We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely spectacular! You will be wowed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Resort at Pedregal
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Absolutely spectacular! You will be wowed!”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

This hotel is the most spectacular place that we've been too in terms of location (set between the ocean and the rocks), the quality of service and ameneties. Rooms are impressive and decorated with great taste. You even have your own private infinity pool on your balcony... it is simply WOW! Once you enter the tunnel carved into the rocks (it has taken 3 years to build it), you know that you are off to the most incredible experience, something very unique and special. We highly recommend the place, for business travel (conference) as well as a relaxing vacation travel. You cannot go wrong. We've also been to the "One and Only" resort in Los Cabos, which is much more expensive and offers much less value than the Capella Pedregal. Staff is genuinely frendly and don't hesitate to go out of their way to make you satisfied and to make your stay memorable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AGIRARD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaManagement, General Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Agirard,
Thank you for posting your wonderful review of our hotel. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the many amenities and services and that we were able to “WOW” you! Thank you for recommending us to your friends and readers on Trip Advisor.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Cabo.

Best regards,
John Volponi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,543
    111
    39
    11
    17
See reviews for
264
1,118
22
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Do you want a beautiful place to stay?
Do you want to be treated with a friendly smile and a helpful hand every step of the way?
Do you want the utmost in customer service?
Do you want those little extra touches, like a small bowl of handmade guacamole in your room waiting with 2 ice cold cervezas, after a long, hot day in the sun?
Do you want a room with a bathroom that will rival the nicest home you've seen?
Do you want food that rivals your favorite local 5-star restaurant?

If you do, combined with some of the world's most pleasing weather, then Capella Pedregal is for you!!
I have been all over Mexico, over the last 20 years, and I just regret that I have not been there until now. However, maybe it's best.....if I would have gone to Cabo first, and stayed at the Capella, I would likely not have bothered ever going anywhere else.

Downside?.....Only this.....it is not cheap! It definitely seems geared to adult couples. I couldn't imagine taking my kids and watching them eat 1/3 of a $24 Burger meal.
But, if you want to indulge, and treat yourself and spouse to that long deserved trip to paradise, I couldn't recommend a place better than this. If you are on a budget, maybe look elsewhere.
I believe it's worth it, but you will pay a premium. This is though, "You get what you pay for"!

The staff at Capella must be commended. I have never been treated with such respect and friendliness in all my life or in any other part of the world. They are hands down, the best, nicest, most customer service-oriented staff I've ever seen!

I also just can't say enough about the food. I am a foodie and just love the Capella.
(I have been to the Capella in Ixtapa as well, and also delivers superior tasty food)
They will accommodate any and all modifications to a dish with no resistance.
Each dish tastes better than the last and while breakfast is usually just breakfast, not at Capella. They will thrill your palate with breakfast concoctions you will thoroughly enjoy and soon not forget.

You know how you look up a hotel and see a pic of the room, and you get there and it doesn't live up to the pic? Not at Capella. The rooms are a great deal better than what the photos can possibly show you. Big bed with fireplace on the wall in front of you. A bathroom with double sinks and an open shower that makes you feel as though you just stepped into a spa serving only the elite of Hollywood.

Last but not least, I am an exerciser and I have been training with weights for over 30 yrs.
Most hotels/resorts have a gym that is a mere afterthought. Not Capella. Congratulations to the owner for believing in his staff members who told him he needed to make the gym something special and people would use it. I couldn't agree more. Not only did I enjoy my workouts more than normal, I have never seen so many people utilizing a gym on a vacation.
Great job!!

I just can't say enough about this resort. You may not go here for every trip, as many may need to save this for more of a special vacation. But, if you can swing it, you will not regret it!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drkkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaManagement, General Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear drkkw,
I very much enjoyed reading your review and loved the way you highlighted so many of our services, but especially pleased with your comments about the staff. I have the privilege of working with some amazing individuals who are so proud of the hotel that they have created, so I am always so pleased when others recognize their sincere efforts.

Thank you as well for pointing out the features of our gym. Our Fitness team has made a special effort over the past year to increase and improve the equipment available for our guests to use, and were pleased to see that you appreciated their efforts.

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you back once again on a future trip to Cabo.

Best regards,
John Volponi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Searching for a quiet and relaxing vacation ... I tend to choke at some of the asking prices. Yet, this destination was worth every dollar/peso.

I'd characterize Capella Pedregal as being pure serenity. The weather is the starting point, augmented by the magnificent views. But, those are the natural elements of this location.

What the management and staff have done here is truly first-rate. They've developed an experience that is relaxing on all levels. Take, for example, the poolside experience. After all, that's a key aspect of a destination such as this. The staff are attentive without hovering. The pools are exquisite. The facilities are fresh and modern. And ... thee is a pleasant lack of music! It's peace.

The rooms are magnificent, each with a private plunge pool.

Restaurants are creative and offer fresh cuisine. But, it's also quite convenient to walk into town to dine on the economy.

This is a definite repeat for us. Adios Caribbean.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaManagement, General Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Peter A,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful thoughts about your experience at Capella Pedregal. We so very much appreciate your positive comments and are pleased to learn that you enjoyed our relaxing and peaceful environment.

We look forward to welcoming you back on again for another relaxing holiday.

Best regards,
John Volponi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from a fabulous vacation at Capella Pedregal! Truly, it was the most relaxing place we've ever traveled to. The resort grounds are beautifully kept and manicured to a "T". Love how all the sand in the flower beds was meticulously raked in patterns. The infinity pools with comfortable pool loungers are wonderful to lay on all day and gaze out over the ocean and watch the whales jump out of the water! The restaurants and food are delicious! The rooms are beautifully appointed and the beds and linens were luxurious! We loved our giant soaker tub and rainfall shower! And our own private infinity pool....icing on the cake! With all of those first-class amenities what impressed us the most was the service! We were always greeted with a genuine warm welcome and no matter the request the answer was, "Of course!" Everyday as we lounged by the pool they would bring iced bottled waters with a can of Evian facial water spritzers! Later fruity popsicles were handed out. We ran out of sunscreen, no problem, they brought us some poolside! Then every afternoon around 4:00 we'd get back to our room and there would be delicious guacamole. We don't drink alcohol so instead of tequila that usually comes with the guacamole, they'd bring us hibiscus juice(who knew! It was fabulous!), watermelon and other tempting fruit juices.
We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and the resort had a beautiful private beach dinner for us. Can not begin to convey how wonderful it was! Thank you Shirley Hanks! Our server that night was Pedro. He was by far our favorite waiter of the week and that is saying a lot because they are all terrific!
The only bad thing I can say about our trip to Capella Pedregal was that it was too short! We should have stayed two weeks instead of just one! Next time we will!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JBuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaManagement, General Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear JBuster,
Thank you for spending your 30th Anniversary with us at Capella Pedregal. We are so pleased that we were able to make this a special and memorable experience for you. It was a pleasure to share you wonderful comments about our gardens with our amazing gardening team! Thank you as well for your kind recognition of Shirley Hanks and Pedro!

Once again, congratulations and best wishes from all of us. We look forward to welcoming you back for your 31st!

Best regards,
John Volponi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This was one of the most luxurious hotel experiences we have ever had. From the moment you drive through the tunnel and emerge on the other side, you enter a vacation like no other! Book your vacation using your platinum Am Ex card to get the HUGE breakfast included every day. We had a late breakfast and no lunch; just went out to dinner every night. Don Manuel's was our favorite restaurant in Cabo! Sit by the adult pool and bar- magnificent views and whale watching. They bring frozen mango pops, a shot glass of Margherita, frozen banana pieces covered in chocolate, and many more delicious treats delivered free to your lounge chair! We were assigned a personal assistant, Daniella, when we arrived and she was amazing! Great dinner suggestions and made all our reservations for us. The beach at the hotel is beautiful, but they do not advise swimming- too much under tow. We walked on the beach every day- especially at sunset! I didn't want to leave. Everyone who works at the hotel went out of their way to be helpful and friendly-!

Room Tip: The MOST comfortable bed and pillows ever! We had a 2 bedroom ocean view suite that was amazing! I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaManagement, General Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Deborah C
Thank you for sharing your wonderful review and comments. I was so pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit and that our Personal Assistant, Daniela was so helpful to you during your visit. Glad that you enjoyed our special poolside surprises as well!

Thank you for your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Cabo.

Best regards,
John Volponi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We had an amazing week at Capella Pedregal. It started as our van delivered us through the tunnel to the lovely open "lobby" where we were handed delicious margaritas. Our well appointed rooms had lovely views, each with its own plunge pool and the staff were extremely helpful and courteous. The location makes it easy to walk into town to take advantage of all the restaurants and activities but the security and tunnel give great privacy for the resort. The breakfast buffet at Don Manuels offered a wide assortment of high quality choices each day. Dinner at El Farralon, their beautiful restaurant cut into the cliff was excellent. I highly recommend eating there. We used their lovely spa and enjoyed the facilities in addition to the treatments we received. The chairs at the pool were reserved early (in the annoying way that many resorts allow where people put a book down, but don't use the chair until hours later), but we never had trouble getting a chair on the beach which had a nice breeze, umbrellas (if desired) and a front row seat for viewing dolphins, whales and manta rays swimming by. It's a lovely place and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms seem great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FondofTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaManagement, General Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Fond of Travel
Thank you for your wonderful and descriptive review of Capella Pedregal. We so appreciate your sharing all of your highlights and recommendations.

I apologize about the inconvenience with the pool chairs. We are working with our staff to better monitor these situations, and they will helpfully store items left on chairs that are left unused. We have added a number of additional chairs to our pool areas in an effort to have plenty of availability, and as you have pointed out, our beach is also set with chairs and its own staff of servers to take care of our guests who want a front row seat of the spectacular view.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on many future occasions.

Best regards,
John Volponi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

What can I say, this place is worth it's weight in gold. It is everything my travel agent promised. The rooms are huge, beautifully appointed, and the staff beyond reproach. Food is terrific as well, and you are walking distance from town so you can easily walk to change things up (but why bother). View are breathtaking! Cabo is the place to be - once you visit, you will fall in love forever!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaManagement, General Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Linda H
Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel as well as the recommendation of Cabo being “the place to be”!

We are so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your visit and obviously fell in love with the location and the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back once again in the very near future.

Best regards,
John Volponi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
4.2 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,189 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#7 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
847 reviews
1.1 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,572 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
15.6 mi away
One & Only Palmilla
One & Only Palmilla
#3 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Pedregal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Pedregal

Property: The Resort at Pedregal
Address: Camino Del Mar 1, Cabo San Lucas 23455, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Resort at Pedregal 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your journey begins as you emerge from Dos mares Tunnel, carved through a solid mountain, to discover paradise. The Resort at Pedregal welcomes you with familial Mexican charm. The check-in desk, located below the azure blue sky, illustrates the endless possibilities. 96 rooms and suites, each with a private plunge pool with stunning ocean views, personal assistant service, fireplace, LCD television, iPod docking station and complimentary wireless internet, and complimentary refreshments allow you to rehydrate and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Resort at Pedregal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capella Pedregal Hotel Cabo San Lucas
The Resort At Pedregal Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing