We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Hotel good, Cabo not so much.....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Resort at Pedregal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Resort at Pedregal
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hotel good, Cabo not so much.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We have just got back from 9 nights at the Capella and would like to offer up some of the negative and positives to this resort.

Negatives
1. Arrived on the first night to a room on the first floor, this was quite dark however it did have a view of the ocean as most rooms do. As we were staying there for quite a few days we called that same evening to ask to change rooms to a higher floor, we were told this was not possible and they would look into it in the morning to see what they could do. Unfortunately we still hadn't heard anything by lunchtime so we made a call to reception and to our surprise no-one seemed to be aware that we had requested a room on a higher floor. After explaining this again we then left it with the staff and explained that we would be spending the day around the pool and therefore they could find us there to update us on our request to move rooms. Thankfully this was sorted, the room was much brighter and was on the 3rd floor.
2. Restaurants - There are only 2 choices for an evening meal, Don Manuel’s was OK we had 2 meals here didn’t particularly enjoy either. El Farollon- (seafood) Great setting I had the shrimp one night it was quite bland just grilled no marinade or spices added something I would cook at home. I also had the sea bass on another night this again was quite bland.
3.Hotel is good but when compared to a luxury chain like the Four Seasons it doesn’t stack up.
4. Complementary cold drinks are provided in the room and can be changed for drinks you actually like (so we were told) i.e. instead of mango juice you could have orange juice, we called 3 times to get this changed but it did not happen so gave up and walked to the shop which is close by to get some.
5. We asked for the light bulb in our pool to be changed, as it was out on one side again this did not happen so in the end we just put up with it.
6. Complimentary Corona in the evening- some nights it had been delivered other nights it hadn't.
7. Gym- Had no showers so had to go up to the room each time before heading to the pool to enjoy the rest of the day
8. No steam/sauna room to enjoy unless you book a spa treatment, not what I would expect from a 5 star hotel
9. Everything in the resort seems to close down at 11.00 pm– no real atmosphere,
10. We headed into Cabo having experienced the restaurant options at the Capella and we were really shocked by the overall vibe of the place. Restaurants were downmarket "shacks" absolutely no good quality restaurants in Cabo. The hotel recommended an Italian restaurant – It was an awful shabby setting and extremely casual, if you like eating your evening meal unwashed in shorts this is the place for you. The marina itself is full of adults/kids trying to sell various "tat" and is surrounded by shacks definitely not like any marina I have been too.
Positives
1. Staff are friendly and the service is very good around the pool area
2. Hotel is in a great position right on the coast and has a great view of the ocean when relaxing in the pool
3. It is worth going for a couple of days to experience the resort but would not recommend for longer periods than this it gets to repetitive
4. Spa was outstanding we had a fantastic massage very good quality
5. Breakfast was very good, however we often had to wait 10/15 minutes as there wasn’t enough tables
6. Manicure and Pedicure very good standard
Overall I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a short break and don't mind being confined to the hotel as Cabo is not up to the same standard as the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank TravellerGirl031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,357
    99
    32
    11
    17
See reviews for
216
999
18
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We spent the Thanksgiving holiday at Capella Pedregal .This resort is rather small and delightfully quieter than a huge facility.The staff was terrific and the 4 bedroom casita was charming.We have two small grandchildren and the plunge pool at our casita was perfect for them to use all day long.There is a nice big children's pool also.The restaurants at the facility were all very good and again the staff was great,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

My family and I visited Capella during the thanksgiving holiday. We had a 4 bedroom villa with private butler. Our butler Marco was sensational. We we to Walmart stocked up on food, meat seafood, vegetables. Marco prepared lunch for us daily to our desire. We went fishing one day, caught a 40 pound dorado, Mahi Maui Marco prepared it wonderfully as well as prepared it some could cook it for dinner if we desired. if you get a villa ask for Marco, a wonderful man with a great personality.

The resort is beautiful just on the edge of town. So if you can and enjoy walking there are many places to walk to to eat shop and drink. If our want to get around to medrano beach, the busy beach, where the office is located as well as the activities like jet skiing parasailing, you will need to take a cab. About 12 US dollars. The resort has two dinner restaurants, both expensive. We ate at don Manuel's, food was average. We went into town a few nights for dinner, if your looking for gourmet food, cabo is not the place. If your re traveling with children keep in mind the surf is very rough and not swimable, the wave crash right on shore and the hotel has full time help watching to make sure no one gets into trouble. Our 8 and 10 year olds could could not play the ocean.

If I was to chose Capella again I would do it as an adult trip and I feel this resort is not the best for kids , they do have a kids club but with the lack of beach access the resort is limiting.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank love69totravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsbluff, Nebraska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was our second visit to the resort and we can't wait to return in Febuary to watch the whales! We have nothing negative to say, however, we ventured off the resort to dine often for more variety. The food on the resort is certainly five star, but there is a price to pay for that quality and service. Use the sommelier named Hernesto for the wine tasting as his knowledge of Mexican wine was informative and fun. We ended up buying several impressive bottles. The other staff was inviting and informative as well. We wouldn't do it any other way now that we have had the Capella experience.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Capella in Cabo San Lucas is incredible. The staff are excellent and all so friendly. Loved the tequila in the room and sundowner each evening delivered to your room. The details are very well thought out. We spend 4 nights here for our honeymoon and wished we had booked at least 6 nights. It was great to be able to stroll into the town in the evening and eat out. I would highly recommend the Capella Pedregal!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathhauge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Capella Pegregal is an outstanding property with an amazing staff.
We went on a trip with our dear friends and had an awesome adventure from the moment we arrived. I can't stress enough how welcoming all the staff members are and how wonderful the service is! You must see and experience for yourselves! Beautiful people, beautiful resort
We will be back!
Mary, TIm, Jim, Linda, Larry, Michelle

Room Tip: Stayed in the Presidential Suite! Awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbc619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Missippippi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Capella was amazing. The staff was excellent and attended to our every need. They will provide transportation to and from the airport which we took advantage of($140 each way). Also, we purchased the VIP tickets on the return trip which sped us through customs and to the VIP Lounge. That is a must. The property and views are beautiful. We were able to walk to town and to the marina. We will return and stay there again. Loved it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
4.0 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#4 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#3 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
0.9 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#17 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Pedregal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Pedregal

Property: The Resort at Pedregal
Address: Camino Del Mar 1, Cabo San Lucas 23455, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Resort at Pedregal 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your journey begins as you emerge from Dos mares Tunnel, carved through a solid mountain, to discover paradise. The Resort at Pedregal welcomes you with familial Mexican charm. The check-in desk, located below the azure blue sky, illustrates the endless possibilities. 96 rooms and suites, each with a private plunge pool with stunning ocean views, personal assistant service, fireplace, LCD television, iPod docking station and complimentary wireless internet, and complimentary refreshments allow you to rehydrate and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Resort at Pedregal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capella Pedregal Hotel Cabo San Lucas
The Resort At Pedregal Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing