We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Another Awesome Time at HE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Ending Cantina

Happy Ending Cantina
Ranked #14 of 509 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Happy Ending's 5 full-time chefs prepare generous proportions of delicious food, always at affordable prices, in its completely new kitchen. Our Crispy Tacos, Huge Burritos, Super Nachos, Cheeseburgers, Super "Loaded" Fries, Quesadillas, etc., Have become the most popular in Cabo. The kitchen is located directly on the sidewalk to make it easy for those who simply want to eat at the outside counter or take their food to go. Our bartenders and waiters can also place orders and serve food to our customers inside Happy Ending. Food is served everyday from 10:00 am to at least 3:00 am.
Dallas, tx
Level Contributor
187 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Another Awesome Time at HE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Visited here 2 years ago and we just had to come back. Spent 4 evenings here on this trip all the while meeting new friends and playing beer pong. Unlike the rest of the cheesy bars in Cabo, HE focuses on what it does best-serve cheaply priced drinks and making sure you have fun in a relaxed setting. And as bonus, the owner Gene "El Jefe" walks around and makes sure you are enjoying yourself. We had the pleasure of spending time with Gene again on this trip and were extremely grateful for his time. On the night of the BCS Championship we sat at the bar and watched the game on a cold (for Cabo) night and Gene was kind enough to bring out these nice ponchos for us to wear to keep us warm. A very nice touch.

Since we have been there on our previous trip, HE added a kitchen. We had the Super Nacho for dinner and they were great, reasonably priced and enough for two of us.

Thanks again HE and Gene for another wonderful time and we look forward to our next visit! Make sure you stop by here while in Cabo.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cseanmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
cseanmc from the Home of the Cowboys, the Incredible City of Dallas, Texas:

You've written a vast amount on reviews, 86 to be exact, about establishments in 44 different cities. As a result, Trip Advisor has named you a "Top Contributor." Congratulations. All your great comments and incredible recommendations are very much appreciated by me and each member of our crew. Thank you fur summarizing your opinions by naming your review "Another Awesome Time at Happy Ending." And thank you for posting a photo of the three of us together behind the bar.

I'm so very pleased that we were able to spend so much time together during your last trip to Cabo, and thank you for returning again and again. It was enjoyable to talk and exchange stories about our lives.

It was a lot of fun watching you both play Beer Pong....you guys have gotten really good! Happy Ending has a total of 18 regulation size, custom made, Beer Pong tables. During Spring Break we set up all of them and host tournaments. We're the Official Headquarters of the Baja Division of the Mexican Beer Pong League and the ONLY bar in Cabo where you can play Beer Pong on "real" Beer Pong tables.

Thanks for mentioning that we serve "cheaply priced drinks." Since we opened over four years ago our motto has always been "Bringing Mexican Prices Back to Cabo." Our ice cold bottles of Corona or Pacifico (the world's most popular brands of Mexican beer) are always only $2 each. (We don't sell the unpopular off-brands.) We've never required a minimum purchase to get this price. This is our everyday, every night, all-the-time, 365, 24/7, REGULAR price. Or you can always get 2 beers AND 2 double shots of our famous super-smooth tequila for only $5....all-the-time. That's 4 drinks for our regular price of only $5. Absolutely no other establishments in Cabo (probably no where else in Mexico either) can come close to matching our super-low prices.

Thanks for mentioning our ponchos that we lend to customers when it gets a little chilly at night. My wife carefully selects and purchases each poncho to make sure they are super-soft and woven into beautiful colors and designs. Unlike most ponchos that are rough and itchy and very generic appearing, ours are simply beautiful and the designs are very unique. For those who want to take one or two home we are more that happy to offer them for sale.

I'm very happy that you enjoyed the affordable priced food prepared in our new kitchen. We have two chefs, one on the day shift and one on the night shift, who make absolutely delicious dishes. We make all types of delicious Mexican and American food. We even make CRISPY tacos unlike only soft tacos sold elsewhere in Cabo. Our tacos come loaded with either carne asada or chicken then topped with shredded lettuce, diced tomatoes and shredded cheese. You then top them off with one of our freshly made salsas. We serve food between 11:00 am and 2:00 am seven-days each week.

Please try and find the free time and the means to be able to return to Cabo sooner than two years from now.

Best wishes for lots and lots of wonderful Happy Endings to all your endeavors, hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might take you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,957
    322
    90
    34
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great bar with honest prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Gene the owner came up and introduced himself to us. He told us a little about himself and thanked us for coming in. He made you feel welcomed and let it be known that he appreciated our business. He mentioned he sells more Corona than any other bar in Cabo. At $2 a beer it's easy to see why, but its also A great place with great prices. He even has 1 waiter that will do some of the most freakish card tricks you will ever see in your life. All in all, it's a great place to hang out!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nomaam4evr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Nomaam4evr: Thank you very much for summing up your opinions by naming your review "Great Bar With Honest Prices." Every bar owner strives to have his/her customers describe their establishments as "Great." And highlighting the fact that we have "Honest Prices" is another important aspect about the way we conduct our business.

It was a pleasure to meet you and be able to spend a little quality time learning about each other. I sincerely hope you can the find free time and means to be able to return soon.

Thanks for mentioning that our regular price of an ice cold bottle of Corona is always only $2....and you never have to buy multiple beers to get this price. This is our regular price all-the-time, everyday, every night, 365 and 24/7 price. We never have gimmicky pricing that make our prices go up and down such as Happy Hour, Ladies' Night or Two-for-One. You never have to check your calendar, your watch or your gender to get the best prices at Happy Ending! Our regular prices are always better than all the gimmick prices.

Samuel, our Magician, is not a Waiter. He's a Professional Magician who's performed internationally including in Las Vegas and Mexico City. He's the best close-up Magician I've ever seen. He usually performs at Happy Ending in the afternoon and early evening hours.

Thank you very much for all your wonderful comments and great recommendations. I sincerely appreciate everything you wrote.

Best wishes for lots of Happy Endings to all your endeavors, hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might take you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Excellent, cheap food and drinks. We stopped in for a late lunch and were very happy with the food and service. $5 for two beers and 2 2 oz shots. All the food is between $2-7. The waiter was super nice and friendly. He drew us a map on where to find a good churro.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank simmonjam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
simmonjam1 from the home of the World Famous Stampede, Calgary, Canada: Because you've written 6 reviews Trip Advisor has given you the title "Senior Reviewer." Thank you very much for all your nice comments and wonderful recommendations. Thank you for naming your review "Awesome Value."

I hope you found the man who sells the best churros in town. They are so very yummy!

My wife and I've lived in Cabo for over 26 years and we know all the best places in town for just about anything and we're constantly referring our customers to our favorite specialty restaurants, shopping and attractions.

I'm very happy to learn you enjoyed our "excellent cheap food and drinks" including paying only $5 for 2 ice cold bottles of Corona or Pacifico AND 2 double shots of our super-smooth tequila. $5 is our REGULAR, everyday, all-the-time price.

Please try and return as soon as you can find the time and means to do so,.

Best wishes for lots of Happy Endings to all your hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might take you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“2 shots, 2 beers, $5?!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I'm not sure why this spot is #2 other than the awesome drink deals they have going on! I had to try the food (not a big menu at all) and went with the beef french fries which were just okay! We started off every night here and for good reason! Our server was awesome and definitely took good care of us! Thanks for the memories!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaGuzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
LisaGuzman from the Exciting City of Houston, Texas: It's always very special when a Trip Advisor "Senior Reviewer" writes a nice review about Happy Ending. Thanks for naming your review "2 Shots, 2 beers, $5!" Five dollars is our REGULAR everyday price for 4 separate drinks - 2 ice cold bottles of Corona or Pacifico AND 2 double shots of our super-smooth tequila. It's by far the best deal in Cabo San Lucas.

I'm very pleased that you thought your "server was awesome" and "definitely took care" of you.

You thanked us for the "memories" you have from your visit to Happy Ending. I want to thank you for all the nice memories you left with our crew members.

Best wishes for lots and lots of Happy Endings to all your endeavors wherever life's journeys might find you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very Fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stopped here several times during the week in Cabo. The first time the owner, Gene stopped to introduce himself to us and welcome us. The bartenders were all so nice and friendly. The prices were fantastic.. 2 beers and 2 shots of Tequila for $5.00.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julib69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
julib69 from the Incredible City of Milwaukee, Wisconsin: You've written 13 reviews about establishments in 9 different cities and, because of this, Trip Advisor has designated you a "Contributor." Your opinions are very important and we greatly appreciate everything you wrote about Happy Ending Cantina.

I'm very pleased that you had so much fun at Happy Ending that you named your review "Very Fun!" We guarantee a fun "Happy Ending" to all our customers.

It was my pleasure to meet you and be able to spend time with you. Because you visited Happy Ending so many times during your vacation you've become an official member of out Happy Ending "family." I hope you can make it to our next "family reunion"....when we celebrate our 5th Anniversary on Halloween 2013.

Thank you for describing our bartenders as "all" being "so nice and friendly" and for describing our prices as "fantastic." ALL our drink prices are the very best in Cabo. Since we opened over 4 years ago our motto has always been "Bringing Mexican Prices Back to Cabo."

I hope you can find the free time and the means to be able to return soon to enjoy Cabo's incredible weather, wonderful people and the fun times at Happy Ending.

Best wishes for lots and lots of great Happy Endings to all your endeavors, hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might take you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Ending Cantina also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Happy Ending Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing