We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Resort and Getting Better”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Misiones del Cabo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Misiones del Cabo
Ranked #46 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Resort and Getting Better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here a couple of times over the last few years and have always had good to great experiences! Just to clarify, there are two distinct properties @ Misiones Del Cabo. The privately owned condominiums (some of which are available for rent) and the Hotel / Timeshare property. These share some amenities like the secure gated entry, pools, concierge (Jose is an excellent resource when you need something or want to schedule activities like golf or a dinner cruise!) etc., but they are separate properties. The timeshare vacation rental complex had some difficulty (some of the previous reviews where accurate) but management is currently making very nice progress and this will be a great property (we were inside these and the units themselves are incredible). The Sea of Cortez and Land's End views from both properties are incredible! Both properties are only a 5 -10 minute cab ride (taxi's are always available at the front desk) from Downtown Cabo and cost about $15. You can shop, eat and party all night and for $15, get a cab right back to the front desk. If you want hang around the condo, you have a swim up bar with a grill that serves great taco's, burgers etc. and they make excellent drinks (Wednesday night is Mexican Night and Friday special is fish)! You can also eat at Sunset Da Mona Lisa, which has a more formal restaurant on lower level (best Sea of Cortez and sunset views available) or relax and have drinks, pizza etc. at Sunset Point Wine & Pizza Lounge, the upstairs restaurant. Both are excellent and you can walk there in literally 1 minute! There is also a mini-market and a breakfast and lunch grill just outside the front entrance. If you walk about 5-10 minutes up the Misiones driveway to the main Highway, Puerta Vieja Restaurant & Bar is another excellent place to eat without having to take a ride into Cabo! The Misiones grounds are very nice, well kept and so are the people that work there! There are two pools on the properties. The condominium pool has always been open, clean and there is plenty of furniture / umbrella's etc. I already mentioned the swim-up bar, but it never hurts to repeat this! We spent plenty of time there and met a lot of great people! The timeshare pool has been closed for some time, but we were told that this pool is scheduled to reopen in September 2013. This pool also has a swim up bar and fantastic views of the Sea of Cortez! When you turn off the main highway toward the properties, the entrance road looks rough, almost scary! There has been a fair amount of construction on a new high-end resort property just down the coast from Misiones. There are remodel and road construction plans for the new and improved entrance once this construction is completed. We have also heard that the adjacent property to Misiones may be the new home for an 18 hole (famous golfer designed) golf course. Misiones is a beautiful, quiet and comfortable property that is very nice and getting better every day! You can relax here and in 10 minutes be downtown Cabo for a night of partying you won't forget!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jcollfinsv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    19
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
25
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

4th floor 1 bedroom overlooking the pool and looking northwest, privately owned condo from a gentleman in california. Not the "hotel" building - which seems closed...

The one bedroom unit is clean and spacious. Has all the amenities and accoutrements of home. The balcony is huge and has a great view of the Sea of Cortez but not of the arch (south). It has lounge chairs and a round table and chairs for dining (you could probably have a party with 50 people standing - it's just that big).

The kitchen has everything from a juicer to a blender to all the pots, pans, and utensils to feed those 50 people! U will need to supply styrofoam (no paper to be found), plasticware, and paper towels.

It's air conditioned, has ceiling fans, and a washer & dryer. TV, DVD player and satellite - but 90% of the Chanels are in Spanish...

Enormous shower and spacious bedroom, with tons of storage throughout the unit.

The pool is outside the balcony and bedroom and just an elevator ride away. It can be noisy, but closing the doors cuts it all off. There is a bartender and a cook - for sure Friday, Saturday and Sunday (and now Monday). Margs are $6 us and beers $2. Tacos and quesedillas are ~$2.50.

The pool only has 4 umbrellas, so we came down early each day to snag one (9:00). U can move them from hole to hole - depending on where ur sitting.

The sea is a 3 minute walk away and it has a half dozen or so stationary "hut" type umbrellas on a first come basis. Swimming and snorkeling is to the left of the stairs and big rock - but then u must stay to the far right along the rocky outcropping. The big waves and scary rocks in the middle demand it. Actually, u don't have to go out very far to see fish, so wading with a face mask will work. It's best to go at high tide for all water activities. Otherwise the waves can be treacherous.

Overall, the property is well manicured and maintained. Landscapers are everywhere but never in ur way. It's clean and the mix of owners and vacationers is perfect. The owners and locals are helpful and friendly.

My bad spanish (I call it 101 Spanish verbs Spanish) and the working English of most locals is all u need to get by.

One day we paid $10 US for a taxi to the Walmart - Jose the dude out front - told the driver $10 not $12. But it was $12 back. The driver told us it would be $15 to downtown.

Another day we were brave and caught the bus to DT!! It was about a 30 minute walk to the service road on the other side of the main drag; stick out ur arm or wave ur hat to flag down the myriad of busses. One guy told us they run every 20 mins or so - they have all shapes and forms, from ancient to modern - but they all seem to get u downtown and back.

It was $1.00 US each way. We jumped off at the marina - which is what we confirmed when getting on. So the driver just stopped for us at the "marina stop" - as there are not set stops or stands to get on or off. Seems that u wait wherever and jump off when u need to.

From our place it was exactly an hour from the unit to Maria Jimenez's table - and that was after going into the mall to cool down and use the restoom!! See other reviews for Maria Jimenez's restaurant. It was worth the trip for the seafood combo (lobster, shrimp to die for, and bass - all very fresh) since it and an appetizer and mango water And "house specialty" mint lime water cost us $40 CASH!!! It's a cash only spot.

There was a different kind of bus waiting to take us north and again we mentioned where we were heading - this time to Walmart for a few more groceries. Several others got off in the same "area" and we made our way across the 2 service roads and the Main Drag. That mall also houses several useful stores - including Sams club and Koi sushi - the freshest I've ever had! (I'm not a huge sushi fan but it was all very tasty)

We walked back across the street with 2 cloth grocery bags we bought from home and just waited on the other side of the street for the northbound bus. It took abt 10 mins. This driver didn't know where missiones was but a local spoke up and gave his the landmark. Either way, once we saw it we could have just yelled out "aqui" and he would have stopped.

It was 20 mins downhill with the bags and wasn't bad at all. Just happy the elevator was working at tha time, since it was out the day we arrived...

This place is off the beaten path from the nightlife and hustle and bustle. But if serenity and rest is what u seek, this is the perfect spot!

Oh, Mona Lisa's sunset bar and pizza (or sunset combo thereof) is a 5 min walk and overlooks the part of the sea towards DT and the famous arch. Be sure to walk down to the lower terrace, sit on the couch and take in one of the spectacular sunsets - for free!!!

Adios!!

PS - we have heard good things about Puerto Viaje and their lobster for $19.99. We plan to walk there tomorrow night to see for ourselves! It's located on the main drag at the top of the hill that leads here...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Splive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Perfect place for me! Now, that being said this is not a "resort" atmosphere and is merely timeshare condominiums with limited services in the building. However, you cannot beat the view and the proximity to the Marina is about a 5 min drive. There is one open pool, no hot tub (disappointing), you can buy tasty cheap tacos, and quesadillas at the swim up bar. What more do you need? The room rate was incredible! I found the place on the VRBO website.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manswe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
156 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

The property location is a great base of operations for just about anything you want to do in Cabo. Just 10 minutes by cab or 15 by bus...just know to get the bus you have to walk uphill a bit. The views quiet are wonderful and worth the shortcomings of the property. If you stay on the Cabo city side of the property you will most likely find the rooms run down and a pool with no water. However the "other side" has a functional pool and small bar run by a very accommodating "Pepe". The staff will do anything to make your stay as good as it can be with the resources they have. As many have said...if your looking for the hustle and bustle and amenities this isn't the place for you. I would recommend it for the sun views and peacefulness.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stiv_Wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calpella, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We love Misiones, the location, amazing views, great staff...all of the above. We rented for our 7th stay through VRBO and had another great unit! The private beach on the Welks Sirena Del Mar side is a must for swimming and snorkeling and don't miss dinner at Sunset Pointe, Sunset Da Mona Lisa or Puerta Vieja for great sunset/cape views and great food! Great surfcasting on the Monuments beach side, don't miss the beautiful hike through the desert, a short 20 minutes, to Medano Beach for solitude and the Cabo vibe that will keep you coming back!

Room Tip: Select a penthouse or upper level condo that has been remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank BennShell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Unfortunately we found out the resort part of Misiones is bankrupt and not keeping anything up. There is no service here, the ocean front pool is empty, surrounding properties are also empty so it feels like a ghost town pulling in. So if your looking for a resort with amenities and service look somewhere else. However if you want to stay in a condo and do everything yourself this place is nice. We rented condo #1202, direct oceanfront over some small cliffs, the view was awesome and the balcony was very private. There is a really nice small beach to the right, great swimming, snorkeling and no beach vendors. To the left is surfers beach, no one there except surfers in the water, it was nice and private as well due to the half built resort that sits in front of it. The condo was ok, aging a bit as is the rest of the resort but the view and balcony made up for it. The pool that is open isn't ocean front but was nice and Pepe the bartender (even though the pool was empty 9 out of 10 times we were there) was awesome. Always friendly and willing to help with any and all questions. They were keeping the grounds up so it was nice. Again if you want service do not stay here! If you want to chill out away from crowds and bbq all day then its a great place!

Room Tip: We rented 1202 from vrbo.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve3178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

We have been going to Misiones for 10 years as timeshare owners ( bought for $500 on Ebay) and love the location, views, pool, resort grounds, beaches and of course wonderful staff. And as Pepe is now back at pool snack bar we just love staying here. Pepe has the most amazing tacos ($2-3 for the best shrimp, beef, chicken tacos you will ever have) plus very reasonable prices for drinks. Resort is almost empty as resort owner is having financial problems which have been on-going for many years. Questionable if timeshares will be honoured in the future. We were told about other timeshare owners having been moved to other resort (Fiesta Americana) last Novemebr and December. Only one pool is open but as there are so few people at resort it was great. Only 6 other rooms used in the timeshare section at a peak time of the year. Receiving confirmation of room was problematic. we did take the risk of prepaying our maintenance last November to recieve discount on maintenance- room was $475 for one bedroom- will not do that again unless confirmation of hotel being open next year is confirmed. Lots of owners trying to sell, but also new people buying in due to very low prices. Resort is beautiful, location can't be beat. Staff superb (Jose at reception will take care of anything you need). if you can have confirmation on room, then go. Misiones is a wonderful place to relax and unwind, not for party types. close to downtown- we hope it continues to be open as it is a wonderful Cabo spot we would love to return to

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
2.1 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hacienda Beach Club & Residences
Hacienda Beach Club & Residences
#1 of 39 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Medano Beach Villa
Medano Beach Villa
#18 of 39 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
2.9 mi away
Marina Cabo Plaza
Marina Cabo Plaza
#10 of 39 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
2.3 mi away
Club Cascadas de Baja
Club Cascadas de Baja
#32 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misiones del Cabo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misiones del Cabo

Property: Misiones del Cabo
Address: Carr. Transpeninsular Km. 5.5, Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Misiones del Cabo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misiones Del Cabo Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Misiones Del Cabo Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing