We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An asset to North Devon”

The Coach House By Michael Caines
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Kentisbury
Price range: $46 - $59
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Michael Caines restaurant, The Coach House by Michael Caines is a culinary experience that will change the way you think about restaurant dining. Located in the majestically landscaped grounds of the Kentisbury Grange Hotel, and surrounded by gently rolling fields, The Coach House by Michael Caines - awarded two AA Rosettes in 2013 - is a masterpiece of contemporary rustic design and innovative yet classic cuisine. This 17th century former coaching house, now a Michael Caines restaurant, boasts a stunning walnut and marble bar as its centrepiece with a glass balustrade oak staircase and handmade artisan furniture helping to complete this elegantly stylish space. The main 50 cover restaurant and bar downstairs has views of the chefs at work lending an element of gastro theatre to the proceedings, whilst upstairs the sumptuous lounge is the perfect setting for pre dinner cocktails or post dinner coffee.
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

I booked the Coach House as a birthday treat (for myself). Initial impressions were very favourable; impeccable service and a very pleasant atmosphere. There was a good range of dishes available on the Sunday lunchtime, and a wine list which, given the fact that this is a fine dining restaurant, was quite reasonably priced. Overall I enjoyed the meal; not quite the five star experience I was hoping for but the potential is definitely there.

Thank Devon_Commuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan C, General Manager at The Coach House By Michael Caines, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your birthday treat with us and found the wine to be good value for money. Customer feedback is very important to us and we appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

419 - 423 of 478 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

I ate here on Christmas Day 2013, whilst staying in one of the Lodges. A price tag of 95 pounds per head, meant that I had high expectations of what to expect, and I was not disappointed! The staff were all excellent and quietly attentive, but the jewel in the crown was the food quality and taste. I can honestly say it was first rate ... I had no room for desert, but my husband said it was the best Christmas pudding he had ever had. Hats off to the Kitchen!

Thank Happytourist2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan C, General Manager at The Coach House By Michael Caines, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Hello and thank you for your comments. Christmas is a special time of year and we were delighted that you chose to spend it in our company. Our head chef Thomas Carr prides himself on top quality, locally sourced produce and delicious hand-crafted dishes, so he will be ecstatic to hear how much you enjoyed your Christmas dinner! We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Obviously living in North Devon,you hear about good places to eat and we were very happy that we had lunch at the Coach house! Sumptious starter,magnificent main and delicious dessert!
Staff excellent and very reasonably priced-I'm just about to reserve a table again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan C, General Manager at The Coach House By Michael Caines, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Hi Nigel and thanks for your kind words. We are happy to hear that you found our food delicious and good value, and our staff excellent. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Visited here with my family as had heard really good things about it and it certainly didn't disappoint!
The food was amazing and the staff very attentive. Will certainly be returning!

Thank Becky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan C, General Manager at The Coach House By Michael Caines, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Hi Becky, thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your food and our friendly service. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This restaurant just across the courtyard from the hotel, offered a wide choice. The food was delicious and the wine served at the correct temperature. The staff were friendly and efficient. We will be eating there again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Silverlady2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan C, General Manager at The Coach House By Michael Caines, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thank you for your kind words, we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coach House By Michael Caines also viewed

Challacombe, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to The Coach House By Michael Caines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing