gentleman and one of the best bartenders in the business.

Thanks for personalizing a dollar bill that Carlos stapled to one of our ceiling beams as a memento of your visit. There are now around 8,000 dollar bills adorning our ceilings.

Carlos/Diego and I both hope that you can find the time and the means to return soon to Cabo San Lucas and to Happy Ending.

You live in Sydney, Australia, the state capital of New South Wales, and one of the most beautiful and historic cities on Planet Earth. In 1770, Lieutenant James Cook landed at Botany Bay on the Kurnell Peninsula. Here Cook made first contact with an Aboriginal community known as the Gweagal. In 1788, under instruction from the British government, Arthur Phillip founded a convict settlement in the area, arriving at Botany Bay with a fleet of 11 ships. However, Phillip soon discovered the site was unsuitable for habitation because of poor soil and a lack of reliable fresh water. Phillip subsequently founded the colony at Sydney Cove, one inlet further north along the coast. The official proclamation of the founding and naming of Sydney took place just two weeks later. The original name of Sydney was intended to be "Albion," but Phillip decided to name the settlement after the British Home Secretary, Thomas Townshend, "Lord Sydney," in recognition of Lord Sydney's role in issuing the charter authorizing Phillip to establish the colony. By 1822, Sydney had grown and had banks, markets, well established thoroughfares and an organized constabulary. Sydney was built on hills surrounding Port Jackson, commonly known as Sydney Harbor, where the iconic Sydney Opera House and the Harbor Bridge are now prominent structures. Sydney soon became the largest city in Australia and is consistently ranked high among world cities having a high quality of life.

Best wishes for "Always" having Happy Endings to all your hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might take you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,117
    374
    108
    35
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great visit at Happy Endings”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We were told about this great place close to the marina by guests at the same motel we stayed at. We went to town and found it. We had a great time there. Everyone was friendly, from the crew to customers. Our friend we were traveling with is a fire fighter and got to sign his name on the wall. The owner was there, we had a nice chat learning about how Happy Endings came to be in San Lucas. Great story, great place. A must find if you are in their area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynzee4407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Lynzee4407:

I sincerely appreciate you wrote your very first Trip Advisor review about your visit, 5 months ago, to Happy Ending Cantina. I hope you continue to write more reviews about businesses you visit in the future. Your great comments and wonderful recommendations are very much appreciated by me and by each member of our crew. Thank you for naming your review "Great Visit at Happy Endings" and for rating it with all "5-Stars."

Very often when our customers return to their hotels they tell other tourists they meet about how much fun they had at Happy Ending and recommend they visit as well. I'm so happy that a guest at your hotel recommended you visit Happy Ending as well. Good word-of-mouth is the best form of advertising!

Thank you for describing Happy Ending as "we had a great time there," "everyone was friendly, from the crew to the customers," "great place" and "a must find if you are in their area." Your comments are simple and concise yet perfectly describe what Happy Ending is all about. Without a doubt, our crew members are the best in the business. They consistently exhibit the best, and very sincere, customer service skills that you'll find at any bar in Cabo San Lucas. They enjoy working at Happy Ending and it shows in the way they go about doing their jobs. Many customers, such as yourself, have told me how much fun they had with other Happy Ending customers. Happy Ending has been attracting fun loving happy customers since the day we opened almost 6 years ago. Happy Ending is simply blessed to draw great customers, day-in-and-day-out, and is one of the most important reasons Happy Ending is so popular. Jerks are never welcome at Happy Ending and, if one slips in, they are removed....muy pronto!

I really appreciated being able to personally meet you and your group and spend time together discussing how Happy Ending came about.

As you know, I'm a retired LAPD Sergeant and both my sons became LAPD cops when they turned 21. We honor Police Officers, Firefighters and all other Public Safety Officers....those who risk their lives for strangers on a daily basis, by letting them all personalize specific areas of our walls, as well as affixing any of their department memorabilia....such as hats, patches, T-shirts, challenge coins, etc....to our walls and ceilings. ONLY Public Safety Officers can "sign" our walls....all our other customers can personalize a dollar bill or other paper currency, which we happily attach to our ceilings and walls as a reminder of their visit to Happy Ending. There are well over 8,000 bills now stapled to our ceilings and other safe places.

Best wishes for having lots and lots of "Great" Happy Endings to all your endeavors, hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might ever take you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“My Happy Ending Visit”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

This place is awesome. The staff are friendly and the service is great. My girlfriend and I met the owner of this establishment and had a blast with her. Happy Endings rock period! Got to experience. Can't wait till my next visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Cheny T from Orlando, Florida:

Thank you very much for writing your very first Trip Advisor review about Happy Ending Cantina. I sincerely appreciate you rated your review with all "5-Stars" and named it "My Happy Ending Visit." We promise everyone who visits Happy Ending will leave with their own "Happy Ending."

I'm very happy that you described Happy Ending as "awesome," with a "friendly" staff and "great service."

My wife and co-owner, Regine "La Jefa," asked me to let you know that she also a "blast" with you and your girlfriend.

Thank you for using words such as "Happy Ending rocks period," "got to experience" it and "can't wait till my next visit" in recommending others to visit Happy Ending.

I really appreciate ALL your wonderful comments and great recommendations. "La Jefa" and the rest of our crew are eager to spend more time with you and your girlfriend the next time you visit. Please try and make it soon!

You live in beautiful and historic Orlando, Florida, also known as "The Theme Park Capital of the World." Its attractions draw more than 51 million tourists a year. Orlando was originally known as "Jernigan" after the first permanent settler, "Aaron Jernigan." Current Orlando officials and local legend say the name "Orlando" originated from a soldier named "Orlando Reeves" who died in 1835 during an attack by Native Americans in the area during the Second Seminole War. Reeves was acting as a sentinel for a company of soldiers that had set up camp for the night on the banks of Sandy Beach Lake, now called Lake Eola.

Best wishes for having lots and lots of "awesome" Happy Endings to all your hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might find you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun Cabo Bar”
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Great bar to run in for a quick round or hangout and play some beer pong! $2 beers or $5 for 2 shots + 2 beers!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandacnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Mandacnelson;

Thank you for writing such a great concise review about Happy Ending Cantina and for giving it Trip Advisor's highest "5-Star" rating. I enjoyed reading the 3 words you chose to summarize your review: You named it "Fun Cabo Bar."

I appreciate ALL your comments and recommendations. You described Happy Ending as a "great bar to run in for a quick round or hangout and play some beer pong!" Happy Ending is Cabo's only restaurant and/or bar that always has at least 10 custom built, regulation size, professional Beer Pong tables set and ready for play all the time. Actually, I believe Happy Ending is the ONLY place that offers Beer Pong all the time! We actually have a total of 18 tables and set them all during each Spring Break. Happy Ending is the Official Headquarters of the Baja Division of the Mexican Beer Pong League.

Thanks for also mentioning our "Promo" that consists of 2 ice cold full-size bottles of Corona, Corona Light, Pacifico or Pacifico Light AND 2 huge double shots of our delicious super-smooth pure agave tequila that ALWAYS has the REGULAR PRICE of only $5....for all 4 "real" drinks. "Always" means just that....right now, later today, all night tonight, all day and night tomorrow, next week, next month, next year, 365 and 24/7...."ALWAYS!"

Best wishes for lots of "Fun" Happy Endings to all your endeavors, hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might take you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“$5 for two shots and two beers”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We went in for the wifi and the great all day $5 special but we were pleasantly surprised to also have great service and a fun atmosphere. The bartenders were fantastic and really friendly. We sat at the bar and had some great conversations with the customers as well. We will be back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Sarah A:

Thank you very much for giving your review Trip Advisor's highest "5-Star" rating and for naming it "$5 for Two Shots and Two Beers."

I sincerely appreciate that you described Happy Ending as having "great service," a "fun atmosphere," plus "fantastic and really friendly" bartenders.

I'm happy that you enjoyed our FREE high-speed WiFi. We never restrict our FREE WiFi, our FREE long distance phone calls or the use of our spotlessly clean restrooms to only customers or anyone else. Many hotels are now charging $15+ per day for limited and very slow WiFi. It's always FREE at Happy Ending.

Thanks for writing about our "Promo" that consists of 2 ice cold bottles of Corona, Corona Light, Pacifico or Pacifico Light AND 2 huge double shots of our delicious super-smooth pure agave tequila....for the REGULAR PRICE of only $5....all the time! And "all the time" means just that....from the day we first opened in 2008, until today, tonight, tomorrow, next week, next year, 365 and 24/7. It's by far the best deal in the history of Cabo and probably in the history of mankind as well. Note that we only sell the world's most popular brands of Mexican beers and not the cheap unpopular brands that no one ever orders.

Thank you for ALL your wonderful comments and great recommendations.

Best wishes for having lots and lots of "$5 for Two Shots and Two Beers" type of Happy Endings to all your endeavors, hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might take you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Ending Cantina also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Happy Ending Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing