We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to be at the Happy Ending!”

Happy Ending Cantina
Ranked #30 of 608 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Happy Ending's 5 full-time chefs prepare generous proportions of delicious food, always at affordable prices, in its completely new kitchen. Our Crispy Tacos, Huge Burritos, Super Nachos, Cheeseburgers, Super "Loaded" Fries, Quesadillas, etc., Have become the most popular in Cabo. The kitchen is located directly on the sidewalk to make it easy for those who simply want to eat at the outside counter or take their food to go. Our bartenders and waiters can also place orders and serve food to our customers inside Happy Ending. Food is served everyday from 10:00 am to at least 3:00 am.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We will be returning to Cabo the 2nd of November and our first stop will be the Happy Ending! We have been going there since Gene opened his doors. The atmosphere is electric and Gene and his staff are fantastic. We talk about the Happy Ending a lot and recommend it to all that are heading to Cabo. Looking forward to seeing you all SOON!!!

Kristin & John

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank Kristin302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Kristin302 from Sammamish, Washington:

Trip Advisor has named you a "Contributor" because you've written 19 reviews about businesses in 6 different cities. Thank you very much for writing such nice review about Happy Ending Cantina.

You're fortunate to live in the beautiful town of Sammamish, Washington, incorporated in 1999 and a suburb of Seattle. Sammamish was proviously knows as "Redmond" before the residents voted to change its name. "Sammamish" is a Native American name that is derived from the word "samma," meaning “the sound of the blue crane” and "mish," meaning “river”. The name may have originated with the Snoqualmie Tribe. The modern vision of Sammamish is a community of families. A blend of small-town atmosphere with a suburban character, the city also enjoys a unique core of urban lifestyles and conveniences. It is characterized by quality neighborhoods, vibrant natural features, and outstanding recreational opportunities. A variety of community gathering places provide numerous civic, cultural, and educational opportunities. Residents are actively involved in the decisions that shape the community and ensure a special sense of place.

I love the name you gave to your review, "Can't Wait to be at the Happy Ending!" The entire Happy Ending crew and I are just as eager to see you again when you return on Saturday, November 2nd. The 2nd is the final night of our 3-night 5th Anniversary Party and Costume Contest. I hope you're able to visit Happy Ending soon after you check into your hotel and again make it your very first stop. I'll see you on Saturday!

You have been one of our best customers since we opened 5 years ago and you are now an official member of our Happy Ending "Family."

Thank you for describing our staff as "fantastic" and our atmosphere is "electric." Thank you again for ALL your wonderful comments and great recommendations.

Best wishes for lots of "Can't Wait" type of Happy Endings to all your hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might find you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,788)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,410 - 1,414 of 2,788 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a top notch bar in Cabo. The vibe is so cool, the service was great, and you cant beat the prices. Its a very fun and casual place to meet people and have a great time. The bartenders provided us with great service, beyond what we would ever expect. Love this place!

Thank ldr74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

ldr74 from Santa Barbara, California:

Because you've written so many Trip Advisor reviews, 46 to be exact, about establishments in 16 different cities, Trip Advisor has designated you to be a "Senior Contributor." Because you're such an experienced traveler, ALL your opinion and comments are very important to the traveling public. Thank you very much for giving Happy Ending the highest review rating possible and for writing such an overall wonderful review.

You live in Santa Barbara, one of the most beautiful and historic areas of the west coast of Southern California. It's situated on the longest south-facing section of coastline on the West Coast of the United States. In 1769, a land expedition led by Gaspar de Portolà and accompanied by missionary Padre Junípero Serra visited the area but did not stay. In 1782, the first permanent Spanish missionaries and soldiers arrived. The soldiers were commanded by Felipe de Neve and were accompanied by Padre Serra. They were sent both to fortify the region against expansion by other powers such as England and Russia, and to convert the natives to Christianity. Many of the Spaniards brought their families with them, and those formed the nucleus of the small town – at first just a cluster of adobes – that surrounded their newly built Presidio. Padre Serra died in 1784, just two years before the completion of the Mission he was building. The mission was dedicated on December 4, 1786, the "Feast Day of Saint Barbara," thus the mission was given its Spanish name, "Mission of Santa Barbara." The mission is the best-preserved of all the California missions and is commonly referred to as "Queen of the Missions." The surrounding area, including the beautiful city where you live, is named "Santa Barbara." In the mid-1830s, Richard Henry Dana, Jr. first visited Santa Barbara and wrote about the culture and people of Santa Barbara in his book Two Years Before the Mast, thus exposing the beauties of Santa Barbara to others. In 1846, during the Mexican-American War, Santa Barbara fell bloodlessly to a battalion of American soldiers under John C. Frémont. In 1848, the Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo was signed and the entire vast Mexican area then known as "Alta California" became part of the expanding United States. The huge western part of "Alta California" became the new "State of California."

Thank you very much for naming your review "Gene and His Crew are Fantastic." It was my pleasure to meet and spend time with you when you visited.

You wrote that Happy Ending is a "top notch bar in Cabo," a "very fun and casual place" with a "so cool" vibe and "great" service provided by the bartenders that went "beyond" what you "would ever expect." These are wonderful comments and very much appreciated by me and each member of our crew. Thank you so very much.

I'm happy you enjoyed ALL our affordable low drink prices....the lowest in all of Los Cabos and perhaps the lowest in Mexico. For example, the REGULAR price for an ice cold bottle of Corona, Pacifico, Corona Light or Pacifico Light is ALWAYS only $2 each. A double shot of our super-smooth tequila is ALWAYS only $1 each. If you're thirsty and order 2 beers AND 2 shots, the REGULAR price is ALWAYS only $5....for all 4 drinks. We never use gimmicky pricing schemes like Ladies' Night, 2-for-1 or Happy Hour because our REGULAR prices are ALWAYS lower than those that do. Our REGULAR, no B.S. prices are in effect today, tomorrow, next week, next month and next year, 365 and 24/7....ALWAYS!

I hope you can return soon to Cabo San Lucas so we can spend more time with you at Happy Ending Cantina. I realize it's difficult to leave Santa Barbara but Cabo San Lucas will be waiting for you when you feel the need for a brief change of scenery.

Best wishes for lots and lots of "Fantastic" Happy Endings to all your endeavors, hopes and dreams wheverever life's journeys might take you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I have been here before and that is why I went back. The owner Gene really takes the time to chat and share in his dream. The staff are very warm and always wanting to help from the Owner to the custodial staff everyone has a smile. The El Hefe Burrito is amazing and if you ever get a chance to share in some of there fresh green Verde chile right after it is made while its still warm take a nice shot in a cup of this stuff and let your taste buds enjoy this party. So Good...
Thanks again to Gene and his crew including Daniel and Alex for making some great drinks.
Xavier, Rancho Cucamonga, Calif. Oct. 11-18, 2013

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TheeXer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

TheeXer from Rancho Cucamonga, California:

You're fortunate to live in Rancho Cucamonga, one of the most beautiful and historic areas of Southern California. Rancho Cucamonga is named after the Kucamongan Native Americans who lived in the area since at least the 13th century. The Kucamongan people were part of the Gabrielino culture, and anthropologists believe that, at their peak, the Gabrielinos existed as one of the largest concentrations of indigenous peoples on the North American continent. By 1833, the amount of control held by Spain diminished, and as Mexico won its independence from the Spanish Crown, all land in Alta and Baja California was opened up for granting from the new governor. In 1839, Governor Juan Bautista granted 13,000 acres of land around the area called Cucamonga to Alvarado Tubercio Tapia, a dedicated soldier, smuggler and politician. Tapia constructed a well-fortified adobe home in the area and raised great herds of cattle. Tapia also began a successful winery, portions of which stand today known as the Thomas Winery. In 1864, President Abraham Lincoln signed into existence a post office located in Cucamonga, the first in the western portion of San Bernardino County. The City of Rancho Cucamonga was incorporated in 1977 as a result of a merger between the unincorporated communities of Alta Loma , Cucamonga, and Etiwanda.

Thank you for naming your review "Happy Ending Was Just The Beginning." We guarantee that everyone who enters Happy Ending will leave with a Happy Ending.

Thanks for continually returning to Happy Ending every time you visit Cabo San Lucas. You're now an official member of our Happy Ending "Family." It's always my pleasure to be able to spent time with you every time you visit.

I appreciate that you enjoy our "warm" staff that is "always wanting to help" our customers.

I'm happy you enjoyed our "El Jefe Super Burrito." It's 8 inches long by 8 inches around and is simply the most delicious burrito you'll probably ever eat. I had one just this afternoon....very yummy and very filling!

It was fun for me to join you for a few shots of the green tomatillo sauce made fresh every day by one of our three chefs. Our salsas are simply the most delicious on the planet!

Daniel and Axel asked me to thank you for all the nice things you wrote about them.

Best wishes to having lots of Happy Endings to all your hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might find you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This fun cantina/restaurant on the main drag heading east in downtown is such a fun place. We go almost every day when we are there just to see Axel, Pedro, Ricky & the rest of the bartenders. if you have connections to Fire Prevention/Law Enforcement, bring a T-shirt & they'll hang it with all the others of the wall. Good music, cheap drinks & food, SUPER people. P.S. They do a lot of T-shirt/ sweatshirt sales & the quality is high on both the fabric & the screen printing. Get one.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Pat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Pat J from SeaTac, Washington:

Thank you very much for writing your very first Trip Advisor review about Happy Ending Cantina and for naming it "Favorite Cantina in Cabo."

You're fortunate to live in SeaTac, one of the most beautiful areas in the Pacific Northwest of the USA. SeaTac is located in southern King County, Washington and is an outlying suburb of Seattle, Washington. "SeaTac" is a "portmanteau" of the cites of Seattle and Tacoma.
The City of SeaTac was incorporated in 1990 and consists of 10 square miles in area. The SeaTac boundaries surround the Seattle–Tacoma International Airport and also includes the communities of Angle Lake, Bow Lake, McMicken, and Riverton, which were established before SeaTac's incorporation.

Thank you for describing Happy Ending as a "fun cantina/restaurant" and "such a fun place." I'm so happy that you visited Happy Ending practically everyday of your vacation to Cabo San Lucas. You've become official members of our Happy Ending "family."

Bartenders Axel, Pedro and Riki asked me to personally thank you for all the wonderful things you wrote about them They all send their best wishes to you! These three guys are among the Top 10 Bartenders in Cabo San Lucas.

Thank you for reminding Police and Firefighters to bring a department patch, T-shirt or hat when they visit Happy Ending. We proudly affix them to special areas of our walls and ceilings as a tribute to all Public Safety Officers who risk their lives 24/7 to protect people they have never met. My two sons are currently LAPD Police Officers and I'm a retired LAPD Sergeant. We encourage all PSOs to sign their names on special reserved areas of our entrance walls.

I'm pleased that you enjoyed our "good music," our "cheap drinks & food" and our "SUPER people."

You wrote that the quality of Happy Ending's logo souvenir T-shirts is "high" for both the fabric and the silk screening process. We now have more than 20 different logo designs, each of which features a beautiful vintage pinup that was originally oil painted way back in the 1940s and 1950s.

Thank you for ALL your great comments and wonderful recommendations. Please hurry back as soon as you can.

Best wishes for lots and lots of your "Favorite" type of Happy Ending to all your endeavors, hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might take you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Happy Endings is our first and last stop every time in Cabo, Gene is a great host and makes sure that everyone is having a great time. Make sure and leave your dollar, you can add a new one each time you are there. All walls are covered in dollars

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joel1012013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Joel1012013 from Huffman, Texas:

Thank you for writing your very first Trip Advisor review about Happy Ending Cantina. I think the name you gave your review, "Cajun Paradise Lodge and Charters-Joel & Cindy,' is the first of its kind ever used on Trip Advisor.

You two live in Huffman, Texas, a very beautiful and historic unincorporated community located about 30 miles northeast of downtown Houston. David Huffman, a native of Louisiana, came to Texas to fight against Mexico during the Texas Revolution that occurred between 1835 and 1836. Texas won and became its own country called the "Republic of Texas." In 1838, Huffman received $24 cash and 324 acres of land for his services during the revolution. In 1840, Huffman, his father Abe, and a group from Louisiana settled in the area and began farming. In 1888, a post office was established. By 1914 the town had two general stores and a population of 250. The 1936 county highway map showed a church and cemetery at the site of the town. Huffman now covers 54 square miles and is home to about 10,000 residents. Huffman has grown into a unique community consisting largely of subdivisions, scattered farms, apartments, and small businesses.

Thank you for ALL the really nice comments and great recommendation you wrote about Happy Ending Cantina. I'm very proud to learn that Happy Ending is always your first and last stop every time you visit Cabo San Lucas.

Thank you for describing me as a "great host" who "makes sure that everyone is having a great time." I do my very best to meet every customer who visits Happy Ending and it was my pleasure to meet you both and spend some quality time getting to know each other.

I'm very happy that you donated an official "Cajun Paradise Lodge and Charters" T-shirt to the ceiling above our "Mexican Girl" bar and you posted pictures of me stapling it to our ceiling.. Thank for personalizing a dollar bill they we also affixed to our ceiling. We encourage all our customers who wish to leave a souvenir of their visit to do the same. We now have thousands and thousands of dollar bills, euros, pesos, Canadian dollars, etc., that adorn our walls and ceilings.

Thanks again for your very kind review.

Best wishes for lots and lots of "Cajun" type of Happy Endings to all your hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might take you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Ending Cantina also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Happy Ending Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing