We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style over substance.”

The Coach House By Michael Caines
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Kentisbury
Price range: $46 - $59
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Michael Caines restaurant, The Coach House by Michael Caines is a culinary experience that will change the way you think about restaurant dining. Located in the majestically landscaped grounds of the Kentisbury Grange Hotel, and surrounded by gently rolling fields, The Coach House by Michael Caines - awarded two AA Rosettes in 2013 - is a masterpiece of contemporary rustic design and innovative yet classic cuisine. This 17th century former coaching house, now a Michael Caines restaurant, boasts a stunning walnut and marble bar as its centrepiece with a glass balustrade oak staircase and handmade artisan furniture helping to complete this elegantly stylish space. The main 50 cover restaurant and bar downstairs has views of the chefs at work lending an element of gastro theatre to the proceedings, whilst upstairs the sumptuous lounge is the perfect setting for pre dinner cocktails or post dinner coffee.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We ate at the Coach House at the start of August for a birthday celebration. Having previously visited the premises during a day out in the local area I was really looking forward to my special evening in a glamorous location. But it ended up being all style over substance.
We couldn't fault the kitchen for the food (it was fab) but service left much to be desired.
A simple "have you visited us before?" or introduction to the running of service would have been appreciated. There was definite lack of communication between waiters; we were served by no less than 4 people, we received a mis-mash of drinks (mine was actually forgotten), and nobody could remember who had ordered what. There were only 2 tables in at the time (including our table of 6!).
The staff were stuffy & unapproachable, particularly the maitre d'e who was very condescending.
Nobody even came back to check if we were happy with our food! We actually felt quite abandoned and judged, we could sense the staff were talking about us as my mother made certain requests (chips as a starter as she didn't like anything else on the menu; not the worst thing in history! Especially as everyone else in the party ordered a starter from the menu).
It was evident some of the staff were new, this wouldn't have been so much of a problem of they had interacted with us a little. Nobody looked happy or really gave us an explanation of what we were eating. Nobody recommended drinks to compliment our food. Basic up selling and basic customer service.
I have eaten in several Michelin starred/silver service establishments and this place falls far from the mark. It looks great on the outside but the actual experience is poor. We paid well over £200 for our meal and to be honest, it was definitely not worth that. We did not feel like valued customers, and shall not be returning (not that we were told "hope to see you again soon"). Such a shame :(

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank NightingaleLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter F, General Manager at The Coach House By Michael Caines, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Hello Nightingale Lane,
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Coach House Restaurant. Customer feedback is very important to us, especially at this time as we have undergone some changes in the restaurant.

Your experience happened at a time when we had a temporary restaurant manager in place. We took on a new restaurant manager last week who brings with him a very high level of service, attention to detail and a great deal of experience.

We are very sorry to hear that our service did not live up to your expectations for your birthday celebration and kindly request that you contact our General manager on gm@kentisburygrange.com to discuss your experience further.

We hope that at some point in future you will have the opportunity to experience the normally high standards of service the team at The Coach House strive to provide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

378 - 382 of 478 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2014

We experienced good service, nice food, nice atmosphere. The menu I felt could have been a bit more imaginative. But overall we felt it was much improved over our last visit, so will go again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Clare720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter F, General Manager at The Coach House By Michael Caines, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Hi Clare 720,
Many thanks for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed good service and a nice atmosphere. Our menu changes frequently, so be sure to check in with us soon and experience our new dishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Fairly limited menu but very good quality food. Service was polite but slightly confused. Exactly the same again at breakfast.

Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter F, General Manager at The Coach House By Michael Caines, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Hi Andrew,
We are sorry to hear that you found the service to be confused. We have recently taken on a lot of new staff, including a new restaurant manager. We are striving to provide great service and appreciate the feedback. We hope that you will get the opportunity to visit The Coach House again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Hate to say it because I love this place but it's gone off the boil. Upon arrival the new staff were less attentive than our previous visits (I've not done a new review each time), we were not offered an aperitif, staff were unfamiliar with the menu and did not know what the amuse bouches were. there seemed to be a lot of staff bustling about but not really doing an awful lot. Previously we have struggled to choose because everything sounded great, this time we struggled for the opposite reason. Food was okay, but nowhere near as good as the previous chef. Food was not that warm, okay I realise that I probably should have said something, but at no point did anyone bother to ask if everything was okay. We will return but not for a while. I realise that this review goes against the flow of others but having been here several times before and raved about it, this meal was disappointing. I have spoken to other locals who have told me the same thing so hopefully things will return to their previous high standards.

1  Thank DevonEddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter F, General Manager at The Coach House By Michael Caines, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Hi DevonEddy,
We have tried to identify which table you were on using your Tripadvisor name but have been unable to do so.

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience as much as you have done previously. We have several new staff members and are striving to ensure our customer service is of a high standard.

Could you possibly email the General manager directly on gm@kentisburygrange.com and he will be in touch to discuss your experience in more detail.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We had a lovely evening at the coach house celebrating our friends 11th anniversary
the staff were great nothing is to much trouble,and the food is top class
about time north devon needs fine dining at great prices
Well done guys ,see you soon

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bigballs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter F, General Manager at The Coach House By Michael Caines, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Hi there,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your meal at The Coach House. We are delighted that your friends enjoyed their 11th Anniversary and that you found the food to be top class and good value. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coach House By Michael Caines also viewed

Challacombe, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 
Barnstaple, Devon
Dunster, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to The Coach House By Michael Caines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing