We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveler rating
25
8
3
3
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
8
3
3
10
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 49 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2013

A small hotel trying to be more upmarket than it actually is! Majority of staff don't seem to care or value the customers. Don't even bother with the food - which is as about nice as the state of their kitchen (yuk!). Tiny bar which didn't seem to have much choice. The rooms look like something in your average B&B or Travelodge (just more expensive). Organisation is clearly non-extistant - the management couldn't manage a p**s-up in a brewery!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CR1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaldecottManager, Manager at Caldecott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Hello

Thank you for your comments. Since your stay, the hotel has come under new management and is currently being renovated. The new management have also brought a new chef on board as well as new waiters and waitresses.

We will be taking your comments on board and endeavor to ensure that future stays are a more pleasant experience.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We celebrated our Mothers Day with a meal at Caldecott Hall, it ultimately ended up in us eating KFC!
When we arrived we waited 15 minutes to even get a drink and when we were finally served the poor girl was in tears. Once we were finally seated we had noticed lots of people were leaving their tables before even receiving any food and we're walking out without paying. We ordered our food and waited 40 minutes for our starter. I honestly have to say it was the worst Prawn Cocktail I have ever had, we didn't even have any bread to accompany it. We waited another half an hour to be told the chef had apparently stopped cooking so we were unsure if we would get our main course. After the starter we didn't want it. In the end we decided to leave unlike the rest of the customers.
The only good points of our visit was that the waitress who served us was lovely and sweet, she was having to deal with things that were beyond her control. Also the location is wonderful and it's such a shame that we had such a terrible experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graven30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaldecottManager, Manager at Caldecott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Hello


We are sorry to hear of your experience at Caldecott Hall Hotel on Mothers Day.

The hotel is now under new ownership, and so we will take on board your comments and endeavor to ensure that future visits to the hotel are a much more positive experience.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

I have never been treated with such contempt as a paying client, to be informed by the receptionist that the hotel had new owners and would not honor previous bookings and that I should contact the company who I booked through and ask for a refund, yet when I asked the receptionist if I could book a room with the new owners for the dates I had booked I was told I could be the costs had been increased by the new owners, well stayed here under the old owners and would have again but there is no way I will stay here when the new management have such a poor attitude to paying clients and will recommend to friends, family and clients that they do not book here again also.
Poor service, cold rooms, bad food service and bar service seem to be the new way for this hotel now, would not recommend this hotel to anyone now as under new management.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goggin2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaldecottManager, Manager at Caldecott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Hello

We are sorry to hear of your disappointment. Unfortunately as the hotel is under new ownership, we were unable to accept any Groupon bookings. We have informed Groupon and asked them to refund any customers who have booked.

The room prices at Caldecott Hall Hotel had not been changed since 2009 and so upon takeover, it was decided to make a very modest increase the room cost, in order to make the business more sustainable.

We hope that you will visit us again in the future and will endeavor to ensure that future visits are a more enjoyable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Very poor service, waited 1hr 50mins for cod and chips which incidentally was the only thing offered to us! Very cold and even colder staff. Our table was booked so we hadn't just 'turned up'. We were not shown to a table on arrival so we just sat where we thought we ought to and no one asked if we wanted drinks, the bar was very poorly stocked, all in all a complete disaster. This place has so much potential but at the moment I wouldn't recommend it to my worst enemy, sorry!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaldecottManager, Manager at Caldecott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Hello

We are sorry to hear of you experience at Caldecott Hall Hotel.

The hotel was taken over by new management last week, so we will be taking all of your comments on board and endeavoring to make sure that future stays with us are a much more positive experience

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

turned up at the "fully booked" caldecott hall yesterday to find a very empty car park. we was greeted at reception by a very shattered looking fella in his jeans and fleece who informed us he'd only taken over that morning and smelt like he'd combated the stress of this by drinking what was left of the bar. still, onward and upward i thought. we was given the key to our "upgrade honeymoon suit" and kind of pointed into the direction where we might find it.
the hallway leading to the room was quite warm, if only the same could be said for the room itself! icy cold would pretty much sum it up, tho this atleast matched the water that flowed from the "hot" tap...there was nothing about the room that screamed honey moon suit at us, more travelodge.
after a bit of "chilling" we thought we'd chance our arm in the bar. after standing around for sometime wondering if the place had been abandoned, we was again greeted by the same fella from reception, who it became apparent was the soul worker that night. my wife asked for a glass of merlot, and after a lot of checking of bottles in the bar, leaving to check elsewhere and general fannying about' settled for a gin and tonic, and got tonic and gin! i enquired if the bottled beer was cold...NO. was the answer, and there was only one draft left until they restocked. we was then told our "bangers and mash" were nearly ready, which was a suprise as we'd ordered none...so, there we sat, in a cold empty bar, with warm drinks watching the news on telly...living the dream! i didn't fancy sampling anything from the kitchen to be honest so we decided the 2hr drive home would be more enjoyable...and that's what we done. just over a 2hr stay was more than enough at that shambles...

Room Tip: My tip, go home!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaldecottManager, Manager at Caldecott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Hello

We are sorry to hear of you experience at Caldecott Hall Hotel.

The hotel was taken over by new management last week, so we will be taking all of your comments on board and endeavoring to make sure that future stays with us are a much more positive experience

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews