We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”

The Coach House By Michael Caines
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Kentisbury
Price range: $45 - $58
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Michael Caines restaurant, The Coach House by Michael Caines is a culinary experience that will change the way you think about restaurant dining. Located in the majestically landscaped grounds of the Kentisbury Grange Hotel, and surrounded by gently rolling fields, The Coach House by Michael Caines - awarded two AA Rosettes in 2013 - is a masterpiece of contemporary rustic design and innovative yet classic cuisine. This 17th century former coaching house, now a Michael Caines restaurant, boasts a stunning walnut and marble bar as its centrepiece with a glass balustrade oak staircase and handmade artisan furniture helping to complete this elegantly stylish space. The main 50 cover restaurant and bar downstairs has views of the chefs at work lending an element of gastro theatre to the proceedings, whilst upstairs the sumptuous lounge is the perfect setting for pre dinner cocktails or post dinner coffee.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I can't believe there's something this good in north Devon. Everything's right about it, from the food to the decor it's great. Must be, have been twice in a week!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DevonEddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan C, General Manager at The Coach House By Michael Caines, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Twice in a week - what a lovely review! Thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    50
    17
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Michelin Quality Food”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We had every breakfast and evening meal of our 7 night stay in the coach house. The food is delicious, presented beautifully and the staff are excellent. Well done all of you!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PaulB918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan C, General Manager at The Coach House By Michael Caines, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hello Paul and thank you for your review. We thoroughly enjoyed seeing you at The Coach House each night of your stay and were so glad you chose to join us so often! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
1 review
“the finest dining in North Devon?”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Been to the Coach house twice now. Both times the quality of food has been superb. It's definitely a cut above everywhere else I've been in North Devon, and the prices are reasonable for the quality and service (£35 per person for three courses with a glass of wine and a soft drink each).

Local ingredients used with imagination and panache. Its the details that make it so good - the fried egg with smoked duck was simple in concept and therefore has to be executed perfectly. Fish was cooked just-right, and the little accoutrements on each plate are exquisite surprises of taste and texture.

I've recommended it to loads of people.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan C, General Manager at The Coach House By Michael Caines, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hi Colin and thanks for your fab review! We are so happy to hear that you found our restaurant to be good value for money and top quality food. Head Chef Thomas Carr aims to make every single dish a stunning creation and will be delighted to hear you loved the fish. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tranquility Base”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Friendly and efficient service of a well balanced and varied menu accompanied by an eclectic wine list.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nigel_etc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan C, General Manager at The Coach House By Michael Caines, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Splendid evening”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had heard this place was good and so decided to give it a try. We went with two friends for a birthday treat. I was so happy to see a fabulous menu of Devonian ingredients and dishes, done with a twist. When the meals came we were not disappointed. The apple cake pudding was beautiful. Their fish is excellent. The only criticisms are that the food could have been hotter and the wine list did not have a great range of prices. The decor is very nice and comfortable although I would have preferred to see Ravilious photographs rather than generic prints on the walls, to reflect the wonderful Devon food. I will return to this place - it's really very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daddypig_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan C, General Manager at The Coach House By Michael Caines, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your birthday meal and our Devonian ingredients - a passion of our head chef Thomas Carr. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coach House By Michael Caines also viewed

Challacombe, Exmoor National Park
 
Dunster, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to The Coach House By Michael Caines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing