We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super place but watch out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Resort at Pedregal
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“super place but watch out”
Reviewed February 7, 2011

8 of us stayed in a 4 bedroom ocean view villa and loved it! Had a major domo, Jonathan, and he was fabulous. Ordered the chef's dinner in room and they did a superb job. Staff was amazing, very polite, friendly, whatever we needed was handled with aplomb. Enjoyed El Farralon their upscale restuarant as well.
Watch out though: this is not an inexpensive resort so be prepared for resort prices. The wine tasting, although Alejandro was very nice, not worth the money. their wine list to be honest is not worthy of their ranking. Something about importing wines is a real pain for the resort and makes everything more expensive. the tequila tasting was fun and informative, but don't forget the price is not the price, add on tip and gratuity as was the wine tasting.
but, would I go back? heck yes! Great place and loved it. Would the whole group go back and they all say yes.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimpatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,510
    111
    38
    11
    17
See reviews for
256
1,100
21
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California, Usa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2011

We stayed in the beach casitas - right on the beach - truly spectacular. Due to an unusual cloudy day, the sunset the first night was the most beautiful we have ever seen. Dinner at Farallon was exquisite - the food was very flavorful without the addition of heavy unnatural ingredients. The setting exquisite - perched on the side of the cliff. Loved the breakfast at Manuels. The spa was top notch - lots of extra touches during the treatments. We felt during our whole stay as if this was sort of our own private resort with staff awaiting unobtrusively for our every need.

We had dinner one night at Los Tres Gallos - wonderful very small restaurant downtown. Very authentic food. And off the tourist path (although we made it obviously on the path when we found our way there with our 8 noisy people! - sorry!)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paristraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Words can not describe how great this place is!

In short: great staff, EVERYONE is very hospitable, GREAT rooms, and the dining options were fantastic.

It's on a private part of the beach so it's very quiet and relaxing. If wild partying is something you're looking for, then this hotel is not it. Sorry.

We will return to stay here again. LOVED IT, THANK YOU!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingPat11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2011

What can I say about this magnificent gem of a place? The ride in was beautiful and relaxing. The panarama around us was amazing as we drove in. Hotel was like no other hotel we have ever stayed at. Entrance was an eye opener. Rooms built right into the mountain. We had a luxurious room with marble everything, king size bed, huge closets, double sinks in bathroom, huge sink in tub, beautiful shower, balcony with an Infinte pool overlooking the breathtaking ocean and views all around us. Food was upscale , a high 10 on food, wine and service. People and staff smiled all day and always stopped to talk to us and go out of there way to give us anything we required or desired.Shopping in town was fun and locals were great. You won't want to leave the hotel, it is truly amazing! Gym was state of the art, great workouts on large screen tv. Nothing like working out in the gym and watching the exceptional views aroung you. They did not miss a beat on this entire place. The only one thing that was a bit of a downer was that you could not swim in the Pacific ocean on your beach. You either had to take a little drive to access a beach for swimming, scuba diving and snorkeling. There are many tours to take, we tried deep sea fishing and what an experience...we did not catch anything, but we saw dolphins jumping around us and marlins swimming aroung us. What a view! If you really have someone special that you love and do not mind spending$$$$$, this is the place. They say diamonds are a girls' best friend, but I say CAPELLA PEDREGAL in Cabo San Lucas is my new best friend and will always be the most amazing vacation in paradise!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Primep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Possibly the finest hotel experience we have ever enjoyed...anywhere in the world. We were very well treated by the staff, who made it a warm friendly and personal experience. we dined in all the restaurants...again, all excellent experiences. We really enjoyed watching the whale migration from the pool on our balcony....does it get any better? It was also nice to be able to walk to town in ten minutes....through the tunnel through the mountain that provides access to the hotel....

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SailonSailor54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novato, CA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2011

wifey and i went here for her 50th. i had planned on ixtapa but it was such a long trip that we opted for something that was a relatively quick direct flight. i had rented a car thiking that we might want to do some sightseeing around cabo. we used the car twice apart from the drive to and from the airport. so if you do get a car, get the smallest cheapest one and don't buy the tank of gas! you will never want to leave the gounds of capella pedregal.

the service is excellent but unobtrusive, the views and setting is gorgeous, the infinity pool is great just to hang out at, and the restaurants are fabulous (don manueal's twice/el farallon once). we went out to edith's in cabo one night while there but compared to either of the capella restaurants, it wasn't worth it. the rooms with their amenities, the amazing plunge pool, and the views make you hardly want to leave the room! complementary breakfasts are also very good-choose the one where you go into the room where you can choose what you want rather than the a la carte. the cook will prepare you a lovely mexican breakfast dish plus you can get fresh fruit/cheeses/proscuitto etc. as you would at an italian hotel breakfast. also, they bring you a couple of mexican beers and chips and guac/salsa as a late afternoon snack to your room, and we got a complementary bottle of don julio anejo tequila for evening sipping which was a nice touch.

i cannot wait to go back. but beware, it is not cheap. however, you do get what you pay for. i think we did 3 nights and get the fourth night free and with their 29% tax, the whole thing came to a hair under $3000. this doesn't include the dinners we had on premesis.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wellingtontraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2011

My wife and I just returned from 5 days at Capella Pedregal. We chose this resort as a result of the great reviews on TA. We were not disappointed. From the moment we drove through the tunnel, the experience was outstanding. We were greeted by our personal assistant who helped us get a lay of the land. The resort manager also introduced himself which I don't think has ever happened at another hotel we have ever stayed. From that moment on, the staff of Capella didn't miss a beat. The service, the facilities, the food, the location, everything was just outstanding. At first glance, the price may make you think twice. Don't worry, it is well worth it. We plan be make Capella an annual trip.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golfpards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
4.2 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,162 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
790 reviews
1.2 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#7 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,543 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Pedregal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Pedregal

Property: The Resort at Pedregal
Address: Camino Del Mar 1, Cabo San Lucas 23455, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Resort at Pedregal 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your journey begins as you emerge from Dos mares Tunnel, carved through a solid mountain, to discover paradise. The Resort at Pedregal welcomes you with familial Mexican charm. The check-in desk, located below the azure blue sky, illustrates the endless possibilities. 96 rooms and suites, each with a private plunge pool with stunning ocean views, personal assistant service, fireplace, LCD television, iPod docking station and complimentary wireless internet, and complimentary refreshments allow you to rehydrate and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Resort at Pedregal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capella Pedregal Hotel Cabo San Lucas
The Resort At Pedregal Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing