We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite bar in Cabo”

Happy Ending Cantina
Ranked #30 of 571 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Happy Ending's 5 full-time chefs prepare generous proportions of delicious food, always at affordable prices, in its completely new kitchen. Our Crispy Tacos, Huge Burritos, Super Nachos, Cheeseburgers, Super "Loaded" Fries, Quesadillas, etc., Have become the most popular in Cabo. The kitchen is located directly on the sidewalk to make it easy for those who simply want to eat at the outside counter or take their food to go. Our bartenders and waiters can also place orders and serve food to our customers inside Happy Ending. Food is served everyday from 10:00 am to at least 3:00 am.
San Ramon, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Favorite bar in Cabo”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We had such a great time kicking back at Happy Ending Cantina that we went back twice in only 4 days. The chips, salsa, and guacamole are outstanding. We also played beer pong twice. So much fun! We will definitely be back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Lauren S from San Ramon, California:

Trip Advisor has named you a "Senior Reviewer" because you've written so many reviews. Thank you for writing such a wonderful review about Happy Ending Cantina, for rating it with all "5-Stars," and for naming it your "Favorite Bar in Cabo."

I'm very pleased that you had "so much fun" and "such a great time kicking back" at Happy Ending that you returned twice in four days and "played beer pong twice."

Thank you for describing our chips, salsa and guacamole as "outstanding." We have 5 full-time experienced chefs who prepare food between 10:00 am and 3:00 am daily. They make the freshest "Cantina-style" food in Cabo San Lucas. Hundreds of our customers have told me the food prepared by our chefs was the most delicious they ate in Cabo, particularly our famous "El Jefe Super Burrito" and our equally famous "El Patron Super Burger."

The entire crew and I are "definitely" eager to see you again when you "definitely" return.

You life in beautiful and historic San Ramon, a city in Contra Costa County, California, a modern, family orientated suburb of the San Francisco Bay Area. San Ramon lies in the San Ramon Valley. In 1797, present day San Ramon was part of Spaniard Jose Maria Amador's "Rancho San Ramon" which comprised more than 16,000 acres. San Ramon Creek was originally named "Ramon Creek" after an Indian vaquero, "Ramon," who tended mission sheep there. In an 1855 land title case, Don Amador explained that "San" was added to the creek's name to conform with Spanish custom. American settlers first came to San Ramon in 1850 when Leo and Mary Jane Norris purchased 4,450 acres of land from Amador. Other early landowners were William Lynch, James Dougherty, and Major Samuel Russell. In 1852, Joel and Minerva Harlan bought land from Norris and built a house on what became the Alameda-Contra Costa County line in 1853. San Ramon had several names in the nineteenth century. It was called Brevensville, after resident blacksmith Eli Breven, Lynchville, after resident William Lynch and Limerick, after the many Irish settlers. In 1873, when a permanent post office was finally established, it was formally named "San Ramon." In 1983, San Ramon voters decided overwhelmingly to incorporate as a city.

Best wishes for lots of your "Favorite" type of Happy Endings to all your endeavors, hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might take you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,703 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,138
    382
    108
    36
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Plainfield, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great prices. Good Atmosphere. Friendly Staff”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Cabo on a budget? Check out this place. $2 beers, $2 tacos, $8 giant burrito. We had a few beers, ordered a few tacos, guacamole and chicken wings. The only thing that I can say was a negative were the chicken wings. They came out un-sauced and slightly soft, not crispy. Other than that, our tacos were excellent and our beers were cold. Nice atmosphere all around, and right down from the bigger bars like Cabo Wabo and Giggling Marlin

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank koolshaggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
koolshaggy North Plainfield, New Jersey:

Because you're such an experienced reviewer, Trip Advisor has named you a "Contributor." Thank you for writing such a nice review about Happy Ending Cantina which you named "Great Prices. Good Atmosphere. Friendly Staff." Thank you for ALL your wonderful comments and great recommendations.

Thanks for writing about our super-low everyday prices. The REGULAR PRICE for our "Promo" is always only $5 and has been this price since the day we opened in 2008. The Promo consists of your choice of 2 ice cold bottles of Corona, Corona Light, Pacifico or Pacifico Light AND 2 huge double shots of our delicious super-smooth pure agave tequila....that's 4 real drinks for only $5....yesterday, today, tomorrow, next week, next month, next year, 365 and 24/7. We only sell the world's most popular brands of Mexican beers and never the cheap crappy tasting brands....never! Caveat Emptor!

I'm very happy that you enjoyed our tacos which you described as "excellent" and our beers that you described as "cold." I'm sorry you weren't happy with the chicken wings. Our chefs prepare 5 different types of wing sauce, however, rather than cooking the wings covered with different sauces, they cook the wings without sauce then serve them with the sauces on the side so the customer can try all the different sauces. The wings should have been served crispy. I only wish you would have let us know how you wanted them prepared and our chefs would have done so. Note that our menus specifically describe the sauces available and even has a photo showing the different sauces in plastic cups on the side of the wings.

You live in the historic and beautiful Borough of North Plainfield in Somerset County, New Jersey. The Borough of North Plainfield was settled by Dutch families before the American Revolution. Among them were the Vermeule and Cadmus families who were just two of the handful of families that each received 1,200 acres from King George of England. Some of the homes these settlers built still exist....among them the "Vermeule Mansion," which serves as North Plainfield's current-day community center. Long before it was called "North Plainfield," the town was referred to as "Blue Hills" and was a part of Warren Township. The name was later changed to a name more appropriate to the gently rolling fields of the area In 1872, "North Plainfield Township" was incorporated and included current-day Borough of North Plainfield, Watchung and Green Brook. North Plainfield Township was created from portions of Warren Township by an Act of the New Jersey Legislature. In 1885, The Borough of North Plainfield became an independent municipality. North Plainfield, a 2.9 square mile area at the base of New Jersey’s Watchung Mountains, was originally a cluster of farms. Steady growth as a commuter center began with the extension of the Central Jersey Railroad and continued with the advent of motorized transportation. Just twenty-three miles from Manhattan, the Borough retains many small-town and family orientated qualities.

Best wishes for lots of "Great" Happy Endings to all your hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might find you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sir, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Back again”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Back in Cabo for our anniversary and had to stop in for a kick start with the best all day, every day special, 2 + 2 for $5. Picked up another T shirt, visited again with El Jefe, and was amazed that the staff recognized and remembered us from previous visits. This is a must stop when in Cabo...the staff and owner are friendly, the tequila is smooth and the beer is cold. Doesn't get much better than that! See you again this fall

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hospitalitypro47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
hospitalitypro47 from Montrose, Colorado:

Trip Advisor has designated you a "Senior Contributor" because you've written 24 reviews about establishments in 7 different cities. Thank you for writing your third review about Happy Ending Cantina and for all the wonderful comments and great recommendations you made. I really appreciate you named your review "Back Again" and gave your review Trip Advisor's highest "5-Star" rating.

It was my honor that you spent part of your anniversary celebrating with us at Happy Happy Ending Cantina and once again enjoyed our "Promo" that consists of 2 ice cold bottles of Corona, Corona Light, Pacifico or Pacifico Light AND 2 huge double shots of our super-smooth pure agave tequila that we've ALWAYS sold for the REGULAR PRICE of only $5....for ALL 4 drinks! And "always" means just that....yesterday, today, tomorrow, next week, next month, next year, 365 and 24/7. It's the best deal in the history of mankind!

Thank you for describing Happy Ending as "a must stop when in Cabo," "the staff and owner are friendly," "the tequila is smooth" and "the beer is cold."

You both have become Official Members of our Happy Ending Family and the entire staff and I are eager to spend more time with you when you return again this fall.

You live in beautiful and historic Montrose, Colorado. Before Montrose officially became a town in 1882, it was known by several other names; "Pomona," "Dad’s Town," and "Uncompahgre Town" were just a few of them. Joseph Selig suggested the town be named "Montrose" after his favorite character in Sir Walter Scott’s novel, "The Legend of Montrose." In 1909, the famous Gunnison Tunnel opened. It was constructed to provide vital irrigation water to the valley. Its opening was highlighted by President Taft's visit and signaled the beginning of a new era of agricultural production in Montrose. Today the canal is also used for recreation. Water rushing through the canal below the tunnel creates a kayak-surfing spot called the "M-wave." Montrose is a gateway to the incredible Black Canyon of the Gunnison National Park to the east of town. In the winter, Montrose is a transportation hub for ski areas in the San Juan Mountains to the south.

Best wishes for lots of "Friendly" Happy Endings to all your endeavors, hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might take you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome place to hang”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We did some reviews prior to our first trip to cabo and wanted to hit happy ending cantina! We went for my hubby's 40th birthday ... 2 beer for 4 bucks downtown cabo, can't beat it but our 2nd time back we had the beer and food.. Wow the prices are amazing and great fresh food. We had a chance to meet gene "la jefe" - the owner, he actually came over to our table to say hi. Fast, fresh and friendly .
We weren't able to make it in the evening for beer pong.... Next time!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shelley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Shelley T from Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada:

Thank you for naming your review "Awesome Place to Hang" and for all your wonderful comments and great recommendations. I also thank you for rating Happy Ending with "5-Stars" for "Value, Atmosphere, Service and Food."
I'm pleased that before this trip, your first to Cabo San Lucas, you researched reviews on Trip Advisor and "wanted to hit Happy Ending Cantina." As you know, customers have written over 1,625 Trip Advisor reviews about Happy Ending in the 5 1/2 years since we opened. Only one other Cabo restaurant/bar has more TA reviews than Happy Ending and they've been open many many more years.

It was my honor to meet you and your husband while he celebrated his 40th birthday in Cabo San Lucas. I hope you can both celebrate many more special events at Happy Ending in the future.

Thank for writing about our "$2 beers," our "great fresh food" and our "amazing prices." As you discovered, we never sell the cheap crappy tasting brands of Mexican beers. We ONLY sell the best and most desirable brands: Corona, Corona Light, Pacifico, Pacifico Light, Modelo Especial, Negra Modelo, Victoria (my personal favorite), Stella Artoise and Bud LIght.

The entire crew and are are eager to watch you both play Beer Pong on one of our dozen custom built, regulation size Beer Pong tables the next time you visit Cabo. We hope you can find the free time and the means to make your return sooner rather than later.

You're very fortunate to live in Nanaimo, one of the most beautiful and historic cities on Vancouver Island in British Columbia, Canada. The name "Nanaimo" is a contraction of the Indian word "Snanaimo" which means "Great People." These "Great People" were formerly composed of five Indian tribes, one of which lived at "Sclalup," now called "Departure Bay," another at "Sweelum," now known as "Nanaimo River," and the other two tribes, both small tribes, lived within a radius of four or five miles from Wenthuysen Inlet, where the fifth, the largest and the principal tribe, lived. These tribes each had a separate name but all spoke the same dialect. They finally united at Wenthuysen Inlet, now the city of Nanaimo, thus forming the "Great People" - hence the name. The first Europeans to find Nanaimo Bay were those of the 1791 Spanish voyage of Juan Carrasco, under the command of Francisco de Eliza. They gave it the name "Bocas de Winthuysen." Nanaimo began as a trading post in the early 19th century. In 1849, Snuneymuxw Chief Kietsakun informed the Hudson's Bay Company of the presence of coal in the area, and in 1853, the company built a fort known as the "Nanaimo Bastion" which is still preserved. Subsequently the town was chiefly known for the export of coal. In present time, Nanaimon it is fondly known as the "Hub, Tub, and Pub City" because of its association with the bathtub racing and the numerous "watering holes" in Old Nanaimo.

Best wishes for lots of "Awesome" Happy Endings to all your hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might find you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Johnny Fierros was the best waiter/bar tender ...... One of our best Cabo experiences. We spent most of our day wth Johnny, he ”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Johnny F - is the best !
One of our best Cabo experiences, thank u. Spent most of our day at Happy Endings ....great food, drinks, service

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raven2914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Raven2914

It's always a pleasure to read someone's very first Trip Advisor review, especially when it's written about Happy Ending Cantina. Thank you for rating your review with all "5-Stars" and for naming it "“Johnny Fierros Was The Best Waiter/Bartender ...... One Of Our Best Cabo Experiences. We Spent Most Of Our Day With Johnny, He.... ” I believe this is the longest title anyone has ever given to their review about Happy Ending.

Jonathan, one of our most popular day shift waiters, personally asked me to thank you for all the nice comments you wrote about him both in the title and in the body of your review. Happy Ending is very fortunate to have Jonathan as one of our crew members. His attention to his duties, his professional abilities and his outstanding customer service skills are absolutely phenomenal!

Thank you for describing Happy Ending as "one of our best Cabo Experiences," with "great food, drinks, service."

Jonathan, all our other crew members, and I hope you can find the time and the means to return soon to Cabo San Lucas so you can continue to party with us at Happy Ending.

Best wishes for having lots and lots of only the "Best" type of Happy Endings to all your endeavors, hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might take you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Ending Cantina also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Happy Ending Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing