We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fun bar that keeps you coming back!!”

Happy Ending Cantina
Ranked #25 of 555 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Happy Ending's 5 full-time chefs prepare generous proportions of delicious food, always at affordable prices, in its completely new kitchen. Our Crispy Tacos, Huge Burritos, Super Nachos, Cheeseburgers, Super "Loaded" Fries, Quesadillas, etc., Have become the most popular in Cabo. The kitchen is located directly on the sidewalk to make it easy for those who simply want to eat at the outside counter or take their food to go. Our bartenders and waiters can also place orders and serve food to our customers inside Happy Ending. Food is served everyday from 10:00 am to at least 3:00 am.
1 review
“Great fun bar that keeps you coming back!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Really liked Happy Endings! Gene was great & gave us some great restaurant recommendations! Service is great- Oscar & Axel best waiters in Cabo!! The food is great!! We will be back!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TimberJohnTaitLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
TimberJohnTaitLake from Beautiful Tait Lake in Ontario, Canada - Located Near the Small Town of Bancroft, Nestled in the York River Valley on the Southern Edge of the Canadian Shield:

Thank you very much for summarizing your description of Happy Ending by naming your review "Great Fun Bar that Keeps You Coming Back!!" We do everything we can to treat each and every customer like "family" and to make they always feel at "home." Many customers have told me they feel like they're in a real "Cheers" type bar when they visit.

I'm so pleased you enjoyed our food so much that you called it "Great!!" and for proclaiming that you "Will be Back!!!" We serve food everyday and night from 11:00 am until 2:00 am from our brand new kitchen. Our 3 full time chefs are the best in the business. Many customers return day-after-day to eat delicious food that is always served in generous portions at the most affordable prices in Cabo.

Oscar and Axel both asked me to personally thank you for describing them to be the "Best Waiters in Cabo!!" I completely agree with you! I wish I could clone those two guys!

Cabo San Lucas couldn't be more different from the beautiful area you call home in Tait Lake, and both are strikingly beautiful in their own ways. If you can tear yourself away from the beauty and serenity of Tait Lake and return to Cabo you'll find Oscar and Axel waiting to serve you....and me waiting to suggest more outstanding restaurants to visit. Please try and make it soon.

Thank you for ALL your wonderful comments and great recommendations.

Best wishes for lots and lots of "Great" Happy Endings to all your endeavors, hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might take you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,648 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,104
    366
    106
    35
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Happy Ending Cantina is the Top Dog”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Happy Ending Cantina is what every bar should be. As their motto says "no gimmicks & no b.s. Everybody there treats you like family. You can tell Gene and Regine love what they do because it comes out in how they treat their staff and customers. My wife and I stopped by 5 times in 7 days and this was our first trip to Cabo. The whole place makes you feel very comfortable from the service, the comfy chairs, the prices (wow!) and most especially the staff and owners. If you are in Cabo and don't stop in this place shame on you. You won't regret it. In speaking to Gene and Regine you can tell they have a passion for the business and making it the best spot in Cabo san Lucas. By now the Happy Ending golf shirts should be in Gene and you can start working on the dog shirts and the Happy Ending bandanas. I think we know those little dogs run the place but your secrets safe with me. Looking forward to a return visit to the #1 spot Happy Ending Cantina!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spikemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Spikemac from the Beautiful City of Barrie, Canada - Named in 1833 after Sir Robert Barrie, a British officer in charge of Naval forces in Canada during the War of 1812.

Thank you for much for naming your review, "Happy Ending Cantina is the Top Dog" and for describing it as "what every bar should be." Those are very nice compliments. Thanks for mentioning our "No Gimmicks and No B.S." motto. We never use B.S. gimmicks such as Ladies Night, 2-for-1 or Happy Hour. Our REGULAR everyday, every night, all-the-time, 365 & 24/7 prices are always lower than the lowest gimmick prices used elsewhere. Our prices never yo-yo up and down depending on the time of day, the day of the week or the gender of our customers!

It was an honor for my wife, Regine, and I to be able to spend so much quality time with you and your wife every time you visited Happy Ending - I think five times in seven days is close to a record!

Thanks for pointing out how comfortable you felt at Happy Ending. Many people have compared Happy Ending to a friendly neighborhood bar "back home." Our bar stools are the most comfortable in Cabo. They are custom hand made for us in Guadalajara. Each chair is covered in soft leather and has extra padding for added comfort. We have them made wider and with higher backs. They each also have built-in arm rests and foot rests. Once most people settle in they simply want to spend hours sitting, drinking and people watching.

You're correct: The new golf/polo shirts arrived just two days ago and are very popular. Our Happy Ending - Cabo San Lucas logo is embroidered on the left chest and the bottom of the outside of the right sleeve. The shirts come in Red, Black and White.

Budgie, our 6 year-old Maltese "tea cup" and Bella, our 5 year-old Jack Russell Terrier are as comfortable at Happy Ending as they are at home. And yes, they do run the place! Hahahaha.

Regine and I hope to see you both as soon as you can find the free time and the means to return to Cabo.

Thank you so very much for ALL your wonderful comments and great recommendations.

Best wishes for lots of "Top Dog" Happy Endings to all your endeavors, hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might take you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“great bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had a great experience there. Clean, great service, fun, great deals. We went twice during out week in Cabo. I highly recommend it. Other than great deals on drinks they have a good simple menu of nachos, tacos and burritos. We had the nachos and they were perfect with our beers.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heidi_from_san_diego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
heidi_from_san_diego from the Exciting City of San Diego, California - One of the Most Beautiful in the U.S.A.:

Thank you for describing Happy Ending as a "Great Bar" as the title of your review. Being a "great bar" is how every bar strives to be known. Thank you for also using other descriptors such as "great experience," "clean, great service, fun, great deals." Happy Ending is, without a doubt, the cleanest Cantina in Cabo. We have full-time cleaning crews assigned to both our day shift and night shift. We clean when we're open rather than after we close. Our restrooms are kept spotlessly clean just like the rest of our establishment.

I'm very pleased you enjoyed our delicious Mexican and American foods, especially our Nachos. Our Super Nachos feed up to four and our absolutely the best you'll every eat!

Thank you very much for ALL your incredibly nice recommendations and wonderful comments.

Best wishes for lot of "Great" Happy Endings to all your hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might find you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“great place to hungout the service its awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

it's a great place nice people, good drinks and the service the best in cabo oscar is a great bartender he's a nice guy

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
wete: I'm very pleased that you named your review, "Great Place to Hangout....The Service is Awesome." Thank you very much.

Thank you for describing Happy Ending as a "great place," with "nice people," "good drinks" and the "best" service in Cabo. Oscar, our day shift Bartender/Waiter asked me to personally thank you for mentioning him by name and for describing him as a "nice guy.' I agree with you....Oscar is one of our most popular employees and represents all the good things for which Happy Ending stands.

Please try and return as soon as you can.

Best wishes for lots of "Great" Happy Endings to all your endeavors wherever life's journeys might take you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumwater, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing place, highly recommend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

What a great place to have a drink or grab a bite! Very affordable, food is amazing! Couldn't believe they charged so little for such great food. As for drinks, $5 for 2 beers and double shots of house tequila, who can beat that?!? So far, been here 3 times, will definitely be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Elena K from the Wonderful City of Tumwater, Washington - The first American settlement on Puget Sound which was named after the Chinook jargon phrase, "Tumtum Chuck," which means "waterfall" or "rapids." Thank you for naming your review "Amazing Place, Highly Recommend!"

Thank you for ALL your "amazing" comments, opinions and recommendations. I'm very pleased that your enjoyed our "very affordable" food so much that you described it as "great food."

Thanks for describing our incredible REGULAR price of only $5 for 2 bottles of ice cold Corona or Pacifico AND 2 double shots of our super-smooth tequila. That's 4 separate drinks for only $5....all-the-time, everyday, every night, summer-spring-winter-fall, 365 and 24/7.

Thanks for visiting so many times and for becoming such a great "regular" customer.

Best wishes for lots of "Amazing" Happy Endings to all your hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might take you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Ending Cantina also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Happy Ending Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing