We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Margaritas and fajitas..yum” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Desperados BBQ Tex-Mex Sport Bar

Desperados BBQ Tex-Mex Sport Bar
Ranked #28 of 545 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Mexican, Bar, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Desperados Tex-Mex BBQ Restaurant, also known as Desperados Restaurant & Cantina specializes in Sports & Food! We are a family friendly BBQ Tex-Mex Restaurant and Sports Bar. Our menu includes something for everyone, including Homemade Tortilla Soup, Fall Off The Bone BBQ Pork Ribs, Sizzling Tequila Fajitas served on a hot plate, Fried Ice Cream that's freshly fried in the kitchen and decorated with your favorite toppings table side and much more. We have 10 flat screen TV's that you can enjoy your favorite sports on, and YES, we will have your game! Indoor and outdoor dining available, full bar with an extensive Margarita list, free WiFi, and a boutique to purchase your Desperados T Shirt before heading home. Our house Margarita is made with fresh squezzed lime juice from organic limes and the Gran Jurado Tequila, the best Margaritas in Cabo. We have daily Happy Hour Specials 12-5pm like $1 Mimosas. Live music every Tuesday Evening. Reservations accepted daily and walk ins welcome. Make yourself at home at Desperados and bring your friends with you! We look forward to your visit.
Jersey
Level Contributor
126 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Margaritas and fajitas..yum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Headed into Desperados..tired and hungry after 6.5 hr flight..luggage lost..wearing sweater and jeans in sunny beautiful Cabo...oh we'll I digress..
Greeted by friendly manager and were seated by open window with lovely breeze. Ordered large margaritas..pomegranate and mango..both good and greatly appreciated after long day. Ordered steak fajitas and shrimp fajitas..both servings big with fresh tortillas..guac and beans..yummy. We were so full we didn't have time to try the fried ice cream..will have to go back to try another time. Service very good..we were checked on regularly and would definitely recommend them for anyone looking for a solid meal.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank jenandcody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina K, Public Relations Manager at Desperados BBQ Tex-Mex Sport Bar, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thanks jenandcody from Jersey for taking the time to write a tripadvisor review of Desperados Restaurant Cabo San Lucas. It's great to read that we were your first stop after your arrival in Cabo. Our staff is very friendly and our fajitas very filling, served with tortillas, guacamole, pico de gallo, and refried black beans on the side. Desperados also has a dessert menu, so try to save some room to try our fried ice cream or homemade cream cheese flan. We would love to see you back on your next trip to Cabo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    466
    156
    62
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Always a favorite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

We have been to Desperados several times, it's always a go-to whenever we come to cabo. The margaritas are great, we prefer the ultimate margarita, and the food is great as well! We've had the fajitas, the burrito, the Cobb salad, and the BBQ chicken. Every meal we've had has been great. We also have had the freshly made guacamole, which is fabulous. We were celebrating my boyfriends birthday and the staff sang happy birthday and brought him a dessert! We have always been pleased with the food and service at desperados, and it is conveniently located close to all of the bars/clubs.

Helpful?
Thank Carlinin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina K, Public Relations Manager at Desperados BBQ Tex-Mex Sport Bar, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Carlinin, Desperados is happy to be a favorite!
Thanks for your great review of our drinks, food, and service. I prefer the Ultimate Margarita also, it's made with fresh squezzed lime juice from organic limes and the El Gran Jurado Tequila Reposado with Grand Marnier. The guacamole is made fresh tableside by our friendly staff. If you let your server know that someone in your party is celebrating a birthday, we are happy to bring them a birthday flan. Desperados is located close to many bars and clubs as well as the marina and shopping. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop, California
Level Contributor
257 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good Food, but Pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Shared a dinner with some friends while watching a professional fight shown on television by this restaurant. The service and food were good, but the drinks a little pricey. If I had it to do over again, I would drink bottled water here with my meal. No complaints otherwise. Very clean and modern restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 8640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina K, Public Relations Manager at Desperados BBQ Tex-Mex Sport Bar, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
8640 from Bishop, CA

Thanks to you and your friends for choosing Desperados to watch the fight at and for taking the time to write a review. We always get the PPV boxing and UFC fights! Thanks also for your compliments on our service, food, and cleanliness. Sorry if you thought the drinks were a little pricy; ask about our specials next time you come in. We use fresh squeezed lime juice from organic limes and El Gran Jurado Tequila in our margaritas and each is made fresh when ordered. We hope that you return to watch your favorite sports here at Desperados on your next trip to Cabo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
112 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Tortilla Soup!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

In the five years we've been coming to Cabo, we had never been to Desperados but we came twice this trip :)
The presentation of their tortilla soup is amazing and tastes just as good! All the food we had was excellent! I don't think you can go wrong with anything here. The service was also great and on certain nights they have live music - the guy with the guitar was really enjoyable to listen to.
We will be sure to make Desperados a regular stop on all future Cabo trips.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank mommalou4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina K, Public Relations Manager at Desperados BBQ Tex-Mex Sport Bar, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you mommalou4 from Saskatchewan for taking the time to share your experience at Desperados on tripadvisor. Our Homemade Tortilla Soup is one of our signature dishes and we are very happy that you enjoyed it and made a return visit.
Every Tuesday and Thursday we have a live guitarist, Roberto Fiallo who plays from 6:30-9:30 pm. He has been playing at Desperados for the last four years and everyone enjoys him, we are glad you did also. We look forward to being a regular stop on your future Cabo trips!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fish Tacos! Chilli Shrimp!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Great atmosphere, staff was professional and very nice! The food was excellent! Would recommend you try this place out! They did have some entertainment (a female singer) she was ok, the sound wasnt too right you couldnt hear her clearly and she should have been singing a bit more upbeat music... Overall this place is awesome!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ReneeMC79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina K, Public Relations Manager at Desperados BBQ Tex-Mex Sport Bar, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
ReneeMC79 from Toronto, Canada, thanks so much for visiting Desperados on your vacation and taking the time to write a review. We take pride in our quality atmosphere, friendly staff, and tasty food! We are so glad that you enjoyed it! The female singer you mentioned was a trial night only. Every Tues and Thurs we have had the same guitarist, Roberto Fiallo play from 6:30-9:30 pm for the last four years. Thanks again for your visit and we hope to see you back on your next visit to Cabo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Desperados BBQ Tex-Mex Sport Bar also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Desperados BBQ Tex-Mex Sport Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing