We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Italian in the heart of Mexico” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salvatore's Italian Restaurant

Salvatore's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 523 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Italian in the heart of Mexico”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We went to Salvatores on the recommendation of many people. The atmosphere was great in an open courtyard. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The portions are huge so ny husband and I shared the Sunday Gravy. We also had the bruschetta and it was the best we have had anywhere including at home in the States. The chocolate mousse dessert was amazing not too sweet just right. I would recommend Salvatores to anyone looking for good Italian and something different outside of Mexican food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MelWic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,956 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,478
    301
    105
    38
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moraga, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

After 2 fabulous meals at Hacienda Cocina and Los Tres Gallos (see our reviews), we decided to try Trip Advisors top rated Italian- Salvatore's. Atmosphere and service were fine. However, the food was terrible! If you are from the NYC area, the SF Bay Area or for that matter, any large city,
stay far away and wait to go to your local Italian favorite. I had the pork shank which was tender, but was lumped together with a gummy, greasy pasta Alfredo. Any value the pork had was overcome (buried) by the pasta. My wife had the special of the night, a chicken rollatini. She was told it was chicken stuffed with prosciutto and Gouda cheese. What she got was 2 chicken breasts stuffed with what seemed like 8 oz. of cheese and a small amount of prosciutto breaded and then deep fried in butter. A sweet vermouth-like sauce covered all. Next to it was the greasy pasta alfredo. Together there must have been a weeks worth of fat. She ate a 1/3 after scraping off the cheese. We debated whether to order dessert and decided the highly rated tiramisu might salvage the meal. It did not. What appeared was a sugary cookie covered with 6 warm mounds of what seemed like cool whip dribbled with Hershey 's chocolate syrup. Incredible that this restaurant could make even the top 200 in Cabo.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lamorinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Really good food - huge portions!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

wow - the lasagna! It took 3 of us to eat it! and it was delicious! Ravioli was great too. Nice atmosphere, good value for money. Would definitely recommend it!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank diverman09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quaint but Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

This little hole in the wall was recommended by a friend. The staff were all cheerful and attentive but most outstanding was the food. Food QUALITY, QUANTITY and TASTE were fantastic!! My wife and I shared a plate of shrimp and fish cannelloni and the marinated pork shank....DELICIOUS!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rudy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Salvatore's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Salvatore's offers huge portions at a reasonable price. The atmosphere and ambiance of the restaurant is great but they could really elevate the experience if they used nice restaurant furniture instead of card tables and plastic office chairs. I have eaten here many times and the food can be very good it just depends on what you order. Stick with their classic dishes, Lasagna, Porketta, Baked Rigatoni, spaghetti and meatballs and you are sure to have a filling pretty good meal! For wine try the Carmenere, if you like a full bodied red, it's from Chile but has the essence of a bold California wine.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MagicLexie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salvatore's Italian Restaurant also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Salvatore's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing