We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveler rating
25
8
3
3
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
8
3
3
10
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 49 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We booked a two night weekend break at this hotel. On arrival we were greeted by reception who explained they had run out of oil so there was no heating. They had provided a fan heater in the room to take the chill off though. There was no apology for this at all. We checked in and was told where to find the room and if we had any problems to dial 0 from the telephone in the room.
The room (chilly with only a fan heater) and the bathroom, freezing with no heating. I wanted to have a shower and found that the oil powered this also so not only no heat but no hot water either. Went to dial reception but no telephone!!!
Went down and was told they are collecting oil the next day. He did not seem aware or concerned that the guests had no hot water and again no apology!!
Luckily the next day all was back to normal.
Breakfast was horrible. Everything in the full English tasted the same, tasted like it was fried in dirty / old oil.
Walls are paper thin, only one tea bag left in room, if we wanted towels changing during our stay it would have been £2.50 per towel.
Not great value for money - would not recommend!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fi-Si-holidaymad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan G, Owner at Caldecott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

I am sorry you have not enjoyed your stay I can assure you this is not the norm but due to circumstances i.e. the very severe weather and lots of snow our supplier for oil was not able to keep up with demand and we had to source some locally until they could get to us. As you comment in your review this was rectified the very next day so it was only one day where there was no hot water or heating for your two day stay. Tea and coffee is complimentary and there is always a supply in the room upon arrival and replenished every day, or, as you did, you can always ask for more.

The charge for extra towels is an industry standard and to help with the environment and is not aimed to offend anyone.

As for the breakfast again I am sorry you didnt enjoy it, all our ingredients and cooking oil is fresh every day.

I would like to thank you for bringing to our attention that the phone has disappeared from your room, I will of course get this replaced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

quaint country hotel with rustic style food (real lumps of potato in the mash). Restaurant could have been a bit warmer but young lady serving was polite and welcoming. Will return in the summer for a round on the adjacent golf course.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulthetrainer_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Service great food awful . Poor quality poor presentation . Steak with no flavour , sea bass with no meat mash and ratatouille thrown on a plate . Never again . The lady serving was the only good thing about the experience she was warm friendly and good at her job .

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Mickeymickster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

My husband & I stayed here overnight for a wedding in the summer. This is a small hotel with between 8 & 10 rooms. Very small reception but adequate for the size of the hotel. Our room was of a good size, airy and bright. Bathroom was also bright, clean & airy.

There was good choices for breakfast including a cooked breakfast if desired. Overall we had a pleasant stay here and enjoyed the lovely country surrounding grounds. We would have no hesitation of staying here again as the room rate was also very reasonable.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Sammie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We arrived at the hall for afternoon lunch without a booking and were welcomed with a warm smile.

We ordered the cod and chips and it was five star! Gorgeous meal and a lovely quite atmosphere!

Five stars all around!

Naz and sarj

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarji_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews