We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Monte Cristo Estates” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito
Ranked #10 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Everett, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Monte Cristo Estates”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We have been owners at Monte Cristo Estates for years and go back every year November 1-16. We love the weather that time of year and have not been disappointed at all. Our concierge Edguardo was one of the best we have ever had he was on any issue we had and it was fixed immediately. Of course there are always fix issues in the unit, but all were taken care of pronto!! The views are fantastic and the sunsets.....beautiful. We always rent a car and that makes our stay better since we like to go to town for dinner alot....we always do breakfast and lunch in the villa and splurge on dinner, the kitchen is spacious and everything worked great. I recommend this to anyone wanting more privacy for the family and your own pool...nothing is better.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjryan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    85
    27
    12
    15
See reviews for
372
151
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling Heights, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

My family and I stayed in Villa #59 (Phase I) November 1-6, 2013. The villa is very spacious; we all had our own rooms with private bathroom and changing area. The Villa was extremely clean and well maintained. (Although we did not use the washer and dryer, it was nice to know it was available). The maid came daily, but when we were occupying the villa we did not request cleaning service. Extra towels were left but if you refuse maid service, they do not come back.
Room service is available for $5 delivery however, each time we received our food we gave the delivery person $5.00 plus tip. When we checked out, they wanted to charge for each delivery service. We explained that we paid every time the food was delivered. Apparently the delivery person thought it was a tip and we couldn't believe the staff contacted our delivery people and asked they return the $5.00. We read that there was a $5.00 delivery fee and we gladly paid it, upon delivery....not expecting to be charged for this service when checking out. Watch your charges carefully. Upon check in, charges for this service should have been explained. (A map to the property would have been nice too. We did not want to go on a time share presentation to find out where the spa, or exercise room was).

One week before our arrival, I received an email from our concierge Edgar. A deli list was attached which I filled out and returned. Unfortunately upon arrival, the items were not delivered as anticipated. The first phone call we made was to request the deli items. Several items were delivered, but the order was incomplete. Finally after a second call, all requested deli items were received.

The check in process was atrocious. The ride from the airport took 50 minutes. Check in: another 50 minutes. (Our transfer driver waited this entire time - air conditioning running since our luggage remained in the vehicle until we received the key to the villa. This required a more substantial tip). It was very hot and the waiting area was not air conditioned. No beverages were available. Once it was our turn to check in, we were seated at a desk, where the person assisting us was distracted by multiple interruptions which included, taking restaurant reservations, calling for shuttles, making change, consulting with co-workers, etc. This made the check in process even more tedious. Our offer (through Living Social) was an "all inclusive" deal. Once the check in process was completed, all members of our party were required to sign our names prior to application of plastic bracelets-indicating "all inclusive." Twice during our meals we were questioned about our "all inclusive status" asking us to show proof that we actually purchased it. This was upsetting since we were all wearing bracelets. Restaurant choices for meals included Cibola - but was restricted to certain days of the week, Rose, Bianco, & Sunset Beach. The food and drinks were all wonderful at all locations, as was the service.
Upon arrival to our villa, some rooms had air conditioning others did not. We had to call a few times to complain about the air conditioning problems. The infinity pool (at the villa) is fabulous, however it took 5 days of repeated complaints/requests to fix the pool heater. One day 3 workmen came, but the water remained cold. We were hoping to enjoy swimming at night but that was not possible. The whirlpool hot tub was great but only 3-4 people fit.
The view in Phase I is very nice, but the roads are all uphill so forget about taking a walk- the roads are too steep! You have to take a taxi, or shuttle (arrives in 15-30 minutes) when leaving the property. Once you are in your villa, there is nowhere else to go. Nothing is in walking distance. Phase II is newer and closer to the beach but you still can not walk to the beach (due to the narrow winding steep roads. If you like to take walks along the beach, you need to stay at either Rose', Blanco, or Sunset Beach (hotel rooms). Pacifica is beautiful, however children are not allowed.

Phase II requires golf carts as the main mode of transportation. Golf cart rides were certainly an adventure in and of itself! Again, the property is hilly and you can not walk along these paths for fear of getting hit by a golf cart. (It rained one day and unfortunately, you will get wet while being shuttled from one area to another on a golf cart. Not all golf carts had plastic enclosures available.

Beware at the airport because there are time share people everywhere. We did get roped into attending a time share presentation. Upon arrival at the Montecristo (after the long check in process, we were directed to "Rebekah" who also tried to get us to sign up for a time share presentation. When we declined she became extremely rude and pushy.

The weather was gorgeous and HOT- 88 degrees by day/70's in the evening.
As part of the time share shuffle...we received passes for a Sunset Cruse- via Sunset Escape. The crew was very entertaining. This was about a 2 1/2 hr cruise that included dinner, (fajita bar) but heads up - it was a "Booze Cruise." You can choose to participate or simply stay on the lower deck and enjoy the view. We could have also gone on a glass bottom boat tour but the boats were small and since we had a small child with us, we felt it was not very safe.

To recap: Pool heater was broken; deli request was not available as promised on arrival; air conditioning problems; Rude Salesperson; distracted staff (both during check in and check out); all inclusive proof was requested twice while trying to enjoy a relaxing dinner. Unprofessional check in/check out process. (I forgot to mention the name was incorrect on our reservation card upon arrival; when questioned whose names were on the reservation, they simply crossed out the incorrect names stating, "don't worry about it, it's fixed in the computer." We felt this original error contributed to the confusion over our "all inclusive" status).

When we complained to our concierge; Edgar was very apologetic. He credited our deli charges, but since we were considered "good customers" who purchased and paid for an "all inclusive" stay; Edgar could not offer us any other credit. We felt penalized for having paid for an all inclusive stay - and what we received was less than 5 star accommodations.

In retrospect, traveling as a family (2 couples, a single, and 1 child) - it made sense to have a villa. If traveling as a couple, I would recommend Rose', Sunset Beach, Pacifica, or Fiesta Americana NOT the Pueblo Bonito Montecristo.

Living Social offer for this trip was $5400 - 5 nights, 6 days "all inclusive." 50 % off.

I hope you found this review helpful.

Room Tip: Villa #59 is on a dead end street- the road is very steep and you have to be careful getting in and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

We are staying in villa 145 in Phase II for two weeks ending tomorrow. The view is breathtaking and unimpeded by looking down at nearby roads or other villas. Because of the location of villa 145 we have a bit of distance from the ones on either side. We look down on a hillside of magnificent cacti and other greenery. We have a beautiful view of the Pacific and can hear the waves crash on the beach. We are a short golf cart ride from Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach and when we call for a cart they are very quick. In the distance is the mountain with the lighthouse (Cabo Falso). There is also a beautiful cactus garden we can see down by the Pacifica resort.

Service by our maid Aida and personal concierge Jose have been top notch. Room service arrives in 30 minutes. Great pizza and Tres Leches cake. We have cooked most meals in the great kitchen (granite and stainless) and on the outdoor gas BBQ. A few lunches in town. Mesa Poblana is our top choice.

The infinity pool is spectacular and quite large for a private pool. The villa is well-maintained and any needed repairs done almost immediately.

Truly a beautiful time in villa 145!


Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed at Sunset Beach on many previous occasions , but last week was our first stay in a Montecristo Villa. The villa was wonderful. Among the amenities were a private pool, Jacuzzi, whirpool, and our own "Butler". Our butler, Gerado, created a wonderful experience. Questions, concerns, reservations, taxis, printing boarding passes... he took care of everything promptly and cheerfully. He was truly exceptional.
We have no regrets about passing on the "all inclusive" option as part of the fun in Cabo San Lucas is exploring its unique restaurants. In fact, the emphasis on all inclusive at Pueblo Bonito has turned into a negative. The clientele has an element that one didn't see in the past - open intoxicants and enibriation throughout the day. Too bad.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank WiTraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We spent a glorious week through an exchange at Montecristo in Cabo San Lucas the first week of October. The 2 floor villa at # 52, was very spacious and clean.

The only negative thing was when we checked in. There was a long queue and the process was very slow. Drinks were not offered to people in the lineup. Service was overall pretty bad in reception when checking in. The woman who checked us in did not provide any information about the property. She was kind of abrupt and not very forthcoming. We have had warmer and more effusive welcomes elsewhere.

I must mention however that when we checked out, the staff was very helpful and efficient. It was a totally different experience!

Our concierge, Edgardo was wonderful. He was very welcoming and helpful. From the first day, when we asked for help with the bbq grill, he had one brought over complete with gas within a short time. When we had problems with the internet cutting out and repairs were slow, Edgardo finally came and resolved it.

It was wonderful to have our own pool and jacuzzi and the maintenance people came daily to clean them.

We did have some safety concerns as mentioned by one of the reviewer recently about the sliding doors as they were sometimes a little difficult to lock. Anyone can just walk in and out by using the side staircase and up to the upper floor. You just have to be vigilant and not take things for granted. I always checked all doors at night and before going out.

Service at the spa was great. Staff were extremely friendly and courteous.

We would certainly return again.

Room Tip: Yes they do have a shuttle to bring you down to the various sister resorts but the wait can be aggra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canucks281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuebloBonitoResorts, General Manager at Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for your friendly comments and for reviewing us, looking forward to welcome you and your family anytime soon.

Sincerely,
Angelberto Tirado, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
126 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We spent a fabulous week in a beautiful and luxurious home at Montecristo, part of the Pueblo Bonito properties. We also had access to three other Pueblo Bonito properties in the area for restaurants, pools and the lovely beach at Pueblo Bonito Rosa on the Sea of Cortez. The home had everything we needed, including our own private infinity pool and jacuzzi. If we wanted to go to Sunset Beach or Pacifica, we were shuttled on a golf cart by a courteous driver. Shuttles ran to the two Pueblo Bonito properties on the beach in Cabo San Lucas. Our home had three bedrooms, all comfortable with lovely bathrooms. The service was amazing. We stayed in home 105 in Phase II. Our personal concierge, Jose stopped by every day to see if we needed anything and to make arrangements for us. The housekeeping was perfect. We enjoyed dinner one night at Pacifica and one night at Sunset, plus a beach buffet at PB Rosa, as the sun set. Delicious food with excellent service. I would give this a five star rating, except for the issues we had with water. We were originally put in one home and had to repack and move to another because there was no water running. We are easy-going people, so we made the change. We continued to have water pressure issues throughout the whole week. The maintenance people were extremely attentive and fixed things every time. We will happily return in the future. We had family with us and they had a great time, as well. We enjoyed exploring the area and had a car rented, so it was convenient for us to go out exploring. The weather was HOT in Sept., but we had air conditioning in the home and used the pool and/or the jacuzzi every day. Our housekeeper attended to details and left fresh flowers in the villa - and often had them floating in our infinity pool. Lovely touches. Tip: ask for Phase II when you book or arrive. They are newer and more convenient to visit the other properties.

Room Tip: Villa 105 is about perfect. In new Phase II. Ask for Phase II - they are newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APBowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We visited Pueblo Bonita at Sunset Beach as guests. Our friends had reserved 3 studios for the 3 couples; however, the property is so large, and rooms were not together we were offered Montecristo instead. This made for a very easy, relaxing and great time together. The home is big enough to comfortably house us without plenty of privacy. The concierge was wonderful. Our husbands surprised us with a beautiful candlelit dinner outdoors by the pool. The chef cooked a spectacular meal with the fish we had caught earlier in the day. The attention to detail is what makes Montecristo so special. Try it. You'll like it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClaireHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
5.1 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#3 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
2.2 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#7 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
1.7 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito

Property: Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito
Address: Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#7 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Montecristo Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing