We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“it's about excellence” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Resort at Pedregal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Resort at Pedregal
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Granbury, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“it's about excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2011

Possibly the finest hotel experience we have ever enjoyed...anywhere in the world. We were very well treated by the staff, who made it a warm friendly and personal experience. we dined in all the restaurants...again, all excellent experiences. We really enjoyed watching the whale migration from the pool on our balcony....does it get any better? It was also nice to be able to walk to town in ten minutes....through the tunnel through the mountain that provides access to the hotel....

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SailonSailor54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,427
    103
    34
    11
    17
See reviews for
232
1,050
19
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
novato, CA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2011

wifey and i went here for her 50th. i had planned on ixtapa but it was such a long trip that we opted for something that was a relatively quick direct flight. i had rented a car thiking that we might want to do some sightseeing around cabo. we used the car twice apart from the drive to and from the airport. so if you do get a car, get the smallest cheapest one and don't buy the tank of gas! you will never want to leave the gounds of capella pedregal.

the service is excellent but unobtrusive, the views and setting is gorgeous, the infinity pool is great just to hang out at, and the restaurants are fabulous (don manueal's twice/el farallon once). we went out to edith's in cabo one night while there but compared to either of the capella restaurants, it wasn't worth it. the rooms with their amenities, the amazing plunge pool, and the views make you hardly want to leave the room! complementary breakfasts are also very good-choose the one where you go into the room where you can choose what you want rather than the a la carte. the cook will prepare you a lovely mexican breakfast dish plus you can get fresh fruit/cheeses/proscuitto etc. as you would at an italian hotel breakfast. also, they bring you a couple of mexican beers and chips and guac/salsa as a late afternoon snack to your room, and we got a complementary bottle of don julio anejo tequila for evening sipping which was a nice touch.

i cannot wait to go back. but beware, it is not cheap. however, you do get what you pay for. i think we did 3 nights and get the fourth night free and with their 29% tax, the whole thing came to a hair under $3000. this doesn't include the dinners we had on premesis.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wellingtontraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2011

My wife and I just returned from 5 days at Capella Pedregal. We chose this resort as a result of the great reviews on TA. We were not disappointed. From the moment we drove through the tunnel, the experience was outstanding. We were greeted by our personal assistant who helped us get a lay of the land. The resort manager also introduced himself which I don't think has ever happened at another hotel we have ever stayed. From that moment on, the staff of Capella didn't miss a beat. The service, the facilities, the food, the location, everything was just outstanding. At first glance, the price may make you think twice. Don't worry, it is well worth it. We plan be make Capella an annual trip.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Golfpards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenosha, wi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2011

Date of stay: Jan 9-14, 2011
Purpose: To relax with spouse

We are luxury travelers with extremely high expectations. We have been disappointed by several properties who claim to be "5 star" but are generic and formulaic in their approach. Prior to travel, we considered the Palmilla and Las Ventanas, but we came across Capella Pedregal on Tripadvisor.com, and we could not ignore the reviews. Primarily, we chose Capella because of its proximity to the center of Cabo San Lucas (just through the tunnel), and its small size. To say that we were blown away by what we when we arrived is an utter understatement. It's the only place we have ever stayed that not only REALLY looks like its website, it is actually 1000 times BETTER than what you see and read online.

Service: unbelievable, everyone treated like a VIP, but not annoyinglly
Food: best we have ever had in Mexcio
Property: amazingly beautiful and integrated with native climate. The landscaping was so unique and beautiful. I walked the grounds frequently just to admire the flawless integration of the hotel's architectural features and native plants.
Decor/Rooms: Beautiful! Most comfortable bed in Mexico, classy not cheezy Mexican influences without being over the top. Phenomenal shower/bath/fireplace - oh, and be sure to see that rooms have their own INFINITY POOL overlooking the OCEAN! - Also, you can see whales from your room, and they provide high powered, good quality binoculars.


Every where you look, you are surrounded by beauty here, but not like you would expect. The fire, the rocks, the cacti, the agave, the infinity pools. You feel a part of the serenity. The staff are always 3 steps ahead of you... bringing you drinks before you ask, holding a lighter out before your cigarette is out, offering a deliciously unique poolside snack just when you think you might be a tad hungry. They go FAR out their way to go BEYOND your expectations. Around 5-6PM, the quietly deliver delicious chips and dip with beer to your room, and you are thrilled to get it each day. The turndown service includes the lighting of candles... which are real, not battery operated.

I NEVER saw a cleaning cart or a staff member out of place. Its as if the magic happens on it's own. Then, the staff you do encounter are friendly and helpful, but never overbearing or pushy.

The spa... like no other (and we've been to many many). First, the foot bath room. Second, not too big, but very luxurious. I recommend the signature "moon" treatments. Also, the hand and foot rejuvenation by Lionel is incredible and like nothing I have ever experienced before. My husband and I both went twice, and could have done more.

GREAT GYM! Big, well equipped, excellent staff. You can torture yourself on the elliptical, but at least you are overlooking the ocean.

The food... OMG. We loved all of it, and we do not eat Mexican fare much at home near Milwaukee. Abraham at the beach club was exceptional on all our visits with him, providing much entertainment while we enjoyed the Green Bay Packer game at his bar. The beach club staff took exceptional care of us for 5 days, and it was nice to see the same faces on each visit. Everyone greets you by name, which is awesome. The staff at the restaurants are incredible, and the chefs at both Don Manuel's and El Farallon made special meals for my husband that were not on their menus. Room service came quickly, and it was delicious and hot.

The pre-travel communication was impressive, and the welcome and parting gifts and nice touch.

Spoke with others who had stayed or worked with comparative properties in the area, and they confirmed our positive impressions. We are not famous celebrities, but Capella made us feel like we were.

We HATE HATE HATE time share pushers and condo-sellers at resorts. At the end of our stay, we actually sought out the sales rep on property to view the models... we were so impressed. We will definitely return here, no other option can compare.

I could say so much more, but it would just be a repeat of all of the other great reviews. Honestly, don't bother with any other place. Just book it and love it and don't look back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda_marie1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2011

We just returned from 5 days at Capella. Everything about this resort and our stay was incredible - the rooms, the food, the grounds, the spa and the people. Service was excellent and friendly at this resort. No detail about our stay was overlooked. We've been lucky to stay at many incredible places and this resort is definitely at the top. We'll be back, hopefully sooner than later.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lOvetOtravel201141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2011

I stayed at Capella Pedragal in August/September 2010 for my honeymoon. This place is absolutely wonderful. I dont have one complaint. They service was excellent. Food and drinks are pricey but well worth it to sip a Mojito on the beach. The entrance tunnel is simply amazing. We traveled outside of the resort on many occasions and the city/marina are easy to access and very tourist friendly. I recommend this resort 150%.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveTraveler00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

This is a great hotel. We originally chose Capella for Christmas break as we thought that other bigger resorts would be difficult for getting beach umbrellas, and pool umbrellas. And we are glad we did. Sometimes the beach umbrellas would fill up but the staff would quickly bring out another umbrella.
1. Rooms: We stayed at the residential part of the resort (there is a hotel part and residential) from what I can tell the rooms are pretty much the same. The rooms were stellar. Big comfortable beds, small pools, big kitchen, terrace and living rooms, furnished with great binoculars (great for whale watching). The hotel provides a mayordomo, which is a room steward that also does some simple breakfast or lunch cooking for you which was an added bonus. There where some maintenance issues that we did not appreciate, per example we had a ceiling water leak that they did not fix for the whole week and the dishwasher did not work, they replaced it and it still never did work.
2. Beach and pool areas: The beach is beautiful, kids had a blast in the sand, however do be aware that you can't swim in this part of Cabo. There are three pools and one is a kids pool which was more shallow and fun for the kids.
3. Restaurants. The beach club has great burgers, club sandwiches and pizza, and Farallon makes for a very nice romantic night out. Don Manuel gets 3.5/5 stars. We ordered things on the menu that they did not have, and it took them 45 minutes to bring our dessert! (which was a chocolate cake straight out of the fridge, nothing fancy like a chocolate soufflé)
4. Location: great location. right next to the Marina and downtown where you can go exploring and have good eats.
5. Other: Do take advantage of the hotel Yacht. It is a great way to see the Cabo Arches and the coastline

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MCastle83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
4.0 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#3 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#7 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.9 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
#1 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Pedregal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Pedregal

Property: The Resort at Pedregal
Address: Camino Del Mar 1, Cabo San Lucas 23455, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Resort at Pedregal 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your journey begins as you emerge from Dos mares Tunnel, carved through a solid mountain, to discover paradise. The Resort at Pedregal welcomes you with familial Mexican charm. The check-in desk, located below the azure blue sky, illustrates the endless possibilities. 96 rooms and suites, each with a private plunge pool with stunning ocean views, personal assistant service, fireplace, LCD television, iPod docking station and complimentary wireless internet, and complimentary refreshments allow you to rehydrate and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Jetsetter and Reservation Counter so you can book your The Resort at Pedregal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capella Pedregal Hotel Cabo San Lucas
The Resort At Pedregal Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing