We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a blast!”

Happy Ending Cantina
Ranked #33 of 587 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Happy Ending's 5 full-time chefs prepare generous proportions of delicious food, always at affordable prices, in its completely new kitchen. Our Crispy Tacos, Huge Burritos, Super Nachos, Cheeseburgers, Super "Loaded" Fries, Quesadillas, etc., Have become the most popular in Cabo. The kitchen is located directly on the sidewalk to make it easy for those who simply want to eat at the outside counter or take their food to go. Our bartenders and waiters can also place orders and serve food to our customers inside Happy Ending. Food is served everyday from 10:00 am to at least 3:00 am.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

My husband and I were in Cabo with some friends. We saw a sign out front of Happy Ending that showed a great drink special - $5 for two beers and two tequila shots - so we went in. We were almost the only customers when we got there, but we must have started the party! Great bartender (Axel), awesome magician (Samuel) and a whole lot of fun. We didn't eat there, but the atmosphere was fantastic!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank nbwm88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

nbwm88 from Washington, District of Columbia:

Trip Advisor has designated you to be a "Senior Reviewer" because you've written 8 reviews about establishments in 4 cities. Thank you for all the wonderful comments and great recommendations you wrote about Happy Ending Cantina and thank you for giving your review a "5-Star" rating.

You live in Washington, District of Columbia, the capital of the United States of America. It's one of the most beautiful, most historical and most important cities in the world. The word "Columbia" combines "Columb," based on the surname of explorer Christopher Columbus, and an ending, "ia," common in Latin for names of countries. The meaning of "Columbia" is therefore "Land of Columbus." "Columbia" was the historical and poetic name for the United States of America first used in 1738, and was also the name of its female personification. "Columbia" inspired the names of many persons, places, objects, institutions, and companies; i.e., the District of Columbia, Columbia University, and the Columbia River. However, by 1920 the Statue of Liberty had become the female symbol of the United States. When the Constitution was written it did not specify a location where the nation's capital was to be built. In what became known as the "Compromise of 1790," James Madison, Alexander Hamilton, and Thomas Jefferson came to an agreement that the federal government would pay each state's remaining Revolutionary War debts in exchange for establishing the new national capital in the "Southern" United States. In 1790, Congress passed the "Residence Act," which approved the creation of a national capital on the Potomac River. The exact location was selected by President George Washington. Formed from land donated by the states of Maryland and Virginia, the initial shape of the federal district was a square measuring 10 miles on each side, totaling exactly 100 square miles. Two preexisting settlements were included in the district: the port of Georgetown, Maryland, founded in 1751, and the city of Alexandria, Virginia, founded in 1749. A new "federal city" was then constructed on the north bank of the Potomac, to the east of Georgetown. In 1791, the three commissioners overseeing the capital's construction named the "City" in honor of President Washington and named the federal "District" after "Columbia." Congress held its first session in Washington, D.C. on November 17, 1800. The centers of all three branches of the federal government are in the District, including the Congress, the President, and the Supreme Court. The Embassies of 176 foreign countries are located in Washington, D.C.

I'm so pleased that you had such a great time at Happy Ending that you named your review “Had a Blast!” Thank you for describing Happy Ending as having a "great bartender," an "awesome magician," "a whole lot of fun," and a "fantastic" atmosphere. Axel and Samuel each asked me to personally thank you for mentioning them by name and for all the nice things you wrote about them. Axel is one of Happy Ending's 9 bartenders and one of the most popular. Axel always works the day shift. Samuel is the best close-up Magician I've ever seen perform. He's usually at Happy Ending from the early afternoon until the early evening hours. Samuel is a professional Magician who's performed all over the world who moved to Cabo San Lucas a couple years ago. Samuel gives private lessons to those who want to learn basic magic as well as to professional Magicians who possess intermediate and advanced levels of magical skills.

I'm so happy that you happened to walk by Happy Ending and saw our sign outside advertising Happy Ending's REGULAR PRICE of only $5 for 2 ice cold bottles of Pacifico, Pacifico Light, Corona or Corona Light AND 2 huge double shots of our super-smooth and very delicious tequila. That's 4 "real" drinks for only $5....all the time, today, tonight, tomorrow, the day after tomorrow, next week, 2013, 2014, 2015, 365 & 24/7. It's the best deal in the modern history of Cabo San Lucas.

Always remember that "today is the oldest you've ever been....and the youngest you'll ever be." Live your life to its fullest....doing so will help keep you young. Best wishes for lots and lots of "Blast" type of Happy Endings to all your hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might find you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,725)
There are newer reviews for Happy Ending Cantina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,285 - 1,289 of 2,725 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2013

Great place to stop and have a few. Can meet lots of friendly fellow vacationeers here and the fun is always happening.

Thank NoMoreTacos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Wade P from Wenatchee, Washington:

You live in Wenatchee, located at the confluence of the Columbia and Wenatchee rivers near the eastern foothills of the Cascade Range. The entire area where you live is spectacularly beautiful! "Wenatchee" was named after the "Wenatchi" Indian tribe located close by. "Wenatchi" is a Sahaptin word that means either "a river which comes from canyons" or " the robe of the rainbow." The Native American Indians who lived at the source of a river were called "Awenatchela" people. Throughout the 19th century, white settlers came to homestead the land. In 1888, Wenatchee was platted and, in 1893, it was officially incorporated as a city. Seven years later the official 1900 U.S. Census counted 451 residents. Wenatchee is sometimes referred to as the "Buckle of the Power Belt of the Great Northwest," a metaphor for the series of hydroelectric dams on the Columbia River. Rock Island Dam is located nearest to the middle of this "belt," and so was labeled the "Buckle." The City of Wenatchee shares its name with the Wenatchee River, Lake Wenatchee and the Wenatchee National Forest. Wenatchee is known as the "Apple Capital of the World" due to the valley's many orchards.

Thank you very much for naming your review “Fun spot.” We guarantee everyone who visits will always leave with a "Fun Happy Ending."

Thanks for describing Happy Ending as a "great place to stop and have a few" where "the fun is always happening."

I appreciate you mentioned that Happy Ending is a place where customers can meet lots of fellow vacationers. Many customers have told me they feel very comfortable when they visit Happy Ending....sort of like the atmosphere portrayed on the old "Cheers" TV show. Others tell me they feel like they're in a neighborhood bar back home rather than one in a foreign country.

I hope you can find the free time and the means to be able to return soon to Happy Ending Cantina

Best wishes for lots of "Fun" Happy Endings to all your hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might take you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Friendly bartenders, cheap beer and shots, fun atmosphere. Can't wait to go back!! Go there everytime we are in Cabo.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank frank_wood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

frank_wood from Chicago, Illinois:

Because you've written 8 reviews about businesses in 5 cities, Trip Advisor has designated you to be a "Senior Reviewer." Your opinions and comments are valuable and very much appreciated by me and by each Happy Ending Cantina crew member. Thank you writing such a very nice and concise review. Thank you for giving Happy Ending a "5-Star" rating.

You're fortunate to live in Chicago, one of the most beautiful, historic and dynamic cities on the planet. In 1688, Henri Joutel wrote in his journal that "wild garlic", then called "chicagoua," grew abundantly in the area. The name "Chicago" is derived from a French rendering of the Miami-Illinois Native American language word "shikaakwa" which means "wild garlic." As more English speaking people moved to the area, the spelling and pronunciation of "Chicago" evolved into its present forms. In 1833, with a population of only around 200, the "Town" of Chicago was organized. In 1837, the "City" of Chicago was formally incorporated and, for several decades, was the fastest growing city in the world. Among metropolitan areas, Chicago currently has the fourth-largest Gross Domestic Product in the World, just behind Tokyo, New York City, and Los Angeles. It's no wonder that so many Chicago residents absolutely love garlic on many of the things they eat....evolution has worked its magic on their genes!

I'm so proud to learn that Happy Ending became your "favorite hangout in Cabo," which prompted you to name your review "Our Favorite Hangout in Cabo!" That is a very nice compliment especially since there are so many great Cabo bars from which to choose to spend your valuable vacation time. I'm very happy to learn that you "can't wait to go back" to Happy Ending and that you "go there every time" you visit Cabo." Great repeat customers like you are the life blood of any successful business. Thank you very much for your continuing patronage.

Thank you for describing Happy Ending's bartenders as "friendly, our atmosphere as "fun," and the price of our beer and shots as being "cheap." We have 9 full time bartenders, 3 on the day shift and 6 on the night shift. They are, without a doubt, the best bartenders in Cabo. Some have worked at Happy Ending practically since the day we opened....over 5 years ago! Many of our bartenders have the ability to remember their customer's names and drink preferences year-after-year. I have a hard time remembering what I had for breakfast this morning! Besides, "I'd rather be looking AT it, than looking FOR it" anyway.

Remember that "today is the oldest you've ever been....and the youngest you'll ever be." Enjoy every minute of every day of the rest of your life! Best wishes for having lots and lots of your "Favorite" types of Happy Endings to all your hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might take you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Went there for the $5.00 special, 2 Coronas and 2 double shots of tequila, also had a $3.00 bean and cheese burrito that was great. We got to meet Gene "El Jefe" the owner, what a great guy! (Hi Gene from Lory and James in Reno, Nevada!) Emmett and Breayan were our bartenders, very friendly and welcoming place. We were there on a Friday night, it was busy but we still got great service and had a blast!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Lory L from Reno, Nevada:

You've very fortunate to live in historic Reno, located in one of the most spectacularly beautiful areas of the United States. Reno is famous for being "The Biggest Little City in the World." In 1850, gold was discovered close to Reno in the vicinity of Virginia City, and a modest mining community developed. However in 1859, the discovery of silver at the Comstock Lode led to a silver mining rush in the area. By January 1863, the Central Pacific Railroad began laying tracks east from Sacramento, California that would eventually connect with the Union Pacific Railroad at Promontory, Utah, to form the First Transcontinental Railroad. in 1868, the town of Reno officially came into being when the first railroad station was established. Charles Crocker, a construction superintendent for the Central Pacific Railroad, named Reno after Major General Jesse Lee Reno, a Union officer killed in the American Civil War at the "Battle of South Mountain" in Maryland. In the early 1900s as the mining boom waned, Nevada's centers of political and business activity shifted to the non-mining communities of Reno and Las Vegas. Today, the former mining metropolises stand as little more than ghost towns. Despite this, Nevada is still the third-largest gold producer in the world, after South Africa and Australia.

Thank you for naming your review “Happy Endings is a Great Place for Fun!” I'm so pleased that you had such a fun time at Happy Ending that you wrote about the low prices you paid for food and drinks. The "$5.00 special....2 Coronas and 2 double shots of tequila" is not really a "special." $5 is the REGULAR EVERYDAY PRICE we've charged 24/7 since the first day we opened over 5 years ago. We call this our "Promo." The "Promo" consists of your choice of 2 full-size, 355 ml, ice cold bottles of Corona, Corona Light, Pacifico or Pacifico Light AND 2 huge double shots of our famous super-smooth tequila....ALL FOR ONLY $5....that 4 "real" drinks for only $5 all day today, all night tonight, all day and night tomorrow, next week and next month, 365 and 24/7. It's the best "deal" in the history of mankind....including the best deal in Los Cabos!

I'm happy you enjoyed our delicious, $3 Bean & Cheese Burrito. One of these will easily fill your tummy. If you're super hungry, or want to split the most delicious Burrito in the world with an amigo, you've come to the right place! Happy Ending is the only place that makes the "El Jefe Super Burrito." It's 8 inches long by 8 inches around and is filled with the most delicious and freshest ingredients found on Mother Earth. One half of the top side is covered with mild green salsa and the other half is covered with spicy red salsa. All our salsas are made fresh everyday by one of our 3 full-time chefs. Eating a full, or at least one half, of an "El Jefe Super Burrito" should be on everyone's bucket list.

It was my honor to meet you both and be able to spend quality time getting to know each other.

Bartenders Emmett and Breayan, pronounced "Brian," each asked me to personally thank you for describing them as "very friendly and welcoming," and for writing that they gave you "great service" even though it was very busy the night you visited. Emmett and Breayan are two of the most popular of all six bartenders on the night shift.

If you can find the means and time to leave "The Biggest Little City in the World" and return to the "Most Famous Little City in Mexico," you'll again experience a "Great Place for Fun" at Happy Ending Cantina. Please try and make it soon!

Best wishes for lots and lots of "Great & Fun" Happy Endings to all your endeavors, hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might find you.

Gene, "El Jefe,' Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stopped in here toward the end of my vacation and wish I had visited sooner. They have the best Margaritas in town and the bartender is very generous with his pours. Great music playing amid a fun setting. Will definitely return here on my next trip to Cabo!

Thank 8,640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

8640 from Bishop, California:

Trip Advisor has designated you a "Top Contributor" because you've written a whopping 88 reviews about businesses in 15 cities. Congratulation! Thank you very much for writing such a wonderful review with great recommendations about Happy Ending Cantina and for giving your review a "5-Star" rating.

You live in Bishop, one of the most beautiful and historic areas located in the Owens Valley on the eastern side of California's Sierra Nevada mountain range. Bishop was originally named "Bishop Creek," after the the creek of the same name that flowed out of the Sierra Nevada. The creek was named after Samuel Addison Bishop, a settler in the Owens Valley. The "Bishop Creek" post office operated from 1870 to 1889. The first "Bishop" post office opened in 1889. In 1913, in order to provide water needs for the growing City of Los Angeles, water was diverted from the Owens River into the Los Angeles Aqueduct. From the 1910s to 1930s the Los Angeles Department of Water and Power purchased much of the valley for water rights and control. The economy of Bishop suffered when farmers sold their land. Jack Foley, a Bishop resident and sound effects specialist, mitigated the economic loss by persuading several Los Angeles studio bosses that the town of Bishop would be ideal as a location to shoot westerns. Bishop is currently named as one of National Geographic's "Top-100 - America's Best Adventure Towns."

Thank you for naming your review "Fantastic Drinks and Atmosphere!!" That is "fantastic" review title and it summarizes in only 4 words those qualities that have made Happy Ending Cantina so famous.

I too wish you had discovered Happy Ending at the beginning of your Cabo vacation. Thank you for writing that our Margaritas are "the best in town." We use only the best ingredients in every huge Margarita we sell. For example, we use El Jimador, a top-shelf tequila in every Margarita. There is never a need to order a more expensive tequila because El Jimador, coupled with all the other ingredients, make Happy Ending's Margaritas very delicious. We use a full 1.5 fluid ounce shot glass to measure the tequila going into each of our Margaritas. Few people realize that the exterior of most shot glasses are identical and that some places only use .75 or 1 ounce shot glasses. Most people assume they're getting a "full shot" when in fact they're not. At Happy Ending a full shot is just that....1.5 fluid ounces! I hope you also tried our Strawberry and our Mango Margaritas. The Mango Margarita is our signature drink. ALL our Margaritas are made fresh when ordered and are served in huge, hand blown, Margarita glasses. Note that ALL our Margaritas have the REGULAR PRICE of only $5....today, tonight, tomorrow, next week, next month, next year, 365 and 24/7....$5 all the time!!!! Most other bars charge at least $12 for similar Margaritas.

Thank you for describing our music as "great" and for writing that you'll "definitely return" to Happy Ending on your next trip to Cabo. I hope you can make it soon knowing that you live in such a beautiful place of the world and a place that is hard to leave.

Best wishes for lots of "Fantastic" Happy Endings to all your hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might take you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Ending Cantina also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Happy Ending Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing