We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southwest best BBQ !”

Desperados BBQ Tex-Mex Sports Experts
Ranked #14 of 573 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Barbecue, Mexican, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Desperados Tex-Mex BBQ Restaurant Sports Experts, specializes in Sports & Food! We are a family friendly BBQ Tex-Mex Restaurant and Sports Bar. Our menu includes something for everyone, including Homemade Tortilla Soup, Fall Off The Bone BBQ Pork Ribs, Sizzling Tequila Fajitas served on a hot plate, Fried Ice Cream that's freshly fried in the kitchen and decorated with your favorite toppings table side and much more. We have 10 flat screen TV's that you can enjoy your favorite sports on, and YES, we will have your game! Indoor and outdoor dining available, full bar with an extensive Margarita list, free WiFi, and a boutique to purchase your Desperados T Shirt before heading home. Our house Margarita is made with fresh squezzed lime juice from organic limes and the Gran Jurado Tequila, the best Margaritas in Cabo. We have daily Happy Hour Specials 12-5pm like $1 Mimosas. Live music every Tuesday Evening. Reservations accepted daily and walk ins welcome. Make yourself at home at Desperados and bring your friends with you! We look forward to your visit.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Southwest best BBQ !”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

This place has a great menu full of Mexican dishes and southwest BBQ . Always consistent and great waiters . Live music in the evenings and super close to the marina . Make sure to try the tortilla soup it is the best here !

Helpful?
Thank Jimmy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina K, Public Relations Manager at Desperados BBQ Tex-Mex Sports Experts, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Jimmy R from Canada,
Thanks for the great review! Desperados is a Mexican Restaurant and Sports Bar that is well known for our fall off the bone BBQ Pork Ribs. The kitchen makes a tasty homemade BBQ sauce. Some of the Mexican dishes that we have on our menu include our Homemade Tortilla Soup which is not only delicious, but has a beautiful presentation as well, Vegetable, Chicken, Steak, Shrimp, or Supreme (which is a mix of your choice) Fajitas, Desperados Molcajete, Enchiladas, Chili Relleno, Tequila Lime Chicken, and more! Desperados has live music on Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Saturdays and just across the street from the marina.
Saludos,
Christina Kinder PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    558
    166
    68
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't eat the chicken!”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

The restaurant is clean and had a great selection of TV's to catch your favorite teams football game, however the food left a lot to be desired. We ordered chicken quesadilla's and chicken sopes and both were very sick after eating here. Definitely will not be returning.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChelleB17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina K, Public Relations Manager at Desperados BBQ Tex-Mex Sports Experts, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
qthart17,

Thanks for compliments on the cleanliness of Desperados and our 10 flat screen TV's. On the other hand, I am sorry that you feel you illness was caused by our chicken. When ever people are vacationing, they come into contact with many different things than one would at home in a familiar environment including different types of seafood and water. Here in Cabo, many people have a tendency to overindulge in alcohol as well. There are many factors to take into consideration when getting sick while traveling. At least one staff member at Desperados eats the chicken every day, I myself eat it about twice a week, our staff is free of food borne illnesses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manning, Alberta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We were a party of 6 out for supper. Each of us ordered something different and everyone fully enjoyed their meals! Very reasonably priced and excellent service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina K, Public Relations Manager at Desperados BBQ Tex-Mex Sports Experts, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
“Awesome” is an awesome way to describe Desperados! I continue to be impressed by Desperados on a daily basis. The staff are all genuinely nice, caring people and the food is delicious every day. We at Desperados are all happy that everyone enjoyed their meals and that you thought are prices were reasonable and service excellent. I hope that your entire vacation in Cabo San Lucas was awesome and not just Desperados. We would love to be a regular vacation dining spot for you and your family or friends.

Thanks,

Christina Kinder, PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“average”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

This was recommended but it was just ok. The food was like TexMex and nothing to write home about.

Drinks were not good and overpriced

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Noreen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina K, Public Relations Manager at Desperados BBQ Tex-Mex Sports Experts, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Noreen M,
I can understand it when a person describes a restaurant as "average". To me, unless there is something special about the restaurant that really stands out, like the exceptional service or the presentation of their soup, the look, or the smell of an establishment and the food being cooked and consumed within. So, I think average is normal. At Desperados we strive for above average. If you did not like your drinks you could have kindly stated that to myself or you server and we would have solved that problem by finding something more suited to your flavor preferences. Thanks for visiting Desperados Restaurant Cabo San Lucas. Christina Kinder, Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pere, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Enjoyable place for dinner”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Great food, service and atmosphere. If you're able, grab a table on the balcony and enjoy the comings and goings of people watching. Friendly service made it fun to spend time and relax. Be sure to order the tortilla soup, too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina K, Public Relations Manager at Desperados BBQ Tex-Mex Sports Experts, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
GoldenGirl,

Desperados is thrilled that you found us an enjoyable place for dinner! Thanks for taking the time to write a review and letting people know about our great food, service, atmosphere, as well as our balcony seating. Upstairs Desperados has an indoor lounge area with tables, couches, and TV's and two outside dinning terraces where we offer umbrellas to shade you from the sun and serapes to warm you in the night. With Desperados being located on a corner, each terrace is located on a different street and they each make for good people watching. Our Homemade Tortilla Soup is served as an appetizer for lunch or dinner and not only tastes delicious, but has a beautiful presentation as well. We are happy that you are happy and that you found it fun to spend time and relax with us. We look forward to your return visit. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Desperados BBQ Tex-Mex Sports Experts also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Desperados BBQ Tex-Mex Sports Experts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing