We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito
Ranked #10 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We visited Pueblo Bonita at Sunset Beach as guests. Our friends had reserved 3 studios for the 3 couples; however, the property is so large, and rooms were not together we were offered Montecristo instead. This made for a very easy, relaxing and great time together. The home is big enough to comfortably house us without plenty of privacy. The concierge was wonderful. Our husbands surprised us with a beautiful candlelit dinner outdoors by the pool. The chef cooked a spectacular meal with the fish we had caught earlier in the day. The attention to detail is what makes Montecristo so special. Try it. You'll like it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClaireHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
There are newer reviews for Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

642 - 648 of 819 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed in villa 59 from September 8th to September 15th and everything was perfect. We loved the villa and enjoyed the infinity pool almost every night. The service and house keeping we're second to none. I have read complaints about waiting long times for the shuttle but can honestly say we never waited more than 10 minutes and usually only waited about 5.

We did take advantage of the all inclusive and thought it was a great deal. The service at all the restaurants was great and we really enjoyed Ramon and Lucion at Cibola. The property is kept up impeccably and the views are to do for. We are already booking our stay for next year.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuebloBonitoResorts, General Manager at Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Stephen B,

Thank you very much for writing such a nice review, and also for taking the time to review us. We feel very happy to hear that you had a wonderful time during your stay at Montecristo Estates.
Hope to welcome you anytime soon.

Best Regards,
Engelberto Tirado, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We Stay at Montecristo 43 in December and love it! Great for quality time with grandparents. We stay on the lower level with our 2 kids and the grandparents stay upstairs to have a little quiet time. We love Jose and Manuel on the shuttle to the lobby so much they make our trip every time. Aurturo at the Sunset lobby pool. The ladies at the sunset kids club are amazing and I never have any hesitation trusting my girls with them for the day! See you soon!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hkhaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our family of 10 had a 3 bedroom house at the Montecristo Estates and had a great time! The house was spacious enough that we had room to move around and the infinity pool was the winner. The view of the Pacific Ocean was really beautiful as the sun went down.

The staff was courteous and the housekeeper was great; she was very meticulous each day. I've seen other reviews that complained about the length of time for a golf cart to arrive, but we didn't experience long waits...and we had a large group.

The down side of the trip was that my husband contracted a parasite from drinking tap water to take a pill. We found out later that water was brought in and the purification process was a bit lacking. He was sick for 3+ weeks. Several others had stomach distress, but overall, we had a good trip.

Would definitely go again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lreneespeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Friends of ours were lucky enough to have a villa over looking the ocean! It had great views and sunsets. A place that can sleep several people and has everything! Full kitchen, private infinity edge pool and hot tub with full laundry and butler service! You seriously don't need to leave this place!! Awesome!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drrondc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Imagine looking out at the Pacific ocean while lounging in your warm infinity pool sipping a glass of vino or a Corona. Well this is it. I was amazed at the beauty of the villas we stayed in and the consistent nice people. We had a great time and enjoyed the restaurants and pools.
We also ate in town on three occasions. This is my 6th trip to Mexico and I liked it the best of all.
OK so some tips: As soon as you get off the plane you have to fill out some forms. United did not have them on the plane so you needed a pen and to grab some forms in the old terminal upon landing. It was easy going through customs. When you get out of the new terminal just grab a beer or some drinks right outside at the bar area. This is mexico so have some fun. We were a group of 9 so we hired a limo ahead of time since the hotel is 1.5 hours away. We had a hummer limo. Great and worth it. He was waiting right outside for us and took our luggage. DO NOT exchange money at the airport. No way. The bars and stores take US and credit cards. The local street vendors need pesos. Also, I did not bring enough singles, fives and tens US dollars. We paid the taxis in US dollars.
The best thing about the limo waiting is that they will stop at Walmart and you can get wine, food, toys, etc.
Get big 5 gallon water jugs as well as plastic bottles and we refilled them.
If you are in the upper villas you have to call for a van and wait. So think head or walk.
Now the beach is on the Pacific and you ain't swimming there or you will drown. There is a shuttle with "limited" psace to take you to the sister hotel on the beach 30 minutes away. If you miss it it will be 14$ US to go by taxi.You can charge to your room at the sister hotels too.
We did the dessert/ beach 4 wheel ATV's and loved it. We had Martin (Mar-teen) as our guide and we were cooking. All my kids loved it too.
They get you there for extras on insurance and tips and beer and water.
We also hired a boat from the marina to take us snorkeling near lovers beach. That was worth it for sure.The guys were great and we had such fun.
Great for families as well as adults.

Room Tip: Be sure to know where your room/ villas will be. Lower or upper Montecristo or in main hotel. That m...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ScopeDRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have been coming to MonteCristo Estates through Registry Collection since Feb 2006 and just bought two weeks every other year in the aftermarket. We love Montecristo! Our family of four travels here alone and sometimes we invite my parents to join us. In our opinion the amenities are amazing, along with the view, the sister resorts and the friendly Mexico culture. The security as you enter the resort is comforting, then there is another layer of guards and gates as you enter either phase of MonteCristo.

Montecristo Estates are standalone villas that are in two phases. The first phase, phase one, is above the Pueblo Bonito (PB) Sunset Beach resort. These are older, minimalist design and beautiful panoramic views, sunrise to sunset. The higher up you go, starting with villa #1, the better the views. The newer phase, Phase Two, is adjacent to Sunset Beach, separated by a resort roadway. With Phase Two they made some decorating adjustments that for us make it feel more cozy. The views aren't as panoramic as the Phase One units impeded a bit on the sides by the hillsides on either side. Each villa in either phase has it's own infinity pool on the lower level and a hot tub off the upstairs master.

Any time we've needed anythingit's all just a phone call away. We quickly had the pool heater turned on. It got turned off again on day 3 so we just called again. Our room was missing, or we couldn't find a room service menu and it was delivered the next day during regular hours. When you need something, if you can contact them before 6pm, you'll have quicker response. A golf cart to get us to the Sunset Beach in a quick call. We never waited more than 15 minutes. Golf carts are used for phase 2 but not phase 1 (hills are too steep for them). Golf carts by resort drivers are standard transport on the resort due to the very hilly terrain that allow the amazing views from every room and villa. A small consequence to pay in my opinion.

We've stayed at other Pueblo Bonito Resorts and have been pleased by the quality and service. Yes, the PB Emerald Bay estates in Mazatlan is better for walking among the resort and to and from dinner but the view from the villas is the golf course and the huge rabbits. For those who dislike the golf carts and their independence, they may enjoy PB Emerald Bay Estates. We love Emerald Bay Estates but the views from MonteCristo are amazing, and keep us coming back every year.

They started the all inclusive meal plan option at Montecristo and Sunset Beach within the past 12 months. They have improved it since we first did it here in Jan. 2013. The staff seems to be better trained at what is included and what isn't and they are improving it as well. Room Service is included (be prepared for an hour wait, which we were informed of upon ordering but if you order in an off time it can be as little as 20 minutes, and we had no errors in our order). As of Aug. 16 the meal plan also includes Cibola for Montecristo guests participating in the meal plan.

Cibola in our opinion has the highest quality food and service on the resort. At this time in August, vacancy is higher so we almost feel like Cibola is our private restaurant.

For us, we are enjoying the meal plan and have found it to be convenient, fair quality at most of the resort and sister resorts and budget friendly.

We ate at the Bistro our first night, on a Friday at peak dinner time. The food was ok and the service was rushed and hurried, which the polite waiter warned us about at the beginning. Eduardo was doing the best he could with serving many tables at rush time, knowing many were on meal plan and often do not tip. We enjoy the Bistro but will plan it so that it is an off time. Their mexican coffee is a fun after dinner treat.

La Nao brunch in my opinion is nothing very special and the food quality is better at Cibola.

We did the "owners lunch" for the first time, returning for the first time now as owners. We do the sales presentation every visit to get the updates on the resort and to receive the discounted activities and vouchers. We received $250 in resort credits, $50 of which is dedicated to either spa. For us, it was worth the 2.5 hours of time. They are highly trained sales people, very good at what they do. Still, you have the power to say No, always. We have had no trouble attending sales presentations every visit, leaving with our vouchers, discounted ventures and not purchasing anything. Do your homework on owners blogs, aftermarket sales - ask questions of sales person and then of owners on the owners blogs. We've had sales people offer their "deal" for days after the presentation, giving us some to consider it on our own and do our own research. For us, it wasn't a match.

Eating on the meal plan can get tiresome so eating out in town a few times is a nice break. We enjoy "Hacienda Beach Club & Residences" in town at their restaurant which offers seating on the beach and in the outdoor restaurant -- same menu, same kitchen.

Wireless in the MonteCristo is now available and we are so appreciative of this additional amenity!

MonteCristo is on the Pacific side of Cabo so no swimmable surf. For those who enjoy ocean/sea swims, the sister resorts PB Rose and PB Los Cabos (formerly Blanco) are options.

Activities we enjoy are Cabo Dolphins, whale watching in winter months and for this trip we are planning to snorkel (ourselves with rental car and our own gear) and surfing lessons at Costa Azul.

Just a reminder that tipping is always appreciated, and common manners such as please and thank you will get you better service... everywhere and always.

Sorry for those who had poor service or were disappointed in some ways. We consistently enjoy Pueblo Bonito's MonteCristo Estates and cannot wait to come again.

Hoping we get a match through Registry Collection on a Nova Spania unit at some point but MonteCristo Estates is a great vacation each time.

Room Tip: Montecristo Estates are standalone villas that are in two phases. The first phase, phase one, is ab...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JJOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
5.1 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,221 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
2.1 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#7 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
920 reviews
1.7 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
931 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito

Address: Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#7 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $937 - $1,318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Montecristo Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing