We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time Here in Cabo”

Happy Ending Cantina
Ranked #31 of 565 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Happy Ending's 5 full-time chefs prepare generous proportions of delicious food, always at affordable prices, in its completely new kitchen. Our Crispy Tacos, Huge Burritos, Super Nachos, Cheeseburgers, Super "Loaded" Fries, Quesadillas, etc., Have become the most popular in Cabo. The kitchen is located directly on the sidewalk to make it easy for those who simply want to eat at the outside counter or take their food to go. Our bartenders and waiters can also place orders and serve food to our customers inside Happy Ending. Food is served everyday from 10:00 am to at least 3:00 am.
cleveland, oh
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Time Here in Cabo”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves at Happy Ending each day of our trip to Cabo!!! From the WONDERFUL staff, DELICIOUS chicken tacos to the beer and tequila plus the time we had chatting with the WELCOMING owner, Gene "El Jefe". I had a Meet and Greet here on June 6th..... Gene and his staff made it a special time for everyone to enjoy a FABULOUS evening. A special thank you goes out to Gene and ALL of the new friends we have at Happy Ending Cantina!!!

Muchas Gracias y Best Time Ever!!!!
Kim and Wayne

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vagabond56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
vagabond56 from the Wonderful City of Cleveland, Ohio - Cleveland obtained its name in 1796 when surveyors of the Connecticut Land Company laid out Connecticut's Western Reserve into townships and a capital city they named "Cleaveland" after their leader, General Moses Cleaveland. Cleaveland oversaw the plan for what would become the modern downtown area before returning home, never again to visit Ohio. The first settler in Cleaveland was Lorenzo Carter, who built a cabin on the banks of the Cuyahoga River. The Village of Cleaveland was incorporated in 1814. Its waterfront location proved to be an advantage and the area began rapid growth after the 1832 completion of the Ohio and Erie Canal. This key link connected the city to the Atlantic Ocean via the Erie Canal and later via the St. Lawrence Seaway. Growth continued with added railroad links. "Cleaveland" changed its spelling to "Cleveland" and was incorporated as a city in 1836. Cleveland is home to the "Rock and Roll Hall of Fame."

Thank you very much for writing your very first Trip Advisor review about Happy Ending Cantina and for naming it "Great Time Here in Cabo."

I'm so very pleased that you and your husband visited Happy Ending EACH DAY of your vacation to Cabo San Lucas. Loyal repeat customers are the life-blood of any business. Thank you very much for being two of our best customers.

Thanks for writing such wonderful comments about our delicious food, beer and tequila.

it was so nice of you to host a Trip Advisor "meet-and-greet" at Happy Ending earlier this month. About 30 people showed up and all had a great time meeting each other, eating and drinking. Thank you so very much for describing your own visits as being the "best times ever!!!!" I hope you can host another TA "meet-and-greet" the next time you visit Cabo. Please try and make it soon.

Thank you for all the nice things you wrote about me too, and thank you for ALL the nice comments and great recommendations you wrote about Happy Ending.

I hope you and your husband have lots and lots of "Great" Happy Endings to all your endeavors, hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might take you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,680 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,123
    376
    108
    35
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to eat, drink, play beer pong and have fun!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

First of all, the prices are great! The food menu is limited, but everything is very good. The staff is super friendly and they go out of their way to ensure a good time. We met the owner, Gene, and he was so gracious and nice. (Gene, if you are reading this, we hope your wife is doing better). They have beer pong, music, outdoor atmosphere and overall just a great place to visit with friends, meet new friends, and hang out. We stopped in there at least once every day we were in Cabo.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PattyM763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Patty M from the Beautiful and Growing City of Bakersfield, California - In 1848, as the "California Gold Rush" was just beginning, gold was also discovered along the banks of the Kern River. The Kern River still runs through modern day Bakersfield. In 1863, a lawyer and former Colonel in the Militia of Ohio, Thomas Baker, moved to the area next to the Kern River which subsequently became known as "Baker’s Field." It soon became a stopover for travelers. By 1870, the population had grown to 600. The area had simply become known as the single word, "Bakersfield." In 1873, Bakersfield was officially incorporated as a city and Alexander Mills was hired to be the City Marshall. Businessmen and others began to resent Mills, who was cantankerous and high-handed in his treatment of them. They wanted to fire Mills but feared reprisals. In 1876, they concocted a scheme to dis-incorporate the City of Bakersfield that effectively left Mills without an job. By 1890, the unincorporated area of Bakersfield had a population of 2,626. Many of the residents had migrated from Texas, Louisiana, Oklahoma, and Southern California and were mostly employed by the oil industry. The City of Bakersfield officially reincorporated in 1898. Kern County soon became the most productive oil producing county in the entire United States.

Thank you for naming your review "Great Place to Eat, Drink, Play Beer Pong and Have Fun!" Thank you for ALL you nice comments and great recommendations. Everything you wrote is very much appreciated by me and by each member of our crew.

I'm very pleased that you enjoyed our delicious food that is always priced "great."

Thank you for describing Happy Ending's staff as "super friendly" and the fact that they "go out of their way to insure a good time." I'm happy that you enjoyed playing many games of Beer Pong at Happy Ending. We're the Official Headquarters of the Baja Division of the Mexican Beer Pong League and always have at least 11 custom built regulations size Beer Pong tables ready for play.

Because you partied at Happy Ending EVERY DAY of your Cabo vacation you've become an Official Member of our Happy Ending "Family."

Thanks for all the nice things you wrote about me personally and for wishing my wife well. She is getting better with each passing day. I read your review to her and she sends you her "thank you" as well.

Best wishes for lots of "Great" Happy Endings to all your hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might take you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nampa, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Cantina”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently went to Cabo and had drinks at the Happy Ending Cantina!! As with many we placed our dollar on the wall and when we found a sign that my girlfriend liked but was posted on a ceiling beem, they pulled the latter out of the closet and helped her climb up so we could take her picture. Thank you Gene and your staff we ended up going back to The Happy Ending Cantina three more times and took other people from the Riu where we were staying back as well!!!!! We highly recomend you visiting this great location.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Howdy_45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Howdy_45 from Nampa, Idaho - The name "Nampa" comes from a Shoshone word whose meaning is either "moccasin" or "footprint." Nampa began its life in the early 1880s when the Oregon Short Line Railroad built a line from Granger, Wyoming, to Huntington, Oregon, which passed through Nampa. Many of the first settlers referred to the town as "New Jerusalem" because of the strong religious focus of its citizens. The Town of Nampa was officially incorporated in 1890. Nampa's historic roads do not run true north and south like most other towns. In Nampa, they run perpendicular to the railroad tracks that travel northwest to southeast through the town. They were laid out this way to help prevent buggy's wheels from getting stuck when crossing the tracks. Ironically, the northside is really the northeast side of the tracks, and the southside is really the southwest side of the railroad tracks! Nampa has the fanciest of many railroad depots built in the area.

Thank you very much for describing Happy Ending as "excellent" and for naming your review “Excellent Cantina.” We strive to insure everyone has an "excellent" time and always leave with an "excellent" Happy Ending. Thank you and your girlfriend for spending so much of your valuable vacation time at Happy Ending.

The dollar bill you personalized will still be in the same place on our ceiling the next time you return.

I'm pleased that your girlfriend enjoyed one of our vintage tin signs so much that she actually climbed our ladder to have her picture taken next to it.

As you know, the Riu hotel where you stayed in Cabo is "all inclusive" meaning that all your food and drinks are included in the price you paid for your room. It speaks volumes when "all inclusive" customers such as yourself choose to spend so much quality time eating, drinking and spending money at Happy Ending. Thank you very much.

As you found out, we refuse to sell cheap crappy brands of Mexican beer at Happy Ending. We only serve the world's most popular brands such as Corona, Pacifico, Modelo, Victoria and Bud Light. They cost us almost twice as much as the unpopular brands but are the brands 99.9% of our customers order. I can't understand how any bartender in Mexico can, with a straight face, tell their customers that they don't carry Corona or Pacifio.

Thank you for ALL your great comments and wonderful recommendations. Please return as soon as you can.

Best wishes for lots of "Excellent" Happy Endings to all your hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might take you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Kid Friendly”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Happy Ending is a great place to take your kids. We were there multiple times to watch the NHL Playoffs. Our little 5 mo. old boy was so happy with all the people and especially all the staff coming around to see him. Even had the doormen steal him from time to time. Great place all around and you can't beat the prices ! Thanks Gene and all the great staff.......

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hew24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Hew24 from the Beautiful and Family Oriented City of Kelowna, Canada - Kelowna, located in British Columbia, derives its name from an Okanagan term for "grizzly bear". It was originally named "L'anse au sable," meaning "Bay of Sand" because of its sandy shoreline. It was given that name by Father Charles M. Pandosy, a French Roman Catholic Oblate missionary who arrived there in 1859 and who was the first European to settle there. The name was later changed to Kelowna. The City of Kelowna was officially incorporated in 1905.

Trip Advisor has designated you as a "Senior Contributor" because you've written 27 reviews. Your opinions are very important and I thank you for all the wonderful comments and great recommendations you wrote about Happy Ending.

Thanks for naming your review "Kid Friendly." Because we serve food, kids 17 and under are legally allowed inside Happy Ending between 10:00 am and 11:00 pm. After 11:00 pm it's "adults only." It was a a lot of fun for me and all our employees to hang around with your five-month old little boy. He's going to be a real "heart breaker" in another 16 years!.

Thanks for describing Happy Ending as a "great place all around," a place that has prices that "can't be beat" and a place with a "great staff."

We just obtained a new Canadian satellite systems that allows our hockey loving customers the ability to watch practically every hockey game live. We got it just in time for the playoffs.

The crew and I are hopeful that you'll bring your little guy back to Cabo next year when he's 1 1/2 year of age so we can watch him grow!

Best wishes for lots of "Friendly" Happy Endings to all your endeavors, hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might take you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“2 beers, 2 shots $5! Sold!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stopped by here sauntering around downtown one day to grab a drink. You really can't beat their house special (2 beers, 2 shots for $5). Great way to get the party started! The bartender was very attentive and even snapped a few photos of us behind the bar! My friend (who's brother is a policeman) loved seeing all the different patches from officers all over the world. They played great country music, too, which was a fun change from other bars in the area. Next time we'll stay for a bite to eat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UNCTravelRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
UNCTravelRN from One of the Most Spectacular Cities in the World, Los Angeles, California - "Los Angeles" is Spanish for "The Angels." Los Angeles was founded in 1781, by Spanish governor Felipe de Neve. It became a part of Mexico in 1821 following the Mexican War of Independence from Spain. In 1848, at the end of the Mexican–American War, Los Angeles and the rest of "Alta" California were purchased from Mexico as part of the Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo, thereby becoming part of the United States. On April 4, 1850, the City of Los Angeles was officially incorporated.... five months BEFORE California achieved its own statehood.

Trip Advisor has named you a "Contributor" because you're written so many reviews. Thank you for writing such a wonderful review about Happy Ending and for all the great recommendations you made.

Thanks for naming your review "2 Beers, 2 Shots, $5, Sold!" This is our trademark REGULAR PRICE for 2 ice cold bottles of Corona, Corona Light, Pacifico or Pacifico Light AND 2 double shots of our delicious super-smooth tequila. That's only $5 for 4 separate drinks....all-the-time, today, tonight, tomorrow, next week, next month and next year, 365 and 24/7. We never use gimmick "yo-yo" prices that change everyday depending on the time, the day of the week, or the sex of the customer. Our prices never change and are always guaranteed to be the lowest in Cabo!

Thanks for describing your bartender as "very attentive," the soft country music we play during the day as "great" and "a fun change from other bars." I personally hate listening to blasting loud electronic and rap music, especially during the daytime. During the night we play Top 40 and other popular dance music. Many customers have told me they simply love our music play lists.

I'm happy you posed for a picture behind one of our bars. You've taken the first stop in becoming an official Happy Ending bartender!

Because I'm a retired LAPD Sergeant, the brother of two retired Los Angeles cops, the son of a retired Los Angeles cop AND the father of two LAPD cops, we are proud to honor Police Officers, Firefighters and other Public Safety Officers by affixing their department badges, T-shirts and hats to our walls and ceilings and allowing them to affix their names to other special areas of our walls.

Best wishes for lots of "Great....Attentive....and Fun" Happy Endings to all your endeavors, hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might find you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Ending Cantina also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Happy Ending Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing