We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome driving experience”

Wide Open Cabo - Day Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Now you get to experience the thrill in the driver’s seat! In the heart of the untamed Baja peninsula you get to drive in the safety of our custom built race cars, always within radio-shot of our experienced guides and the professional support crew of Wide Open Excursions! The closed course track is just outside Cabo San Lucas. Wide Open Cabo’s Baja Challenge (BC) racecars are not “dune buggies” or “sand rails”; they are the same cars that race in the Baja 1000. With Wide Open Adventures you will experience the thrill of racing in the Baja 1000. You will slide around sandy berms, view scenic trails, capture the true beauty of the Baja peninsula while safely strapped into a suspended racing seat by a 5-point safety harness system. Wide Open Cabo’s racecars are powered by 4 cylinder 2 liter engines that provide almost 200 hp. They are outfitted with off-road racing suspension and shock absorbers that provide 18” of suspension travel. We run exclusively on BF Goodrich All Terrain TA and Mud Terrain TA Tires. Each car is equipped with a 2 way radio system, internal intercom system, global positioning system, and fresh air filter.For as little as $395.00 USD, plus tax, you can strap yourself in one of our purpose built off-road race cars. Our staff will explain the safety precautions and provide you with some tips on how to handle these thrilling desert machines before tackling our off-road course. Three options are available, and while none of them require previous off-road experience, these cars have manual transaxles so experience in driving a standard shift vehicle is helpful.
Murray, Utah, United States
1 review
“awesome driving experience”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

loved it, our guide Paul was awesome, we had a great time, the cars are super fast and the scenery is splendid

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    1
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wild open wide.”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This ride was awesome for the whole family! The entire staff was great. They made sure we were safe. The cars are bulletproof. My only regret is we bought the 1/3 day, not nearly long enough. Thanks paul, you lead us to fun. This should be number 1 on trip advisor.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Neal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Experience of a Lifetime!!!!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This was an AMAZING experience!! I highly recommend this to anyone needing an adventure. Not only was the car itself an incredible piece of machinery, the course & landscapes felt like we were part of a picture or movie!! WHAT A BLAST!!!!! If you aren't already an adrenaline-junkie you will be after this trip!! Paul is a fantastic tour guide!! He make it extra fun & very professional. This is something I will never forget & look forward to doing it again!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RayWright08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Way too much fun!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was the most fun you could have with your pants on in Cabo. Our guide, Paul, was incredible. He showed us how to drive like true professionals. If you have the time and a few extra bucks, run, don't walk to Wide Open for a once in a lifetime experience!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tmottet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Awesome Adventure - Worth a Day Trip”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Booked a full day trip with WideOpen in Cabo San Lucas, Baja! I could sum this adventure up in one word - WOW!!! I would highly recommend this high adrenaline rush... My tour guide was Paul - professional and extremely knowledgeable. Thanks for the experience!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CaboViVO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wide Open Cabo - Day Tours also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Wide Open Cabo - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing