We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“40th birthday disaster”
Review of Caldecott Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fritton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Caldecott Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Fritton B&B and Inns
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“40th birthday disaster”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I booked this for my daughter and her husband for her 40th birthday. I was looking after their two children so they could have a well deserved weekend away. I received a telephone call from my daughter ayt 7.30 pm stating that they were coming home. It had been a very cold day which they spent in Norwich before going onto the hotel. She said when they got there there was only one man on duty. He said he had taken over the hotel that morning! The room was freezing cold, there was no hot water and the only thing on the menu was sausage and mash because he was cooking it!. My son-in-law had a beer which was flat and the hotel which was supposed to have been fully booked only had one other couple staying.
So much for my birthday treat for my daughter. They had a completely dissapointing experience!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DianefromNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaldecottManager, Manager at Caldecott Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hello

We are sorry to hear of your daughter's experience at Caldecott Hall Hotel.

The hotel was taken over by new management last week, so we will be taking all of your comments on board and endeavoring to make sure that future stays with us are a much more positive experience


Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    8
    3
    3
    10
See reviews for
10
23
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

After a truly awful week where nothing went right we arrived for our break at Caldecott Hall. When we arrived we found that the new owner had only taken over that afrernoon. We immediately assumed that our break was going to be a continuation of our Weeks bad luck. How wrong we were. The hotel exceeded our expectations. The rooms and grounds are lovely. The new owner very welcoming and our meals were just what we needed. This is a little gem and we will certainly return. The only fault we found was that the car park into the actual hotel was not clearly marked. As we arrived after dark we managed to miss the turning. However the owner confirmed it was going to be done.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieByfordAbbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaldecottManager, Manager at Caldecott Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hello

Thank you for your kind words and comments regarding your stay at Caldecott Hall Hotel.

We are glad your enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Just got back from a 'two night' stay at Caldecott Hall. A present bought by our two children for
our wedding anniversary. I now realise I should have looked at 'TripAdvisor' BEFORE checking
in at this venue. Whilst checking in we were asked 'did we want dinner that evening', we said that we hadn'nt made our mind up but would look at menu, we were then handed a menu only to be told that the menu had been printed before they realised that they had not got several of the ingredient's so half the menu was unavailable. !!! THIS WAS JUST THE START of things to come.
We got to our room (room 4 ) which on entry we realised there had been no heating on for some time, it was 'freezing'. We made a hot drink and then decided to see what the rest of the hotel was like. The lounge/ bar was 'very tired' looking and because of a 'bad back' I was unable to sit on any of the chairs, then my husband thought he would have a 'beer' NO BEER.!!
So we then went back to our room, I thought I'd look at the lovely view from our window,!!! only to see run down buildings and the Hotel's rubbish bins. We decided to then go out for a ride to find somewhere warm and somewhere to sit. On our return around 9pm we were met by a 'young lady' who was then locking up the bar and lounge area. We took ourselves to bed to get ourselves warm. In the morning we went to breakfast, which to be fair 'no complaints', plus the young lady who served us was very friendly, we said of the cold room and asked if there was any type of heater we could have for our room to which she replied yes of course and went and got us a 'fan heater' which made the world of difference, to not only our room but also the bathroom which was also 'freezing' up till then. After warming up the room for a while we decided where to go out for the best part of the day, as there was no where at the Hotel in which to stay. However on our return at 3pm we found ourselves LOCKED OUT OF THE HOTEL, !!! At this point I was furious we waited around for over 30mins, the only telephone no. on the front of the Hotel was the 'alarm co.' We then got in the car and drove round to the back of the Hotel to where the Golf reception was, my husband explained our situation to the receptionist, who was at a loss of what to do or say. Although she then said 'had we not been given a key to let ourselves in'!! My husband then realised there was a further key on the key ring with our 'room key'. We then went back to the main entrance and door, and YES WE DID HAVE A MAIN ENTRANCE KEY TO THIS HOTEL. So we then let ourselves in, there was NOBODY AT ALL in the Hotel but us !! All inner doors were locked. We then went out to eat later at around 7pm, still nobody in the Hotel. The next morning we were met by a 'young man'
who said 'yes we were the only guests' that night and he was 'multi tasking' that morning, ie cooking breakfasts and anything else that needed doing, he was most 'charming' and said he had been there 'two weeks'.
The whole experience was completely 'bizarre'
We met someone who 'booked' us in, (never saw again,) a waitress, (never saw again,) a bar lady, ( never saw again,) then a young man at breakfast who said 'goodbye' to us.

Room Tip: Do not go there. It's the best tip I can give.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaldecottManager, Manager at Caldecott Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hello

We are sorry to hear of you experience at Caldecott Hall Hotel.

The hotel was taken over by new management last week, so we will be taking all of your comments on board and endeavoring to make sure that future stays with us are a much more positive experience

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

7th wedding anniversary, hooray, so we booked a room at Caldecott hall. The lovely manager Paul and I exchanged emails prior to our stay and he gave us a free upgrade to the bridal/honeymoon suite as it was our special occasion! We were very excited after not ever having a child free night in the past 8 years, and for the past three years we've been sharing a double bed with a toddler and a labrador.
We arrived alongside another couple (who we didn't know, for those of you with dirty minds!), and went to the reception to check in. Nobody there....ring bell....nothing....15 minutes of waiting, bell ringing and exchanging awkward small talk with other couple, lady comes to check us in, offers no apology for the wait despite the male of the other couple literally dragging her out of the staff area. Checked in. Went to room, excited, feels ice cold but that's a minor issue (we are still wearing coats!!!). Light on, SHOCK!! TWO single beds! Not the romantic room we were promised. Back to reception, wait 10 minutes, lady comes, all rooms taken and although she was lovely, her only advise was to push both beds together!! Ok, well we're an easy couple and not much bothers us, and not to let the minor issue of single beds put us off, we venture back to the room. Heck it was COLD!!! Heating on full blast but never took off the edge (main thermostat for the entire building must be on so low to save money)...Push beds together, easy, they're on wheels. No hook to put them together and once you're anywhere near the crack they separate resulting in husband falling through (was my highlight of the stay)! Ok so cold, we'll have a hot drink, 2 tea bags, lots of sugar, couple of sachets of coffee and 2, yes TWO little pots of milk and a pack of biscuits which looked like they had been stampled over by a herd of elephants. OK neither of us like black tea/coffee so we heads/tails it to see who can have the hot drink as neither of us fancy lingering around the reception area for another 10-15 minutes. He won. I run bath. Water pressure so low, water trickles but hallelujah, after 12 minutes, the water begins to get lukewarm. Half an hour later I was sitting in a half filled bath admiring the dirty soil pipes of the toilet when my husband joined me producing the complementary Molton Brown shower gel (was impressed!) and he offered to scrub my back. Knock on the door (several times) - not sure who/what they wanted? Very cold, run to our separate beds wrapped in our towels and thought we'd take full advantage of having no toddler or labradors in our bed, and went straight to sleep. Not quite the romantic evening we wanted!
After a bad sleep (not the hotel's fault, except the coldness), I thought I'd have a shower, ran the bloody thing for 15 minutes and never any heat. Had a cold wash in the sink. Breakfast: sat down in the cold room, wasn't given an option of breakfast, just asked whether we'd like mushrooms and tomatoes with our fry up! Breakfast was greasy but the bacon and sausage was lovely. Then I went into shock. INSTANT COFFEE at breakfast? Come on guys? It's 2013, I seriously believe that fresh coffee is compulsory in hotels, no? We left almost immediately - the coffee was the deal breaker!
This place has so much potential to be a wonderful place, but the coldness, the lac of hot water and the scrimping and saving on the room sundries and the coffee at breakfast just make this hotel, which could potentially be amazing seem more like a youth hostel.
In all seriousness, we could have got over the bed/room situation despite the disappointment, but the little things and attention to detail are overlooked, this place has so much potential but the way it is currently being run is just driving it into the ground. Such a shame and thanks for ruining our anniversary (joking); you're just lucky we aren't fussy customers as I think most other couples in our situation would have complained so much or demanded their money back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moshi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaldecottManager, Manager at Caldecott Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hello

We are sorry to hear of you experience at Caldecott Hall Hotel.

The hotel was taken over by new management last week, so we will be taking all of your comments on board and endeavoring to make sure that future stays with us are a much more positive experience

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Booked this hotel on a GroupOn deal.

On arrival we had a warm welcome at reception, but a far from warm welcome in the room (room 4) as the heating hadn't been turned on and the room was like a fridge. It took 4 or 5 hours with the heating turned on full to take the chill off and then we found the heating seemed to go off at nine o'clock.

Other little things could have been easily resolved, niggled us.

broken toilet handle - you could still flush it, but the handle cover was missing, which makes cleaning impossible. Bathroom door edge was dirty with finger marks, which again is a bit of a hygiene issue.

Only two tea bags (and coffee) and four milk pots left - a bit stingy.

Breakfast - no salt and pepper on the tables. Breakfast was ample, but pretty greasy - chef definitely needs to learn how to cook fried bread.

Didn't eat in the restaurant, but went to the Dukes Head in Somerleyton a few miles down the road - definitely recommend.

On the whole our stay at the Caldecotte was ok. I would recommend if you could get a cheap deal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MooCake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaldecottManager, Manager at Caldecott Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hello

We are sorry to hear of you experience at Caldecott Hall Hotel.

The hotel was taken over by new management last week, so we will be taking all of your comments on board and endeavoring to make sure that future stays with us are a much more positive experience

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Had a very comfortable stay here, lovely little hotel, the rooms are quite basic but very clean, and the shower was amazing! Good food, excellent value for money with the groupon deal! Lovely view from the room. Staff were very friendly we received a very warm welcome and the service was excellent. All in all a nice little getaway. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaldecottManager, Manager at Caldecott Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hello

Thank you for your kind words and comments regarding your stay at Caldecott Hall Hotel.

We are glad to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We booked a two night weekend break at this hotel. On arrival we were greeted by reception who explained they had run out of oil so there was no heating. They had provided a fan heater in the room to take the chill off though. There was no apology for this at all. We checked in and was told where to find the room and if we had any problems to dial 0 from the telephone in the room.
The room (chilly with only a fan heater) and the bathroom, freezing with no heating. I wanted to have a shower and found that the oil powered this also so not only no heat but no hot water either. Went to dial reception but no telephone!!!
Went down and was told they are collecting oil the next day. He did not seem aware or concerned that the guests had no hot water and again no apology!!
Luckily the next day all was back to normal.
Breakfast was horrible. Everything in the full English tasted the same, tasted like it was fried in dirty / old oil.
Walls are paper thin, only one tea bag left in room, if we wanted towels changing during our stay it would have been £2.50 per towel.
Not great value for money - would not recommend!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fi-Si-holidaymad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan G, Owner at Caldecott Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
I am sorry you have not enjoyed your stay I can assure you this is not the norm but due to circumstances i.e. the very severe weather and lots of snow our supplier for oil was not able to keep up with demand and we had to source some locally until they could get to us. As you comment in your review this was rectified the very next day so it was only one day where there was no hot water or heating for your two day stay. Tea and coffee is complimentary and there is always a supply in the room upon arrival and replenished every day, or, as you did, you can always ask for more.

The charge for extra towels is an industry standard and to help with the environment and is not aimed to offend anyone.

As for the breakfast again I am sorry you didnt enjoy it, all our ingredients and cooking oil is fresh every day.

I would like to thank you for bringing to our attention that the phone has disappeared from your room, I will of course get this replaced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caldecott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caldecott Hotel

Property: Caldecott Hotel
Address: Caldecott Hall Beccles Road, Fritton NR31 9EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Fritton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fritton
Hotel Class:3 star — Caldecott Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 400 acres of rural countryside with easy access to nearby golf course and spa facilities. Set away from the main road. Restaurant and Bar for guests or non residents. All 8 bedrooms are en-suite and all have tea, coffee, biscuits complimentary. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Caldecott Hall Hotel Fritton
Caldecott Hotel Fritton, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing