We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not exceptional food & service”

Pancho's Restaurant & Tequila Bar
Ranked #60 of 565 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good but not exceptional food & service”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My GF and I ate dinner on Jan 27. I had the Chicken Tortilla Soup and a baked potato with cheese. The soup was the typical reddish soup, had huge amounts of melted cheese and tortilla chips, and very little chicken. It was good but nowhere as good as at Hacienda el Coyote. Both are edible and filling but nothing special. IMHO, go to Cabo Blue for chicken broth soup with lots of chicken and noodles. The baked potato with cheese was mainly cheese, not quite the healthy food that I had expected. My GF's salad was very good though. My recommendation is to try Pancho's if you are in the area and hungry, but don't make any special trip.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    714
    254
    77
    39
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“The Tequila bar is huge!”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My husband and I went to this restaurant a day before we left Cabo and we both enjoyed it!
I had the Chicken Mole and my husband had Chile Relleno both were very good!
To drink I had a coke and my husband had homemade ice tea, he said he really enjoyed the ice tea.
A little out of the way but worth the trip!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blueeyes2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Yummy”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

They have the best tortilla soup of any restaurant I,ve eaten in. I have it once or twice on every visit to Cabo.
Very friendly owners, managers and staff. Also a very busy place for dinner so a reservation is a good idea.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
101 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Everything that you could ask for in a Mexican Restaurant”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Décor is beautiful, the staff is right on the money, the owner is there making sure that you are having a good time and every dish comes out of the kitchen perfectly... the Pesole is fantastic!

Pancho's is always at the top of our list when we visit Cabo... don't miss it

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rodney322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Consistently good!”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We visit Cabo every year and we like to eat at least one lunch at Pancho's. Santos served us this time and was very attentive and helpful with our questions in Spanglish and just English. My wife had the chile relleños (voted best in Cabo by someone, it said) and found them delicious. I had the chicken burritos which came as just the tortilla with chicken inside, with beans, rice, pico de gallo, and salsa on the side to add as you please. The burritos were good after I discovered the right combination of condiments for my taste. I think I will go back to the ceviche (raw fish "cooked" in lime juice) the next time we go (best I've had in Cabo-just don't eat the red cabbage with it). The atmosphere and colorful furnishings are always a delight at Pancho's, in addition to the rattlesnake in the jumbo jar of liquid (tequila?). Don't miss the world's largest selection of tequila on the wall behind the bar and in the closed room in the front of the restaurant. Ask to go inside. We will be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DosAmigos3202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pancho's Restaurant & Tequila Bar also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Pancho's Restaurant & Tequila Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing