We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Super Fun, Bar Atmosphere, Simple Menu, Great Prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Ending Cantina

Happy Ending Cantina
Ranked #17 of 505 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Happy Ending's 5 full-time chefs prepare generous proportions of delicious food, always at affordable prices, in its completely new kitchen. Our Crispy Tacos, Huge Burritos, Super Nachos, Cheeseburgers, Super "Loaded" Fries, Quesadillas, etc., Have become the most popular in Cabo. The kitchen is located directly on the sidewalk to make it easy for those who simply want to eat at the outside counter or take their food to go. Our bartenders and waiters can also place orders and serve food to our customers inside Happy Ending. Food is served everyday from 10:00 am to at least 3:00 am.
Rocklin, California, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super Fun, Bar Atmosphere, Simple Menu, Great Prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

If you are looking for an great place to go for a Quick simple bite during the day for a great price cool! It's predominantly American/friendly and boasts spirit for police, fire and all American blue collar workin folk. You can bring a patch, t-shirt or card to post on their walls, ceiling or boards filled with many patches of police and fire from the states NY, LA and around the world. We took the family during the day pretty quiet but I can see where it is probably a pretty rowdy crowd at night. Tons of beer pong tables. I would have given five stars but its lacks a bit on service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsJDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
MrsJDG from the Great Bay Area Community of Rocklin, California: Thank you for summing up your opinions of Happy Ending by naming your review "Super Fun, Bar Atmosphere, Simple Menu, Great prices." Those 8 words are what every bar owner would love for his/her customers to use when describing their business.

Thanks for also mentioning the Police, Fire and other Public Safety Officer's department patches that adorn our entrance. As a retired LAPD Sergeant and the father of two current LAPD cops I'm proud to display department patches that our PSO customers bring with them and donate to Happy Ending. We also allow any customer who personalizes any denomination of currency to affix the money to our walls and ceilings as a souvenir of their visit.

Best wishes for lots of Happy Endings to all your hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might take you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,937
    321
    88
    34
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Value in Cabo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

What a great little place! Everyone was talking about this fun place with a great drink special so we gave it a shot. The atmosphere was great and the bartenders were lots of fun. They also run a small kitchen next door that serves up some tasty bar fare. Next time you're in Cabo definitely swing by and have a few drinks. You won't be sorry!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Koconutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Koconutz from the Most Incredible City in the World - New York, New York: Thank you very much for the way you described Happy Ending in the name of your review, "Best Value in Cabo."

I've lived in Cabo since 1986 and have witnessed the prices of drinks continue to skyrocket to stupid outrageous levels. To reverse this trend, Happy Ending's motto has always been "Bringing Mexican Prices Back to Cabo." This has been our motto (and will always be our motto) since the day we opened over four years ago. Our prices are ALWAYS the lowest in Cabo and we never use gimmicky prices such as Ladies' Night, Happy Hour or Two-for-One.

Thank you very much for describing Happy Ending as a "great little place" with "a great drink special" and with an "atmosphere (that) was great." I'm also happy to learn that you thought our bartenders were "lots of fun."

We opened our brand new kitchen just a couple months ago. It used to be located in the center of Happy Ending but we decided to move it to the front next to our entrance. Doing so allows people who prefer to simply order their food and eat outside the opportunity to do so. Or they can bring their food inside and eat wherever they wish. Or they can place their food order from their bartender or waiter and it will be served to them inside Happy Ending. Our food is so delicious and so affordable that we're seeing many people returning to eat day-after-day.

Thank you very much for ALL your kind comments and great recommendations. Please hurry back as soon as you can.

Best wishes for lots of great Happy Endings to all your hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might find you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Happy - Start to Ending”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Wished we could have stayed longer but our schedule was jammed. Met the owner, Gene, who visited with us to tell the history of his place, showed us his killer $5 hamburger and explained why his establishment works. No Happy Hour just low prices all day long. 2 beers and a shot of tequila for 5 bucks. Staff was awesome. Got some good photos, bought shirts, stickers and stapled our signed dollar bill to the ceiling. Great fun and I will adjust my schedule on our next trip so I can have more happy times.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank NorthwestCoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
NorthwestCoaster from the Incredibly Beautiful City of Seattle, Washington: Because you've written so many reviews, 23 to be exact, Trip Advisor has made you a "Senior Contributor." Congratulations! You're opinions are very important and I sincerely thank you for all the nice comments and great recommendations you wrote about Happy Ending Cantina.

Thank you for naming your review "Happy - Start to Finish." We treat everyone like the VIPs they are from the moment they enter until the time they leave. We do everything we can to insure our first time customers return and that our returning customers keep doing so year-after-year. We never treat any of our customers as "one-timers" like so many other places.

I too wish you could have stayed longer but I really enjoyed the time we spent together talking and learning about each other. I'm looking forward to spending more time with you during your next visit that I hope will be longer.

Thank for raving about our "Killer $5 Hamburgers." They "look" better in person than all the slick, doctored and airbrushed food advertising photos one sees in magazines...and that never look the as good when actually served. And all our burgers taste absolutely wonderful too.

Thank you for also mentioning our REGULAR price of only $5 for 2 ice cold bottles of Corona or Pacifico AND 2 double shots of our super-smooth tequila....that's 4 drinks for only $5...all day, all night, everyday, every night, all winter, spring, summer and fall, 365 and 24/7. ALL the rest of our drink prices are always the lowest in Cabo too!

I'm very pleased that you described our staff as being "awesome." I think so too. Our crew members enjoy coming to work and it shows in the outstanding way they treat each and every customer. They make all our customers feel like they could very well be drinking inside one of their neighborhood bars back home rather than in a bar in a foreign country.

I'm happy that you personalized a dollar bill and attached it to our ceiling. I sure hope you remember where you put it because there are several thousand others vying for attention!

Please try and return soon to enjoy more of Cabo's incredible warm weather and Happy Ending's fun times.

Best wishes for lots of great Happy Endings to all your hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might find you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Very Happy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great atmosphere and excellent service. You can not beat their prices. A comfortable place to meet and have a drink.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Tom R: Thank you very much for naming your review "Very Happy." The entire Happy Ending crew and I are also "Very Happy" that you spent a part of your valuable vacation time with us at Happy Ending. Thank you for ALL your wonderful comments and great recommendations.

You wrote that "you cannot beat their prices." Thank you for doing so. I've lived in Cabo San Lucas since 1986 when prices were very affordable. Beginning in the early 1990s prices began sky rocketing and continued to do so. It was almost as if a bottle of Mexican beer cost less in Hawaii than in Cabo. The prices just got stupidly crazy and, if you were a local, it was just too expensive to go out most everywhere in Cabo.

In early 2008 my wife and I decided to build a Cantina "from the ground up" on property that we had owned since way back in 1987. Happy Ending Cantina opened on Halloween 2008. This was our very first venture into the restaurant or bar business anywhere. We decided that our motto would always be "Bringing Mexican Prices Back to Cabo" and we quickly made this our policy.

For example, the REGULAR price of an ice cold bottle of Corona or Pacifico has never changed since the day we opened: They're still only $2 each. And we never require anyone has to purchase a bucket, or some other arbitrary minimum amount, to get this price. I've always felt that if a person wants to drink only one beer at a time why should they have to spend more for the privilege. The REGULAR price for a double shot or our super-smooth tequila has always been only $1. The REGULAR price for 2 ice cold bottles of Corona or Pacifico AND 2 double shots has always been only $5....All or our super-low REGULAR prices are in effect all-the-time, everyday, every night, spring, summer, winter & fall, 365 and 24/7. We never have gimmick "Yo-Yo" prices that go up and down depending if you happen to be a lady, or if the name of the day ends with the letters "...d a y," or the time of the day. You will never find gimmicks such as Ladies' Night, Two-for-One or Happy Hour at Happy Ending Cantina. Never!

Thank you again for all your very nice comments. We're all looking forward to spending time with you the next time you visit Cabo.

Best wishes for lots of wonderful Happy Endings to all your endeavors, hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might find you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retiro, Colombia
Level Contributor
267 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“It's a bar - not a restaurant (at least when we were there).”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We were there in July and the place was basically a Gringo hangout and the place was filled with Americans (I live in Colombia and we have the same places here as well). This is OK and not met negative. The service was OK – the bathrooms were clean. The restaurant was not open. The prices were OK – I don’t mind paying more if there is service or something for the money. They had dollars on the wall and had women dancing on the bar. The music was fine. The place was not on the ocean nor beach and on a street which is very popular leading to the strip. Everything was OK, but nothing special. There are many other places in Cabo which are on the ocean/beach and have great views of the water and great food – based on this it’s an average place. Would I return – yes – if I was walking someplace else and wanted to stop for a beer.. But it’s not the best there is in Cabo by a long shot – unless you consider low prices being the most important thing..

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank HK2LS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
HK2LS from Santa Marta, Colombia: Obviously if you wait more than half a year to write a review, the factual contents of your review can change. We do have a kitchen! When you visited us last year we were constructing our completely new kitchen. It has now been open about two months and has been getting rave reviews not only for the low prices but the absolutely delicious food we're preparing.

Cabo San Lucas is a vacation destination that draws foreign visitors, mainly Americans and Canadians because of its location. We also see many tourists from Argentina and Brazil, Europe, Australia and Asia. Happy Ending has never been, and never will be, any sort "gringo hangout" as you described. Happy Ending is the most popular bar in Cabo San Lucas for EVERYONE, including visiting tourists AND local Mexicans. Between 11:00 pm and 3:00 am each Friday and Saturday night Happy Ending is consistently "packed" with patrons, 90% who are local Mexicans, having fun. Perhaps if you had visited us on a Friday or Saturday night you would have come to a different conclusion and thought that we were a Mexican hangout. I know it's difficult to describe a business unless more than a brief time is spent there.

The wrote that "the prices were OK – I don’t mind paying more if there is service or something for the money." This comment indicated to me that you thought our prices were not affordable. This is simply not true because Happy Ending consistently has the lowest, most affordable, prices in Cabo San Lucas, San Jose del Cabo and perhaps even the lowest prices in the entire country of Mexico. For example, the REGULAR price of a double shot (2 full ounces) of our famous super-smooth tequila is always only $1 USD. Two ice cold bottles of Corona or Pacifico AND 2 double shots are always only $5....for all 4 drinks. These are our REGULAR prices. Perhaps you believe this is just "OK" but I've never been told by anyone else that any of our prices are just "OK." Actually I'm frequently asked how we can make a profit by always charging such low prices.

You described Happy Ending as being on a street "leading to the strip." Happy Ending is located on Marina Boulevard, directly across the street from the world-famous Cabo San Lucas Marina. Marina Boulevard IS the strip and Happy Ending is not only ON THE STRIP but is located in the very MIDDLE of all the most popular bars and clubs found in Cabo San Lucas! If the "strip" were an American football field, Happy Ending would be directly on the "50-yard line." The "end zone" at one end of our block has the world famous Cabo Wabo Cantina and the Giggling Marlin. The "end zone" at the other end of our block has the world famous Hard Rock Cafe, El Squid Roe, Mandala's and the Pink Kitty. Happy Ending is located exactly in the middle of all the hottest spots in Cabo, not on a side street or a street leading to the strip.

You wrote that "there are many other places in Cabo which are on the ocean/beach and have great views of the water." I've lived in Cabo San Lucas since 1986 and I've seen virtually every "place" on the beach when they were being built. Beach locations are great during the daytime when one can take advantage of the incredible views but many people also complain about constantly being bombarded by beach vendors. We never allow any vendors inside Happy Ending at anytime. You'll never be bothered by kids selling chicklets or trinkets, adults selling blankets, etc., and you'll never have to shoo away an unwanted mariachi band looking for a tip at Happy Ending.

If you ever return to Cabo I hope you can find a bar on the beach that you like..

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Ending Cantina also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Happy Ending Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing