We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property, but signs of aging appearing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito
Ranked #9 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This property has a plethora of amenties and is well located so long as you do not wish to swim in the ocean. It's located on the Pacific Ocean side of Cabo San Lucas and is not safe for swim except for the strongest of swimmers. Our unit was spacious and well designed, but several issues arose during our stay. The main issue was that the shower water trickled from the showerhead and management was not able to rectify the situation. Some of the common areas are also showing signs of wear and tear that are not being replaced/repaired as needed. Overall, an excellent property and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matumbo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (954)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

800 - 806 of 954 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

The Governor is absolutely perfect. The kitchen is well stocked, and the amplíances are all Viking. From the cheese grater to the barbeque utensils there is nothing missing. The colors and workmanship are excellent. Four bedrooms and Everything is excellent. The barbecue, patio, pool, hot tub, and lighting are all fantastic. You can plug in your iPhone and listen in any room, in the pool, patio, and fire pit. The housekeeping is excellent. Any problems are addressed immediately by our concierge Joel Gattaz. The only thing that requires improvement is the transportation to and from Sunset Beach. We waited for 1 hour and 20 minutes for a ride to the restaurant. The next day we rented a golf cart and our transportation problem was eliminated. Peaceful and perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RayI38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Our family's six nights at Pueblo Bonito Montecristo was great. Upon arrival to Unit 58, our ten year old daughter and nine year old son demonstrated excitement upon uncovering each of the treasures in the villa. From the private pool to the Jacuzzi tub to the abundant supply of towels, beds, TVs and a computer with internet, a sense of comfort was quickly established. The grounds are spectactular and immaculately manicured without intrusive or noisy machinery ever noted. The mountainside view is well documented by other reviewers but must be personally viewed for the first time to be fully appreciated. Our first full day started with a short hike up the nearby mountain (hill?) and then was a day of exploration of the beach and the pool at the PB Sunset, which was beautiful.
Beverages poolside are never "bad" and these were good, as were the nachos and tacos delivered quickly to our lounge chair. Day two found us heading to town and lunching at The Office on Medondo Beach. The food was excellent and enough disractions exist with the surrounding bar scene, merchants, etc. to keep all entertained throughout. We then went on the Camel and Outback via Cabo Adventures, which was a unique and exciting journey, filled with education about cactus forests and tequilla, as well as the process for making tortillas from corn. The buffet afforded a taste of mole, cactus and other tastes of Mexico. On day three, we donned the pirate costumes provided by the Bucanneer vessel and searched for whales. It was cool to see the whales and learn a little about their lives in Cabo and Alaska. It would have been better to have had a bit more educational component for the whales we saw but the trip is oriented for whale "watching", not necessarily whale "learning." After walking around the Marina for awhile and checking out the luxury item filled mall, we went to PB Blanco to swim in the pool and enjoy the adjacent beach. The following day, we chartered a fishing vessel through Pieces Sport Fishing. Our captain, Enrique, was well versed in piloting a vessel, but not so much in English. Still, we found one (4 foot?) Dorado, which made the otherwise long day filled with a bit of excitement. That evening, the sports bar/restaurant, Cibella (?) at Montecristo prepared the fish, three different ways, which was an incredibly delicious surprise! on our final day, we swam with dolphins through the Dolphin Discovery in San Jose de Cabo. The excursion was fun and again, a nice experience for the children.

All excursions, side trips, provide a CD rom of "all the photos" taken. We elected to go with this option, rather than paying $$$ for a single (or more photo). Dependingon the size of your group/party, and your tech savvy to reproduce photos crom a CD Rom, it's likely a good option. Our journeys away from Montecristo were subsidized and/or discounted due to our participation on the first day with a "welcome free breakfast" and "timeshare presentation." Though we were told it would be 90 minutes, only, the presenter made his first quote of an offer after we had been with him over 2 hours. By this time, our children were more than restless and anxious to head to "fun" stuff. After the 2.5 hour presentation, we concluded with a "quality control" person attempting one last effort to secure a commitment from us. The level of distaste for the process was high, as was the level of unprofessionalism demonstrated by the initial presenter. Along with getting the names of the family wrong for the first 90 minutes of the tour, he proceeded to further provide insult upon being told we would not be making a purchase on the date presented. We have attended other time share presentations and are familiar with the process; however, the initial presenter's approach was beyond rude.

In sum, we believe we became the poster family for vacationing at Montecristo by seizing almost all that there was to offer (except purchasing a time share!) in the limited time during our first journey to Cabo. Lucy and Raul were great to work with and we hope to return one day and to further enjoy the sky pool and other restaurants at the PB Sunset. It was quite helpful to have a rental car, as the trip to the Marina, the flea market, Walmart, restaurants off property all required a car, or taxi/shuttle. The flexibility of a car while staying at Montecristo is great, if you plan on leaving the PB family of properties. Other than the offensive time share presentation, we had a fabulous vacation and would highly recommend the Montecristo. As for the various excursions, they all were about as described in the promotional brochures and fun for what they are, not for anything more or less.

Remember a vacation is what you make of it!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcbjr1294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My wife and I own a villa in Montecristo Estates and have stayed there for three years now. we love to watch the sun set into the Pacific Ocean every night around 6. Each villa has its own swimming pool and we are in it at least three times a day. Our kids and grandkids come too and they love it. The service is outstanding as the concierge and housekeeper visit every day. No need to buy a villa as there are many available for rent. Come and enjoy.

Room Tip: The villas in Phase 2 (numbers 101 to 152) are newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanCon882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We just got back from a week at Pueblo Bonito Montecristo, it was fabulous! This is our 5th year here and we look forward to it again next year! We love the views, the whale watching, the plunge pool, it is a very relaxing week for us! The gym at Pueblo Bonito Sunset has great classes everyday with a trainer named Alex. We also took yoga on the beach at the Pacifica Resort with Alberto, which was amazing. We highly recommend both. We do power walks all around the resort, we eat great meals at the resort and around town and really enjoy our time here. Thanks to the whole Montecristo staff for making our stay great and effortless, allowing us to relax and unwind. A perfect vacation. Had a fabulous massage at Montecristo spa and a wonderful facial at PBSunset. Amazing trip.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Connieas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We once agon traveled to Cabo and stayed at the Montecristo Villas in Pueblo Bonito at Sunset Beach. The accomodations and service are still superb year after year that we have been going. Our private concierge Gerardo and all who attended to our villa did so with the upmost care. The spa services were very good and the exercise classes with Alex at Sunset and Alberto at Pacifica were great. They both change it up daily and ofer a wide variety. We especially enjoyed spinning and total conditioning.
Our final night meal at LaFrida at the the Sunset Hotel was superb. The food and service were over the top. they really know how to present a prepare a meal.
We can not wait to return.

Room Tip: If you want a good work out stay up high and walk back to your villa. Great views of sunrise and su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We are staying in a 4 bedroom Montecristo unit 147.....very nice! We just pick up the phone for any requests or questions....we had a rental car delivered to our villa from Avis at Sunset...thus avoiding the crowds and hectic lobby there! Our butler, Joel, has gone out of his way to accomodate us in every way. He returns calls promptly and is courteous and professional. Restaurant reservations, Taxi service, or a bag of ice... he is here for us. Our housekeeper, Iris, was also very thorough and friendly as well. What a great place...this Villa has a yard and shaded table out back...NICE!

Room Tip: see review...ask for a sunset view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
5.1 mi away
Esperanza - Auberge Resorts Collection
1.9 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
2.2 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#7 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,041 reviews
2.1 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
1.7 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#16 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito

Address: Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $703 - $1,126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Montecristo Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing