We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you could ask for...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Resort at Pedregal
Ranked #2 of 73 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2011

Just returned from a trip to Capella at the end of March. The room, food, spa, fitness center, location, grounds, etc. were exceptional. Service is especially important to us, and we could not have asked for better. Each employee was so kind and genuine. We truly felt pampered. The only other resort in Cabo where we have stayed is Las Ventanas... which was wonderful as well. They are very comparable. Capella is different in that the location is within walking distance to town and the marina, yet it feels remote when you're on the property. This allows you to explore more (fishing, dining, etc.) if you desire.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tamiakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,840)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,647 - 1,653 of 1,840 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2011

I could almost end my review right now, with those two words. We had not been to Cabo in 7 years, and were well aware of all of the luxury properties that have recently cropped up. Our criterion was not just a relaxing, luxury vacation, but also to have the opportunity to enjoy our favorite spots in the town during our stay. As we had not visited the property before, we could only rely on the good word of all of the great Trip Advisor members, who ranked this hotel #1! That said, we generally don’t pick #1. Not everyone has the same goals as us, whether it is access (or not) to towns, room type, amenities, packages, etc. We were looking for a 5 star experience, and also a private pool. We were hoping for good food, and good service, but those were pretty much our goals.

From the moment we arrived at the hotel, via private car service arranged by the Capella Pedegral, our experience was OUTSTANDING. Each and every moment - outstanding. We were greeted by the manager upon arrival, and then shown to our room, which was 100% luxury. We were in Room 25, literally on the ocean. I could LIVE in the bathroom, but instead I lived in each square inch of beautifully appointed space. We had TWO outdoor areas – one beautiful entry with a dining area and a stunning fire pit. Our second area was of course, the prime real estate – our private pool right over the ocean.

By far we had one of the most private balconies, with a view to die for. Each day, we had an amazing display of Whales out front, and even saw a school of porpoises, seals, and plenty of fish. That alone, was spectacular.

But what was even more incredible is that the food, the staff, and the expert management of this property made us never want to go home! I cannot say that I have ever had this experience, in any hotel I have ever stayed, the world over. Peter, the General Manager, has created a world where the guests are treated like royalty, and the staff like treasured family members. I have never seen such a group of happy, consienscious, talented people. Each and every staff member went out of their way to make our experience spectacular. Again, I have never had this experience anywhere. Thank you to everyone at the Capella!

Regarding the food. We generally like to go eat at our favorite places in town, and eat at the hotel just occasionally. After dining JUST ONCE at Don Manuel’s, our strategy was turned on it’s head! We ended up eating 90% of our meals at Don Manuel’s. We have never seen such a wonderful, diverse, and expertly executed menu as Don Manuel’s. The Executive Chef and Assistant Chef are truly MASTERS. Eat nowhere else and you will not be sorry!

The hotel itself has around 65 units, which in Cabo is a real luxury. We never felt crowded, and it was a very peaceful experience. This was a couple’s trip – and we discovered that the rooms with private pools do not allow children (for safety reasons) so it was never noisy. They do have special arrangements for families, and we did see a few families who very much enjoyed their stay.

We are thinking of returning to the Capella Pedegral later this year, and can say without hesitation that we would not stay ANYWHERE else in Cabo. The Capella Pedegral was simply the most relaxing, peaceful, and enjoyable experience we have had in a decade! I thank the entire staff of the Capella Pedegral, and most especially the General Manager, who has created Paradise for each and every guest.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the Capella Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SJCSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

My wife and I are Mexicans and we had the opportunity to experience Capella Pedregal one whole weekend this March 2011 and I can say that from the moment you cross that tunnel, you enter into a new exclusive and gorgeous place. The service since the very moment you step out the cab is wonderfull - every single employee makes you feel special - with a personalized treat. The view is amazing from the main lobby, from the pool, from the beach, from our room and from the "El Farallon" restaurant. The food is delicious in both restaurants; the "El Farallon " restaurant -besides the view- has a great seafood kitchen, but don't miss the "Don Manuel" restaurant's Bacalao... wow!!!

Decoration and amenities are different from any other hotel in Cabo - actually we received cold beer, chips and guacamole at our room, and refreshing drinks at the main pool. We also had a tequila class which is a great experience in which we learned about tequila and the different production processes. We received our spa session at the same time in a private 2-bed room with very professional personnel and has been the best spa session I have ever had - I mean it!

Anyway, Capella Pedregal offers a unique experience hard to find anywhere else, and I would return without hesitating a second!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Héctor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

From the moment we arrived, we were greeted with warmth and attention, making us feel immediately welcome. The setting is picturesque, with a gentle breeze to offset the heat, and a comfortable setting that was professional without being stuffy.
The rooms were spacious and luxurious; with complimentary goodies in the the mini-bar. We had a breathtaking view from our patio, the perfect spot to enjoy a wonderful breakfast in our room. But, don't miss the restaurants, where the food is fabulous and the setting at
El Farallon is picture-perfect, even when a mist from the sea gently sprays you.
Staff was helpful and friendly and it was hard to focus on work in this slice of paradise. Definitely need to return for a longer holiday!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobalGal2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

This hotel is close to perfect for adults. It's very quiet and just gorgeous. The only drawback is because of its location built into the cliffside, you cannot walk to town in Cabo like you can at other places. You have to take a cab. Otherwise, wow.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mahogany_Joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

We booked an oceanfront vista room for a five night stay In March and from arrival to departure really was amazed at the beauty of the property, the exceptional service by all staff, and the unique location (through the tunnel) to Cabo San Lucas.
~Room. This was clearly not the least expensive room but its major advantage was location on the top floor so that filtered sun was on the terrace most of the day. Also the views were spectacular. The infinity pool was nice and if you don't like the temperature you can request it to be warmer which we did and it was perfect. The room itself is nice and almost half is taken up with the elaborate bath area. The best part though was the terrace...morning and night always a beautiful view. I really think any of the rooms would be fine even the minimum rate. Some might not have alot of privacy on the terrace. The Estrella suites on the corners seemed great for families or two couples and had immense terrace space.
~Service. I think the staff was one of the best trained I have ever encountered at any hotel. Our PA Germaine was very helpful in advance of our arrival and during our stay. There simply is nothing that they will not do to make your stay special. I never encountered any staff while walking around that did not smile and greet me inquiring how my day was going. You can take a golf cart to the entrance from where it is an easy walk to town and we never waited more than a couple minutes in either direction.
~Grounds and Pool. The hotel and grounds are maintained with exceptional care and I never even saw any sand that had not been racked perfectly. Walking around is so enjoyable and the vistas and vegetation are so beautiful...it is very exotic in typical desert motif. The main pool is kept at a very nice temperature and we enjoyed that every day. I would say at full occupancy the pool area seemed crowded...that is the chairs and it was difficult to find one. Not sure what they can do on that as most people do prefer the pool to the beach. No matter where you are ,they are there very promptly with ice water and Evian spray bottle. The bar seemed quite busy but we just prefer water when in the sun so can't speak to the drinks.
~Restaurants. Don Manuels is where we had breakfast every morning. Excellent buffet and as per the Capella service...they were there to carry your plates to the table, fold the napkin, pull the chair etc. If you like breakfast I strongly encourage you to choose a package that includes the breakfast as it is about $25.00 per person. The buffet had everything imaginable and quality of food very good. We ate in El Faralito our first night. It is a stunning setting and the speciality is fresh seafood. While good I would not rate my sea bass the best I have ever had but the experience was a good one all in all. In town recommendations would include DOC for Italian (you do get tired of seafood after awhile)...cute authentic place in quiet area of town by the square. Popular so have your PA make a reservation. Many people like La Dulce for Italian but we preferred DOC. Mocambo for seafood...not much These are all an easy walk from the Capella.
~Booking. We booked directly with Capella Res. and Lizeth was very helpful. I would recommend a package at least including breakfast and transfer (private in an Escalade) and if you book many months in advance check closer to arrival for better rates and package and they will change the booking to reflect the best rate. I did this and reduced our rate.
~Spa and Julien Farel Salon. I had two massages with Edith (thank you previous TA reviewer for recommending her) who was excellent. The spa is so peaceful and it was a very relaxing and enjoyable time. If you go early or after you can use the private pool and sunning area with the waterfall. We also visited the Julien Farel salon. Aidee is a very talented (trained by Julien of NYC) hair stylist who gave my daughter a beautiful haircut. The shops both in the spa and beside it are full of unique and beautiful objects..be sure to check them out.
~Summary. An elegant yet casual hotel with service to match. Probably more an adult oriented hotel but also very family friendly. We saw all ages there. Cabo has such beautiful weather and that ,combined with the Capella experience, make this a perfect holiday choice.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

My husband and went on a vacation 3/12-3/18 to Los Cabos. We decided to go with this hotel based on the reviews that we have seen. This is a much more expensive cost that we usually can afford but decided to sepnd the extra and just make it a good experience. The hotel is like other reviewers say. Stunning and well maintened with great location. The limited amount of rooms of 66 makes it more more private. Food offered is excellent. A bit on the pricy side but considering the view and set up is really not that crazy. Room is so wonderful that everytime we got in, we were amazed of how beautiful it is. Room had everything you need. Miss the daily snack of 2 beers & chips & salsa. It had all you need for toiletries.
We did not use the hotel transportation from the airport and used Gray line offered by Orbitz. Round trip at $39PP. They were very good and on time. Hotel is a walking distance to the marina and to town. We have great food at Maria corona (mexican food) and at Dolce (Italian).
The area felt very safe. We walked all over at different time of day and night and never felt nervous or unsafe. The beach is very nice although you can not swim in the ocean. Our room had infiniti pool. It was a bit cold to use it but was nice to have it. The only thing that we would recommend, is that hotel asks the guests not to hold chairs by the pools if they are not going to use them in an hour of so. People would put magazine on chairs and leave for most of the day.. Not there are shortage of chairs but some of the best in location were reserved for no reason. It is not the hotel's fault, but rather some people don't have manners.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sousoucat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
4.3 mi away
Esperanza - Auberge Resorts Collection
3.2 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#8 of 73 in Cabo San Lucas
1,153 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
#1 of 73 in Cabo San Lucas
399 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
8.4 mi away
Chileno Bay Resort & Residences
Chileno Bay Resort & Residences
#3 of 73 in Cabo San Lucas
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Pedregal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Pedregal

Address: Camino Del Mar 1, Cabo San Lucas 23455, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $939 - $1,771 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Resort at Pedregal 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your journey begins as you emerge from Dos mares Tunnel, carved through a solid mountain, to discover paradise. The Resort at Pedregal welcomes you with familial Mexican charm. The check-in desk, located below the azure blue sky, illustrates the endless possibilities. 96 rooms and suites, each with a private plunge pool with stunning ocean views, personal assistant service, fireplace, LCD television, iPod docking station and complimentary wireless internet, and complimentary refreshments allow you to rehydrate and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Resort at Pedregal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capella Pedregal Hotel Cabo San Lucas
The Resort At Pedregal Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing