We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food and drink prices. Yikes!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Resort at Pedregal
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

All of the other raving reviews of this hotel are are correct, it is fantastic. Location, service, architecture, rooms, plunge pool, awesome. The thing that seemed out of balance was that the meals and drink prices where the same as a hotel in NYC. Corona $6, mixed drinks start at $12 and go up depending on choice of liquor. Meals averaged $25 per. First breakfast for two was $80. Also, 15% gratuity is added automatically. I struggled with this in my mind, because I know it is a high end resort, and you get what you pay for, but it was really hard to relax and not think about the cost. We will most likely go high-end All-inclusive for our next trip

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaManagement, General Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Bill C
Thank you for your review and for pointing out the positives of your experience including the service, location, and pools. It is true, that like at most resorts, there is a 15% service charge that is added to the cost of items and this is distributed to the staff. This notations is made on reservation confirmation as well as being printed on our menus. Additionally, while we have a wide variety of Mexican wines and spirits that are available and are less expensive, many guests request wines and spirits that have to be imported into Mexico, and unfortunately, our pricing reflects that additional cost of importing these items.

Thank you once again for your visit.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,773)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,032 - 1,038 of 1,773 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

Beautiful facility.Delicious food.Tasty beverages.Noisy room.Service very nice but not 5 star.Despite being a guest could not get reservations at desired times.This all I have to add either take it or forget it.XXXXXXXX

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oscardog9683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaManagement, General Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear oscardog 9683
Thank you for your recent visit to Capella Pedregal and for sharing your thoughts in your review. I was pleased to note your positive comments, but have also taken note of your concerns regarding a noisy room and dining reservations. I do not know if you expressed your concern about a noisy room during your visit, as I am I sure that we could have provided you with an alternative option.

Regarding dinner reservations, we do give priority to our in house guests, however, we do have to spread out our reservations to allow the restaurant staff and kitchen the opportunity to provide the best experience to all dinners. Overloading the restaurant at any one particular hour only leads to over crowding and a less than perfect experience for our guests.

Thank you once again for your visit. We do hope that we will be able to welcome you back once again during a future visit to Cabo.

Regards,
John Volponi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Capella for a long weekend. We rented a car at the airport and drove to Cabo San Lucas. After finding the gatehouse off a road on the west side of the marina, we entered the property through an ornate 30 foot high gate. Beyond the gate was a 100 yard long tunnel lit with chandeliers that opened up to the entry circle of Capella Pedregal. We handed over the car keys, were met with ice cold Margaritas and were introduced to our personal assistant. While our bags were being taken up to our room we were shown around the property, world renowned spa, a library, three world class restaurants, all with ocean views, a completely appointed fitness center, and three large pools with two of them being infinity pools looking out over the Pacific Ocean. One of the infinity pools was an adults only pool with a swim up bar.

We were then shown our room and I knew I had left the outside world behind. A large handmade wood door opened up to the entryway where a bottle of 7 Leguas Reposado tequila, a bucket of ice cold beer, guacamole, chips and nuts awaited. Beyond the entry was a spectacular full ocean view from anywhere in the room, a private plunge pool on the large terrace overlooking one of the infinity pools and the ocean, complete with custom made furnishings, overstuffed sitting chairs and luxury amenities from the bed and bedding down to the hand soap. The bath had a rainfall walk in shower and a separate huge tub, complete with all amenities from the spa. An espresso machine, HDTV, fireplace, DVD and mp3 player, and a refrigerator stocked and daily restocked with juices, waters, sodas, and cream for the coffee and expresso. The beer, chips, nuts and guacamole was also replenished each afternoon.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and everything was beyond our expectations. I could go on about the incredible food, impeccable service and doting staff, but I will just say, we will come back to Capella!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms here, they all have a private plunge pool and full ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaManagement, General Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear meberryman
Thank you for choosing Capella Pedregal for your recent visit to Cabo San Lucas, and thank you for posting such a wonderful and detailed review. I think you have included just about every aspect of the Capella experience! Thank you for sharing this with our Trip Advisor readers.

All of us here at Capella look forward to welcoming you back to your new home at the “end of the tunnel”.

Best regards,

John Volponi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and it was by far the best hotel we've ever stayed at. The staff were attentive, the rooms were beautiful, the breakfast mouthwatering and the view spectacular. There wasn't a single thing we didn't like about this place.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellyllekelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaManagement, General Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Kellyllekelly,

Thank you for your wonderful review and for choosing to come all the way from Australia to celebrate your honeymoon. I was so pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit.

Congratulations and very best wishes from all of us here at Capella Pedregal. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future trip.

Best regards,
John Volponi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Staff very friendly, helpful, went out of their way to make you feel special. The location...stunning. Built into rock. Going thru the entry tunnel lets you know you are entering somewhere special. No regrets. Five star all the way.

Room Tip: Some rooms are closer to the water and you can hear the surf crash onto the beach from your bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tgbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaManagement, General Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear tgbiz,
Thank you for your fabulous review especially for your kind recognition of the staff. I am so proud to be able to work with this amazing team and am so pleased when others recognize their tremendous efforts in taking care of our guests.

Thank you for your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back on many future occasions.

Best regards,
John Volponi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

All I can think of is how I can't wait to go back!!! I went for a week long get away with my cousin ( girls gone Cabo) . We where taken care of from the moment we arrived at the airport until we left through security on the way home.This Hotel is in a class of it's own. I do a lot of high end traveling and am fortunate to be able to stay in some amazing hotels. So with that said if you are looking to be treated like royalty yet in a casual elegant atmosphere this is the place to stay. The food is great and the employees are outstanding and friendly . You never feel as if you are bothering them with any request big or small. The plunge pool is clean and fun. The spa treatments are a must. I wanted to see if any of the other TOP Hotel spas would be fun so we took a tour of a couple on our day out sightseeing, I will not name them but they are in the same class as Capella and they did not impress me enough to leave Capella so we did 2 days at Capella Spa! We arranged to go to one of the private cooking classes they offer and It was so fun and the food was yummy. This was like being in a friends kitchen and you are the special quest. When I go back I will be doing it again for sure. The daily drinks and guacamole in the room was nice and so is the stocked FREE mini frig. The housekeeping ,staff, etc did not miss a beat they are nice friendly people that make you feel comfortable and welcome. My option is this is the best place to stay! I picked it because of the rating on trip advisory and went for it. I'm so happy I did and it exceeded my expectations. Do yourself a favor and stay here you will be glad you did. PS call ahead and try to stay close up front by the main pools this makes for easy access to everything!!! Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaManagement, General Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Maria A
Thank you for your wonderful and detailed review. I was so pleased to see that you and your cousin thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and the spa. Thank you for joining one of our cooking classes held in our special hacienda style kitchen, Su Cocina. Your description of it as “being in a friends kitchen” is exactly how we hoped you would feel.

We hope to be able to welcome you and your cousin back for another “girls gone Cabo” adventure in the near future.

Best regards,
John Volponi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We loved our stay here at Capella. We were there early June and the weather was perfect, the staff was wonderful, and our room, we couldn't get enough. In fact we also fell in love with the headboard that was topping our bed. It was made of mango root and was a natural wood knotted headboard that took our breath away. We have just moved into a new home and were hoping we could find a headboard that matched the one from our room. Can you give us assistance in locating the company who made/designed the headboard piece?

Room Tip: There are rooms for every taste. You should definitely speak out about what you are looking for in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lcmcintyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaManagement, Owner at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Oasis,
Thank you for your visit to Capella this past June and for your wonderful review of our hotel. I am so happy to learn that you enjoyed the hotel and the ambiance.

The headboard is truly a unique piece crafted by artisans here in Mexico. (There are also headboards made of hand tooled leather in other rooms) If you would like to send me an email, I would be happy to connect you with the designer. My email is john.volponi@capellahotels.com

We look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit.

Best regards,

John Volponi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
4.3 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#3 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,234 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#7 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
952 reviews
1.1 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
15.6 mi away
One & Only Palmilla
One & Only Palmilla
#3 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
651 reviews
11.6 mi away
Las Ventanas al Paraiso, A Rosewood Resort
Las Ventanas al Paraiso, A Rosew...
#2 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Pedregal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Pedregal

Address: Camino Del Mar 1, Cabo San Lucas 23455, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $738 - $2,241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Resort at Pedregal 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your journey begins as you emerge from Dos mares Tunnel, carved through a solid mountain, to discover paradise. The Resort at Pedregal welcomes you with familial Mexican charm. The check-in desk, located below the azure blue sky, illustrates the endless possibilities. 96 rooms and suites, each with a private plunge pool with stunning ocean views, personal assistant service, fireplace, LCD television, iPod docking station and complimentary wireless internet, and complimentary refreshments allow you to rehydrate and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Resort at Pedregal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capella Pedregal Hotel Cabo San Lucas
The Resort At Pedregal Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing