We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in a lovely area!!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Foden Lodge

Front aspect of cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front aspect of cottage
Lounge showing inglenook with wood burning stove, t.v. now flatscreen dining room showing dresser and small inglenook
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Front aspect of cottage
Lounge showing inglenook with wood burning stove, t.v. now flatscreen
dining room showing dresser and small inglenook
double bedroom showing iron framed bed
Rear garden showing furniture
The dining end of the lounge
double bedroom showing washstand
Bathroom upstairs showing bath
Bathroom showing sink next to double bedroom
Mural of Last Judgement, St Nicholas's Church Oddington
Walk-in shower room toilet downstairs
Rear garden
Plants in rear garden
St Nicholas's, 11th Century Church, Lower Oddington
Stocks in Stow on the Wold (10 minute drive)
Local View, Lower Oddington
The Fox Inn, Local Eatery, 2 minute walk from cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Oddington, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
marjoni
Ede, The Netherlands
1 review
“Lovely cottage in a lovely area!!”
Reviewed June 13, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Foden lodge is a nice place to stay! If you are a long person than you maybe have problems with the low ceilings. My husband is 1.92m and he could not stand right up everywere. You really get the feeling of living in a cottage long,long ago. It also is a little dark inside because of the little windows but that is how it was in the time this cottage was build. It is nice to sit in the garden. The Cotswolds are very beautiful to visit! The old villages, the nature, the walks......we loved it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: De locatie!
Liked least: De lage plafonds
Traveling group: Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 24, 2015
Dear Guest to Foden Lodge
I am sorry your husband found he had to bend down in most of the cottage.
The people were certainly smaller in the 17th century or before when the cottage was built. My son also has the same problem at 6'3''. So I do know what you mean. I remember my Grand dad who was a previous owner was 5 foot something. Thank you for your comment.
Beryl Gypps
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvrilandC...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a lovely place to stay”
Reviewed November 8, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Lovely cottage in a delightful area. The village is perfect for a quiet break and other villages and towns are easily accessible. Driving is a dream as the roads are good and relatively quiet.
Although the cottage is very pretty and comfortable we were disappointed that the bedroom we were not using was locked. There were just two of us but it would have been good to see the other bedroom so that we could consider coming with friends or family on another occasion. Finally, the kitchen is small but adequate. However it would be even better if the grill worked.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 13, 2015
I am sorry you were disappointed at not seeing the attic bedroom. It would have been because it had been prepared for a guest coming after you. We have to be sure it has not been used.
However my brother Jeff who lives next door at Foden House, would have been pleased to show it to you.
Apart from that I hope you enjoyed your stay.
Beryl Gypps
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
punkrock1...
1 review
“Peace, quiet and tranquility.”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

A wonderful short break at Foden Lodge in Oddington village. Ensure uve got transport to get out and about as the village only really has a pub which is quite expensive. Moreton in the marsh and Chipping Norton are worth a visit and there are plenty of Board games in the cottage if the weather is dull. The log fire is also an asset as well. A lovely break in a beautiful part of the world. Thanks Beryl.

Rooms Location
Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 4, 2014
Thank you Helen for your review. I agree the local pub is expensive but lots of guests have been delighted with the food. And just 2 minutes walk from Foden Lodge means it is very convenient.
Beryl
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadworth
Reviewed February 27, 2013 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage has retained its simplicity and cosiness without frills
Liked least: Downstairs shower room rather cold and there could have been more hot water for baths
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 16, 2016
Thank you for your review, and for your custom.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
OnAir8002...
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2018 for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing