We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury stay!”
Review of Kentisbury Grange

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kentisbury Grange
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kentisbury
Mere, United Kingdom
1 review
“Luxury stay!”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We had a fantastic overnight stay at The Grange. Our room was luxurious, tastefully designed and comfortable. My only quibbles, which are more personal preference, were there was no complementary bubble bath to enjoy in the huge roll top bath and I didn't find the pillows particularly comfortable. We dined in the restaurant and the food was exquisite however the tables were a bit too close for comfort. All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We will definitely be making a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan C, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Klara
Thank you for your Kind words and choosing to stay at Kentisbury Grange. I have added some notes to your details to ensure there is lots of bubble bath in the room and we get some firmer pillows in for your next stay. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grange.
Ivan Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    53
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
78
371
1
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Canarias, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival both my girlfriend and I were mesmorized by the breath taking scenary. From the word go the staff could not have done enough for us. As we parked the car we were immediately greeted by a young man who had stopped what he was doing in order to help carry our luggage. Things from here only seemed to get better and better... The accomdation itself (we stayed in a lodge) was a great balance between, comfort, gizmos and tranquility. There were peacocks and various other animals wondering around the site and our lodge even boasted an outdoor jacuzzi.

Cold, the elements and the usual vacation spoliers didnt even rear their head. Warmth was in abundance, hot water on demand, plenty of pressure (my pet hate) and all the essential tools provided for a weeks stay. Ive been to a few similar types of hotel / lodges that can be some what stingy on the provisions. However this was not the case at kentisbury grange, there was plenty of coffee, tioletries and fresh towels too last.

Overall our stay was a genuine 10 / 10, the wireless was a bit suspect but I think this was subject to our lodge only as everywhere else seemed to be fine. The restaurant itself was also a main highlight but I am going to write a seperate review so they recieve the kudos. I definetly reccomend this place if you looking at a break in and around the Devon area.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank xander82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan C, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Hi Xander,
Thank you for your kind words about your stay with us! Our Inspiration Lodges are very well kitted out for self-catering purposes - we are happy to hear that you agree. Looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Devon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

A most enjoyable overnight stay for a birthday treat
Greeted by name on arrival, welcomed, shown around and an unfussy check in
Tastefully renovated, rooms with everything you need with a luxury bathroom
Excellent dinner (keep the chef!) friendly service
strongly recommended

Room Tip: room 5 is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLW78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan C, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are delighted to hear that you found your room to be luxurious and thoroughly enjoyed your birthday with us - that's certainly what we aim for! Our chef really is a keeper. Looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel. Thoroughly enjoyed the large bathroom with underfloor heating and large roll top bath.
Enjoyed both dinner and breakfast, great food!
Lovely attention to detail.
We only stayed one night, but it was very enjoyable; no complaints.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan C, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Hi Charlotte, many thanks for your kind words - the underfloor heating is a hit with many. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed in a Luxury suite for a Valentines dinner, bed and breakfast deal. Every aspect of the experience was first class - room, restaurant and service. All the staff were helpful friendly and courteous, the food was superb and at this price the room was quite possibly the best room we have ever stayed in anywhere in the world. Uncommonly rare attention to detail. Highly recommended. Deserves to do well - try it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chaz-saz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan C, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your Valentine's stay. We pride ourselves on our attention to detail and friendly staff. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

From the moment we arrived the service level we received was outstanding. Each department went out of their way look after my children (18 months & 3 years old) my parents (aged) and myself. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they acted immediately if we needed anything.

We stayed in the lodge over looking the lake and it was beautiful inside and very clean. Filled with everything you need for a family stay. My MIL spent two nights in the hotel and that was beautiful too!

We would like to personally thank Sanjeev and Beverly for going over and above their duties to look after us. We are just sorry we never got to say goodbye to you :(

I would not hesitate to recommend Kentisbury Grange as a place to stay.

Room Tip: All their rooms are beautifully decorated and the service is just amazing. It would be hard to find...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twolittleos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan C, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted to hear that your family enjoyed your stay in one of our Inspiration Lodges. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in one of the Lodges, overlooking the Lake. First class service from the staff .... Could not fault their attention to detail and willingness to help. Housekeeping staff are friendly and efficient. The Lodges boast all sorts of gadgets, mood lighting indoors and out, and are really cosy despite their size. Will definitely return!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Happytourist2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan C, General Manager at Kentisbury Grange, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Lodges. We pride ourselves on our customer service and hope that our Lodges provide everything a family would need for a self-catering holiday. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kentisbury
22.5 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Martinhoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
7.0 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
9.2 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kentisbury Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kentisbury Grange

Property: Kentisbury Grange
Address: Kentisbury, Kentisbury, Exmoor National Park EX31 4NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Kentisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kentisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kentisbury Grange 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kentisbury Grange – where classic British heritage embraces contemporary luxuries with style, romance and informal elegance. Beautifully restored to its distinguished best this fine Victorian country house hotel is an inspiring blend of glamour, history, nature and indulgence. Kentisbury Grange is the ultimate chic retreat, romantic getaway and luxury country escape all rolled into one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, LateRooms and HRS so you can book your Kentisbury Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing