We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!!! An amazing vacation!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Resort at Pedregal
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wow!!! An amazing vacation!!!”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Well the hotel is beautiful. Our room was magnificent. The staff are extremely friendly. Only rub is it is far from a budget vacation so b prepared. So many taxes etc…. The restaurants are both wonderful! Food was delicious. Pool is off the charts beautiful and service excellent. Only problem we had was when a group of owners showed up drinking cases of beer they brought and were very loud while I was spending 14 dollars a drink. Seems these owners pile in a 3-4 br timeshare like place and kinda took over the pool. Spa was very nice….The massages were ok but not the best in the world. Overall staff so very concerned about our happiness.

Room Tip: Try to get ocean view Its amazing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrTodd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaManagement, General Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Dr. Todd 7

Thank you for your review and your comments about your recent visit to Capella Pedregal. I was so pleased to learn that you enjoyed so many different aspects and services of the hotel during your visit.

My apologies for the disturbances caused by one of our residential owners, our Residential Manager has spoken with the owners who were involved as we expect them to be respectful and comport themselves in a manner that all of our guests expect.

Thank you once again for your visit. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back once again during a future visit to Cabo.

Best regards,

John Volponi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,482
    109
    37
    12
    17
See reviews for
248
1,083
20
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

First of all, this review should be seen through the lens of looking at a true luxury property (and paying luxury prices). My wife and I have stayed at many wonderful hotels and any negatives here are really nit picking.

We arrived and had pre arranged a pickup from the hotel which I would highly recommend if you can swing it. It costs more than a cab or shuttle bus but being able to have someone meet you at the airport, take your luggage and treat you to a snack and some bottled water while enjoying a relaxing 45 minutes drive was definitely worth it.

Check In - 10/10

We were greeted with a refreshing juice and our personal assistant who had been in contact with us from 14 days prior to arrival met us. We were promptly checked in and escorted to out room. The grounds are stunning and expansive.

Room - 9.75/10

We stayed in a Capella Suite which had a large outdoor seating ares with fireplace, a very large room which was tastefully appointed with many local pieces and an outdoor balcony with a private heated plunge pool. The room also had binoculars for whale watching, of which we saw lots daily. The bathroom was large, with a beautiful tub that was adjacent to a large window overlooking the ocean and a very large shower. I did notice that a few of the sliding doors were slightly dirty and one of them was chipped. Also one night we were greeted by a large cockroach in our bathroom. Probably not the hotel's fault. These are very very minor issues but for the money the rooms should be spotless.

Grounds - 10/10

The resort is beautiful and the website and travelers photos do not do it justice. We went with our 2 1/2 year old boy so we did not use the adult pool with swim up bar but it looked really nice. We spent our time in the two other pools which were kid friendly. One was an infinity pool right next to the beach which made going back and forth from the pool to beach very easy. The other pool was more landscaped with waterfalls and a graded entry for children. Pool toys were around for kids. The water is not swimmable but not a huge deal as the pools were so nice and the pacific can be cold.

Service - 10+/10

The hotel really earns it rating in the service category. I cannot mention every thoughtful act that the staff performed during our stay but there were many. One day at the beach my wife and I were talking about smudge marks on our camera lens. Unprompted, one of the employees brought camera cleaning solution and proceeded to clean our camera lens. Acts like these happened daily as the staff went above and beyond to assist their clients.

Food - 9/10

The hotel has one breakfast option, three lunch options and two dinner options. The food was generally of a very high quality. My only issues were the limited number of options as you can easily get tired of eating on the property with these choices (especially considering the prices of the food).

Checkout - 10++/10

I had to mention how helpful the airport liaison was when we were leaving. We had the hotel car take us to the airport. When we arrived the line to check our bags was ridiculously long. Most likely, it would have taken 45 minutes to check in and with a 2 year old that would have been tortuous. Our helper got us to expedited check in even though we were flying economy back home. Then he got us around the entire security line like we worked for the airlines. Lastly he escorted us to the VIP airport lounge (for which passes are arranged by the hotel prior to departure). It was truly an amazing experience.

Overall this property is one of two or three that I have ever visited and would want to return to immediately. I cannot say enough for the hard working and thoughtful staff. I would say that for the money we were paying things could have been slightly better in some categories but like I said earlier, these issues were so minor I hesitated in even writing about them. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Travelbug924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaManagement, General Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Travelbug 924,
Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful and very detailed review. I appreciate your sharing the many positive aspects of your visit as well as your recommendation for others to visit our hotel.

I do apologize for the minor lapses that you experienced with the housekeeping service and have reviewed your comments with our housekeeping team as we want everything to be absolutely perfect.

Thank you for your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back once again on your next visit to Cabo.

Best regards,

John Volponi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Everything about Capella is top notch - accommodations, staff, spa, food, location, availability to near-by activities - EVERYTHING. We stayed a week and wanted a laid back luxury get-away and that is exactly what we got! The grounds are immaculate, the staff + service is professional, the food is delicious (highly recommend El Farallon for dinner + Don Manuel's breakfast) and the Auriga Spa is simply a magical therapeutic oasis (def. try the Magic Stones + Ancient Mexican Message - Intense + wonderful). Guests are assigned a Personal Assistant during their stay that can assist and arrange any whim (if you are lucky enough to get Alan you will be very grateful). If it's your first trip to this part of Cabo don't worry about not being able to swim on the actual beach at this location - the several pools at the resort are AMAZING and a quick water taxi or adventurous hike from Capella over some rocky areas will get you to a swimming beach in no time. Beyond that your personal assistant can book a private guide that will take you for some pretty great snorkeling, diving or swimming beach time just a few minutes away. Plus most (if not all) rooms have your very own infinity plunge pool on the balcony with an ocean view - just incredible! Capella is def a 5 Star Get-Away without the stuffy pretentiousness of larger resorts. It's romantic, relaxing, simply beautiful and enjoyable in every way. We will def. be back!

Room Tip: Higher floor suites have a better view of the ocean but I really don't think there is a bad room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaManagement, General Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Stephen M,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful thoughts and comments with our Trip Advisor community. I am so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel and that we met your expectations. I was also happy to learn that you enjoyed two experiences from our “Spa Mexican Experiences” menu. Our spa team had recently developed these treatments and was very happy to learn that you enjoyed and recommended the experience.

Thank you for choosing Capella Pedregal for your vacation. All of us look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Cabo.

Best regards,

John Volponi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
165 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

this place is very special. Close to the action in Cabo, but isloated by their own tunnel. Quiet, private and very personal service. It's a place that you will not want to miss. I highly suggest you stay there ... at least eat there!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaManagement, General Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Ken B
Thank you for sharing your review and comments. I especially appreciate your pointing out how close we are to the town of Cabo, but uniquely separated from the activity of the town by our own private tunnel!

We look forward to welcoming you back to your “home at the end of the tunnel” very soon!

Best regards,
John Volponi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Should have written this review a year ago - traveled Mar 1-3, 2013 - Will be back again for Feb 28-3/3 2014 exactly one year later. I am hoping to make this a yearly ritual. First off great service from the Airport - late model escalade with friendly driver. From the moment you enter the property service is 5 star. I am a frequent traveler and normally stay at 5 star resorts, ST Regis, Four Seasons etc. I feel the service at this property exceeds that of most 5 star resorts in the US. Wait staff at the pool areas are efficient but not overbearing. Breakfast every morning was excellent. We stayed in a deluxe King room which was nicely done, well appointed, and the perfect size, intimate, not cramped and not too large for a couple. Binoculars provided to watch the whales from your room, plunge pool was a bit cool for Feb - March weather. Would be perfect if it was about 10 degrees warmer. I would say we would highly recommend this resort to anyone and we will be back an few weeks!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaManagement, General Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Roger M
Thank you for your review of your visit from last year. We look forward to welcoming you back once again in a few weeks!

Since your last visit, we have installed a new system for many of our plunge pools which will help us maintain the temperature at a more consistent and warmer level. I hope that you notice the improvement during your upcoming visit.

The whales are very active this year, and the weather has been just perfect and warm with temperatures in the 80’s tomorrow…we look forward to seeing you soon!

Regards,
John Volponi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Ahh, Capella Pedregal… How can words accurately describe it? A paradise, found - that kinda sums it up. Our honeymoon choice nestled at the southern tip of Mexico's Baja Peninsula. A place to rest both your weary bones and your thirsty soul. A first class resort that makes you feel like a true VIP. From the moment we were whisked away at the airport in one of their luxury suv's, we knew we were in for a treat. (transportation included in our particular package) A quick 45 minute drive later, there we were. Newlyweds anxiously awaiting the giant iron gates adorning the entrance of the resort to open so we could begin our first trek through the mysterious tunnel that transports you into the fantasy world we would call home for the next week. I can't even begin to describe the beauty and attention to detail this place has. Luxurious adobe and hacienda style buildings with uniquely Mexican accents everywhere you look. A truly romantic and spectacular resort that doesn't disappoint.

Alan, our designated personal assistant for the week was excellent and was able to hook up just about anything we could think of. Jermain, another staff member escorted us to our Ocean View room and gave us the rundown on its various amenities and all the secret spots the resort had to offer. The room was perfect for us as it had a plush king sized bed, automatic stone fireplace and a dual sink vanity with giant walk in shower and soaking tub. And let's not forget the private terrace and infinity plunge pool that comes with every room in the resort. Not only is it a great place to enjoy your complimentary coronas and chips and guacamole every day, but it's also your front row seat to watch the plethora of humpback and grey whales frolicking in the warm waters of the Pacific Ocean and Sea of Cortez.

Our vacation package included breakfast everyday at Don Manuel's, one of the signature restaurants of the resort. The buffet is ridiculously good and there was enough variety to have something different every day we were there. Mijael, the "omelette concierge" as I will call him was consistently excellent as was Javier, who made sure we well taken care of everyday at the restaurant. After thoroughly devouring some of the best chilaquiles and huevos rancheros I've ever had, we would slip over to the pool where Diego & Joaquin hooked us up daily with lounge chairs and an endless supply of adult libations of which we happily partook. The bartenders at the Crudo bar by the pool were amazing as was the chef that assembled the sushi we fell in love with for lunch. Whether it was the spicy tuna or queso fundido, they had it all and so did we.

Since we were looking to unwind, we did a couples massage at the Auriga spa which was incredibly relaxing. Not only was it one of the best massages we've ever had but you are allowed access to the whole spa the rest of the day. Steam rooms, saunas, jacuzzi's and an ice room complete with wellness teas and chlorophyl water to replenish the soul. We were also quite impressed with the gym as it offered state of the art equipment and numerous fitness classes. I was too lazy to step up to Boot Camp with Adrian but loved yoga on the beach with Gigi. Several of us were true beginners but she made us feel immediately at ease. Namaste.

All in all, Capella shined on every level. Yes, the price tag is steep but worth it if you are looking for true relaxation and a quality 5 star experience. It's also only a couple minute walk to downtown Cabo if you are itching for a little nightlife.

Room Tip: Higher up is better for views and privacy in plunge pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mattyd75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaManagement, General Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear mattyd75
Thank you for your very detailed and wonderful review along with your photographs! We are all so pleased that you choose to spend you honeymoon here with us and that you so thoroughly enjoyed your visit.

I love the new title that you have created for Mijael at our Don Manuel’s breakfast….”Omelets Concierge” suits him perfectly! Thank you as well for your kind recognition of so many of our dedicated staff members. It was a real pleasure to share your comments and recognition with each one of them!

Congratulations and best wishes from all of us. We look forward to the chance to welcome you back once again, perhaps for your 1st anniversary!

Best regards,
John Volponi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The good: The property is gorgeous and the service is friendly and impeccable. We liked the adults only pool, the ample breakfast buffet and the relaxing spa.
The not so good: Our PA only contacted us once during our 8 day stay. Our anniversary treat was delivered to our room on the wrong day. The staff at Don Manuel is too eager to upsell on expensive items.

However all in all we loved Capella.

Room Tip: Higher floors (3 and up) have the best view for whale watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BabyBoomerCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaManagement, General Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Baby Boomer Couple,
Thank you for sharing your review and your comments after your recent visit. I appreciate your noting those areas that you enjoyed as well as those areas where we can improve. Please know that we take these comments very seriously and will review with our team to ensure that we perform better in the future.

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your anniversary with us. I apologize that our anniversary surprise was delivered on the wrong evening and would agree that your Personal Assistant should have been more attentive! We do very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back once again for a future celebration.

Best regards,
John Volponi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
4.2 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#7 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
1.2 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Pedregal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Pedregal

Property: The Resort at Pedregal
Address: Camino Del Mar 1, Cabo San Lucas 23455, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Resort at Pedregal 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your journey begins as you emerge from Dos mares Tunnel, carved through a solid mountain, to discover paradise. The Resort at Pedregal welcomes you with familial Mexican charm. The check-in desk, located below the azure blue sky, illustrates the endless possibilities. 96 rooms and suites, each with a private plunge pool with stunning ocean views, personal assistant service, fireplace, LCD television, iPod docking station and complimentary wireless internet, and complimentary refreshments allow you to rehydrate and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Resort at Pedregal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capella Pedregal Hotel Cabo San Lucas
The Resort At Pedregal Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing