We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Mexican food!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pancho's Restaurant & Tequila Bar

Pancho's Restaurant & Tequila Bar
Ranked #51 of 545 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $24
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
57 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding Mexican food!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Hands down best Mexican food we had! Simple, generous, great flavors, just great overall. Have to mention the chile relleno and the tamale in banana leaf, both are reasons we're coming back next year...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeInCoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    704
    249
    74
    39
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
203 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Enjoyable atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had an evening away from kids so we chose Panchos. Besides the food being overpriced compared to similar restaurants, the food, wait staff, and atmosphere was great. We had Panchos Famous Combination and their chile Rellenos. Both dishes were tasty and quite filling. I brought half my dish back because it was a lot for myself. The tortillas were fresh and 100% better than what you get in the store. Fernando was a good waiter even brought us extra sodas at no charge. We would definitely be back to visit on our return trip.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stixx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
120 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Won't return”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We've eaten here every year for the last decade when on vacation in Cabo. This year something changed and we crossed this restaurant off our list. There was only one other table of people eating here besides us, so obviously something is different. Our waiter was crabby and bored to death. I ordered a burrito which was only tasteless shredded beef in a hard, dry shell. So too bad, because this used to be a consistently good restaurant. I've come to believe the All Inclusive packages at the hotels have hurt Cabo in oh-so-many ways, one being the quality of the restaurants downtown and on the harbor.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HHS71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
309 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Great food always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We eat here every time we visit Cabo. Food is always great. The service this past visit was disappointing but we will try it again next time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CherylGlendaleAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Over priced and still they have no shame to inflate your bill even more”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

I was on my way to eat at one of my favorite restaurants to have lunch, on the way i saw that they offer lunch specials.

I took the tortilla soup, which is one of my favorite Mexican dishes and i try it in almost every restaurant i go and have it. On the menu they write that the Tortilla soup is "guaranteed to be the BEST one you ever had..." REALLY??? NOT EVEN CLOSE... The soup was bland and nearly tasteless, the only thing i could taste was a light tomato soup.

To drink i ordered lemonade, it came in a relatively large glass, though it was full with ice all the way to the top and just a bit of lemonade in between the ice cubes. After a small zip more than half of the glass was gone, second zip and done... But still i had plenty of ice left, actually 3/4 of the glass was still with ice.

Prices: The tortilla soup "normal price" is 100 pesos and for the "lunch special" it is "only" 85 pesos. Even with the "special" it is still the WORST and most expensive tortilla soup i ever had. They are many better places to have lunch or any other meal where you will actually get something good for your money, here are few examples (among many others): Alcaravea, you can get a 3 course gourmet meal lunch special for no more than 120 pesos including lemonade (in case you want more lemonade it is only 30 pesos for a glass) much better price and much better food. Restaurant campestre 85 pesos lunch special including a soup and fruit drink, the drinks is more than twice the size of the lemonade i got at Panchos, the lunch special at campestre change daily but you can get a day that it includes tortilla soup and lemonade (plus a main course). Los Claros, you can get a drink for 15 pesos including 1 free refill.

service: The service was nice and i would actually could have give it 5 stars, but as over charging the bill is part of the service and this is a shame they use this kind of methods when you have good service, maybe they think if they will give good service people will trust the waiter or won't pay attention.

If you decide you want to go there because of the tequila selection or any other reason, i would recommend to check the bill well and keep a menu at the table so you can make sure they don't try to rip you off

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hagatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pancho's Restaurant & Tequila Bar also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Pancho's Restaurant & Tequila Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing