We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful But Not Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Resort at Pedregal
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The good: The property is gorgeous and the service is friendly and impeccable. We liked the adults only pool, the ample breakfast buffet and the relaxing spa.
The not so good: Our PA only contacted us once during our 8 day stay. Our anniversary treat was delivered to our room on the wrong day. The staff at Don Manuel is too eager to upsell on expensive items.

However all in all we loved Capella.

Room Tip: Higher floors (3 and up) have the best view for whale watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BabyBoomerCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaManagement, General Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Dear Baby Boomer Couple,
Thank you for sharing your review and your comments after your recent visit. I appreciate your noting those areas that you enjoyed as well as those areas where we can improve. Please know that we take these comments very seriously and will review with our team to ensure that we perform better in the future.

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your anniversary with us. I apologize that our anniversary surprise was delivered on the wrong evening and would agree that your Personal Assistant should have been more attentive! We do very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back once again for a future celebration.

Best regards,
John Volponi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,820)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

962 - 968 of 1,820 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2014

No need to go into details. It is a 5 Star resort with 6 Star service. The warmth and sincerity of the staff make it over the top good. Our thanks to our PA Daniela, Martin at the restaurant, Jerry and the whole group at the pool. Wish I could name all of them as everyone here made our trip special. Fantastic birthday for my wife yesterday. And a free mimosa this morning to keep the celebration going! Yes, it is expensive but the value for a top resort is quite good.

Sadly, we have to leave tomorrow. We will be back.

Room Tip: I think they are all good. We love the Capella Suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank advsrbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaManagement, General Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Dear advsrbill,
Thank you for once again choosing Capella Pedregal for your Cabo vacation! We are so pleased to learn that once again we met your expectations and thank you for your support of our hotel.

It was a pleasure to be able to share your comments with Daniela, Martin, Jerry, and the entire team. Positive comments such as yours are a real motivation for us all!

We look forward to welcoming you back once again for another celebration!

Best regards,
John Volponi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This place is amazing. The service here was the best we've ever had.....from cleaning your own sunglasses to adjusting your chair back, they didn't want you to lift a finger!! We watched whales from our private infinity pool daily while enjoying fresh guacamole delivered to our room. The breakfast was the absolute best we've had at any resort and is enough reason to go back in itself. The people there somehow knew our names (even ones we had not met) and all lined up to wave bye to us when we left. Can't wait to see this paradise again one day!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuLuandMid2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaManagement, General Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Dear LuLu and Mid 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments and your photographs from your recent visit to Capella Pedregal. We are so pleased that you loved the special amenities as well as our wonderful breakfast buffet!

We very much appreciated your very positive review and look forward to welcoming you back to “paradise” once again in the very near future.

Best regards,
John Volponi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

This hotel is the most spectacular place that we've been too in terms of location (set between the ocean and the rocks), the quality of service and ameneties. Rooms are impressive and decorated with great taste. You even have your own private infinity pool on your balcony... it is simply WOW! Once you enter the tunnel carved into the rocks (it has taken 3 years to build it), you know that you are off to the most incredible experience, something very unique and special. We highly recommend the place, for business travel (conference) as well as a relaxing vacation travel. You cannot go wrong. We've also been to the "One and Only" resort in Los Cabos, which is much more expensive and offers much less value than the Capella Pedregal. Staff is genuinely frendly and don't hesitate to go out of their way to make you satisfied and to make your stay memorable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AGIRARD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaManagement, General Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Dear Agirard,
Thank you for posting your wonderful review of our hotel. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the many amenities and services and that we were able to “WOW” you! Thank you for recommending us to your friends and readers on Trip Advisor.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Cabo.

Best regards,
John Volponi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Do you want a beautiful place to stay?
Do you want to be treated with a friendly smile and a helpful hand every step of the way?
Do you want the utmost in customer service?
Do you want those little extra touches, like a small bowl of handmade guacamole in your room waiting with 2 ice cold cervezas, after a long, hot day in the sun?
Do you want a room with a bathroom that will rival the nicest home you've seen?
Do you want food that rivals your favorite local 5-star restaurant?

If you do, combined with some of the world's most pleasing weather, then Capella Pedregal is for you!!
I have been all over Mexico, over the last 20 years, and I just regret that I have not been there until now. However, maybe it's best.....if I would have gone to Cabo first, and stayed at the Capella, I would likely not have bothered ever going anywhere else.

Downside?.....Only this.....it is not cheap! It definitely seems geared to adult couples. I couldn't imagine taking my kids and watching them eat 1/3 of a $24 Burger meal.
But, if you want to indulge, and treat yourself and spouse to that long deserved trip to paradise, I couldn't recommend a place better than this. If you are on a budget, maybe look elsewhere.
I believe it's worth it, but you will pay a premium. This is though, "You get what you pay for"!

The staff at Capella must be commended. I have never been treated with such respect and friendliness in all my life or in any other part of the world. They are hands down, the best, nicest, most customer service-oriented staff I've ever seen!

I also just can't say enough about the food. I am a foodie and just love the Capella.
(I have been to the Capella in Ixtapa as well, and also delivers superior tasty food)
They will accommodate any and all modifications to a dish with no resistance.
Each dish tastes better than the last and while breakfast is usually just breakfast, not at Capella. They will thrill your palate with breakfast concoctions you will thoroughly enjoy and soon not forget.

You know how you look up a hotel and see a pic of the room, and you get there and it doesn't live up to the pic? Not at Capella. The rooms are a great deal better than what the photos can possibly show you. Big bed with fireplace on the wall in front of you. A bathroom with double sinks and an open shower that makes you feel as though you just stepped into a spa serving only the elite of Hollywood.

Last but not least, I am an exerciser and I have been training with weights for over 30 yrs.
Most hotels/resorts have a gym that is a mere afterthought. Not Capella. Congratulations to the owner for believing in his staff members who told him he needed to make the gym something special and people would use it. I couldn't agree more. Not only did I enjoy my workouts more than normal, I have never seen so many people utilizing a gym on a vacation.
Great job!!

I just can't say enough about this resort. You may not go here for every trip, as many may need to save this for more of a special vacation. But, if you can swing it, you will not regret it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drkkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaManagement, General Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Dear drkkw,
I very much enjoyed reading your review and loved the way you highlighted so many of our services, but especially pleased with your comments about the staff. I have the privilege of working with some amazing individuals who are so proud of the hotel that they have created, so I am always so pleased when others recognize their sincere efforts.

Thank you as well for pointing out the features of our gym. Our Fitness team has made a special effort over the past year to increase and improve the equipment available for our guests to use, and were pleased to see that you appreciated their efforts.

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you back once again on a future trip to Cabo.

Best regards,
John Volponi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Searching for a quiet and relaxing vacation ... I tend to choke at some of the asking prices. Yet, this destination was worth every dollar/peso.

I'd characterize Capella Pedregal as being pure serenity. The weather is the starting point, augmented by the magnificent views. But, those are the natural elements of this location.

What the management and staff have done here is truly first-rate. They've developed an experience that is relaxing on all levels. Take, for example, the poolside experience. After all, that's a key aspect of a destination such as this. The staff are attentive without hovering. The pools are exquisite. The facilities are fresh and modern. And ... thee is a pleasant lack of music! It's peace.

The rooms are magnificent, each with a private plunge pool.

Restaurants are creative and offer fresh cuisine. But, it's also quite convenient to walk into town to dine on the economy.

This is a definite repeat for us. Adios Caribbean.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaManagement, General Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Dear Peter A,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful thoughts about your experience at Capella Pedregal. We so very much appreciate your positive comments and are pleased to learn that you enjoyed our relaxing and peaceful environment.

We look forward to welcoming you back on again for another relaxing holiday.

Best regards,
John Volponi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from a fabulous vacation at Capella Pedregal! Truly, it was the most relaxing place we've ever traveled to. The resort grounds are beautifully kept and manicured to a "T". Love how all the sand in the flower beds was meticulously raked in patterns. The infinity pools with comfortable pool loungers are wonderful to lay on all day and gaze out over the ocean and watch the whales jump out of the water! The restaurants and food are delicious! The rooms are beautifully appointed and the beds and linens were luxurious! We loved our giant soaker tub and rainfall shower! And our own private infinity pool....icing on the cake! With all of those first-class amenities what impressed us the most was the service! We were always greeted with a genuine warm welcome and no matter the request the answer was, "Of course!" Everyday as we lounged by the pool they would bring iced bottled waters with a can of Evian facial water spritzers! Later fruity popsicles were handed out. We ran out of sunscreen, no problem, they brought us some poolside! Then every afternoon around 4:00 we'd get back to our room and there would be delicious guacamole. We don't drink alcohol so instead of tequila that usually comes with the guacamole, they'd bring us hibiscus juice(who knew! It was fabulous!), watermelon and other tempting fruit juices.
We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and the resort had a beautiful private beach dinner for us. Can not begin to convey how wonderful it was! Thank you Shirley Hanks! Our server that night was Pedro. He was by far our favorite waiter of the week and that is saying a lot because they are all terrific!
The only bad thing I can say about our trip to Capella Pedregal was that it was too short! We should have stayed two weeks instead of just one! Next time we will!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank JBuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaManagement, General Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Dear JBuster,
Thank you for spending your 30th Anniversary with us at Capella Pedregal. We are so pleased that we were able to make this a special and memorable experience for you. It was a pleasure to share you wonderful comments about our gardens with our amazing gardening team! Thank you as well for your kind recognition of Shirley Hanks and Pedro!

Once again, congratulations and best wishes from all of us. We look forward to welcoming you back for your 31st!

Best regards,
John Volponi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
4.3 mi away
Esperanza - Auberge Resorts Collection
3.2 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,090 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
#1 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
385 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#18 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Pedregal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Pedregal

Address: Camino Del Mar 1, Cabo San Lucas 23455, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $966 - $1,613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Resort at Pedregal 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your journey begins as you emerge from Dos mares Tunnel, carved through a solid mountain, to discover paradise. The Resort at Pedregal welcomes you with familial Mexican charm. The check-in desk, located below the azure blue sky, illustrates the endless possibilities. 96 rooms and suites, each with a private plunge pool with stunning ocean views, personal assistant service, fireplace, LCD television, iPod docking station and complimentary wireless internet, and complimentary refreshments allow you to rehydrate and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Resort at Pedregal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capella Pedregal Hotel Cabo San Lucas
The Resort At Pedregal Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing