We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, room, friendly staff.”
Review of Fritton Arms HOTEL

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fritton Arms HOTEL
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fritton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Truly intimiate friendly hotel. Went there for New Year with a friend and the food and service was excellent. Plus they accept dogs, so the dog came too. Overall excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the house look over the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hexer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 174 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2011

My husband, myself and our bulldog stayed for two nights just after Xmas and we would highly reccommend this lovely, lovely hotel. I just typed in Dog friendly hotels in Norfolk and found this little jem! Our room was beautiful, cosy, yet stylishly boutique and spotlessly clean. Flat screen tv, dvd player and the duvet and pillows are to die for (goose down John Lewis - I wish I could have taken them home!) The staff were extremely friendly and only to willing to help and you could not fault the food, it was excellent. The surrounding lake is stunning and we enjoyed the added extra of the Winter Wonderland, which, if you have children is fantastic - ice skating, rides, reindeer and Santas Grotto (obviously at Xmas). Nearby is Southwold on the coast - absolutely delightful! If you are in Norfolk go there!

Room Tip: Small hotel on an estate, quiet all around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We had my 60th birthday bash here at the weekend, the venue, staff and location were perfect. Everything went like clockwork and the staff couldnt have been more helpful, the rooms were great and everything was excellent value for money. can highly reccomend this hotel

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite is great, nice and big and has everything you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We stayed here for a family wedding and had a wonderful time. The staff were very friendly and looked after our every need. The location is amazing, with some beautiful park land right outside the door of the hotel. Our girls couldn't believe their luck to have an adventure play ground right next to the hotel, so much so that our daughter asked if we could come and live here after 5 minutes! The food was excellent and breakfast was a highlight.

Room Tip: Ask for room 6!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fiandpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMadSouthwold, Manager at Fritton Arms HOTEL, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you had enjoyed your visit to Fritton House. The team at Fritton work hard to create the ambience you describe and will be delighted to hear your comments. I'm not sure we have ever considered a permanent residency rate but we are pleased to hear that your daughter would consider it a good idea!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

We took advantage of the special offer - two nights B&B plus a lunch at The Swan in Southwold for £150 - and it was well worth it. We ate in both nights, though after our Swan lunch we didn't want a full evening meal and the staff were very accommodating - one of us had a 'kid's menu' meal, which was fine. In fact, I think I got a grown-up's bread and butter pudding! The food in general was very good and the rooms large and well furnished. The surrounding area is lovely and the hotel lent us bikes to explore. Nearby Somerleyton Hall is well worth a visit. My only niggle would be about attention to detail: occasionally things weren't there that should have been (cups, glasses, hospitality tray refills, toast at breakfast etc.). However, the young enthusiastic staff were always eager to put things right, so none of these things were really much of an issue. Certainly worth a visit, particularly when special offers are available.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martincj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMadSouthwold, Manager at Fritton Arms HOTEL, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Fritton House. Naturally I was delighted to here how much you enjoyed your stay and we will work hard to improve upon the 'detail' to ensure a guests stay is even more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

We were looking for somewhere to celebrate New Years Eve and with hindsight consider ourselves fortunate to get a cancellation at the Fritton House only a few days before the event. It was otherwise fully booked, and as we understand, had been for some time.

This hotel sits within the Somerleyton country estate, overlooks a large lake and is accessed by a long drive, all of which are quite charming. First impressions are that of a large ex-estate managers house standing alone in the middle of acres of parkland. We were pleasantly surprised by two horses emerging from the darkness and leaning over the fence as we took our luggage from the car, which somehow fitted perfectly with the situation. Otherwise, the area was completely silent; you could have heard a pin drop.

We found the staff to be friendly and attentive, with the person checking us in then showing us to our room and demonstrating all the facilities. The room itself was surprisingly large and comfortable, complete with beamed ceilings, and was spotlessly clean throughout. The room was well appointed with a large and comfortable bed, flat screen TV, DVD, sofa, tea/coffee making facilities, toiletries etc. There was also a large bathroom complete with oversized bath and seperate walk in shower all of which are modern and stylish.

The public areas are all in 'gastropub' style with much use made of the latest 'in fashion' pastel colours and design. Service by the bar staff was both friendly and attentive.

Perhaps some allowances can be made for the restaurant, bearing in mind this was New Years Eve. The restaurant was completely full at 8pm including a number of large parties who were clearly all ordering at once and the kitchen must have been in overdrive. The restuarant itself had a very pleasant ambience and the food, although not outstanding, was very good. The lack of bread being served at the start did however stand out to us.

Our feelings were that service, although generally good, was somewhat rushed, although as I say this may have been down to the particular evening.

Unique to this particular night was the promise of free entry to a New Years Eve disco in an adjoining barn, where we were told over 100 people were expected. We wandered over just after 11pm to find the place virtually empty with only about 20 people present, most of whom were either wearing a hoodie or were holding a young baby. As a result we left due to feeling completely out of place. There was however a 'drift' of hotel guests over to the disco just before midnight and we joined them for the chimes. It made for one of the most unusual, memorable and perhaps amusing New Years we've ever experienced; one which I'm sure we'll remember for a long time to come! In saying all of this, I dont think the hotel can be held responsible for any of this and I'm sure that their offer of free entry was well intentioned.

We had a perfect nights sleep follow by a more than adequate breakfast the following morning. In all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will look to return at some point in the future. I would imagine a walk around the lake on a warm spring day followed by a glass of wine and dinner would be perfect. We also felt that this was very good value for money at £140 B & B per room.

Finally, although we didnt have our 'boy' with us on this occasion, we were pleasantly surprised to find out that this place is pet friendly throughout (with the exception of the restaurant understandably). This does mean that dogs are allowed, and will have, stayed in our room. Despite this, there was no sign of smell, hair, staining etc that often accompanies 'pet friendly' hotels. The acres of parkland outside render this perfect for walking and therefore make this an ideal location if you have your pet with you.

In all; highly recommended for an relatively inexpensive, peaceful and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthamptonHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

We stayed at Fritton House in between Christmas and New Year for one night. The place was quite easy to find even though it is (almost) in the middle of nowhere. The hotel has now been leased to Adnams who are slowly going through it, and improving it.

Our room was relatively small but cosy and warm. We had tea and coffee making facilities, offered with very nice homemade biscuits. The housekeeper let us have a look at a couple of the other rooms that were changing over, and they were much larger,. Having said that, all of the rooms are very well furnished, and the bedlinen was very nice indeed.

The bathroom was lovely, and was fitted out with a quality Villeroy and Bosch suite, (lovely deep bath, and posh toiletries) with a quirky shower attachment. The towels were white and fluffy, but it was a shame that there were no bathrobes.

The view from the room was over the patio which would be fantastic in the summer. Unfortunately we couldn't do it justice in the cold and fog!

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and nothing was too much trouble.

The food in the restaurant was delicious-the menu had a wide choice of fresh and local food, accompanied by the ever popular Adnams wine and beer selection. Just perfect!, Breakfast also offered a choice of cooked dishes, and was a hearty and enjoyable start to the day.

The bar situation is a bit odd, and could be a little cosier. The sitting room had an open fire and squashy sofas and was very welcoming.

Adnams are slowly improving the quality of the hotel and it's clear that the money has been spent & prioritised where it matters- i.e in the bedrooms and in the kitchen, and on good staff. I would just comment that the communal areas could probably do with a good coat of paint, and the stair carpets given a bit of a steam clean after such a filthy winter but that's all....

I would certainly come back here again to visit Somerleyton estate, and maybe grab a pint at the Dukes Head pub which was also good. The food itself is a very valid reason to return!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharpie180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fritton
3.9 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,088 reviews
5.3 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
519 reviews
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
#3 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Lowestoft
481 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
223 reviews
4.6 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
#5 of 10 in Lowestoft
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fritton Arms HOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fritton Arms HOTEL

Address: Church Lane, Fritton NR31 9HA, England (Formerly Fritton House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Fritton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fritton
Price Range: $130 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fritton Arms HOTEL 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Fritton Arms HOTEL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fritton House Hotel Fritton
Fritton Hotel Norfolk
Fritton Arms HOTEL Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing