We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Omg!!! Delicious food”

The Old Station House Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Kentisbury
Price range: $5 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A traditional pub and restaurant in rural North Devon at Blackmoor Gate on the Old Lynton to Barnstaple Railway. Food served all day from 9.30am. Personalised mini jar jam wedding favours also Chutney and Honey. Small shop selling basic groceries including Milk, Cheese, Ham, Bacon, Bread, Jam, Toilet Paper, Toothpaste, Shampoo etc
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

To be honest we dashed in here because it was raining.... omg were so glad we did.
We ordered 2 ham and pickle baguettes and we sooo impressed (hard to do). Baguettes were hot and perfectly baked. Home baked ham, delicious. Home made coleslaw was also delicious. Worth a detour.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank CJH2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It really was an average experience. Staff were nice and helpful but food etc. Was just average to the extent we would not go again and I think it was bit overpriced.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Econolodgesurvivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2019 via mobile

This use to be the the station which was converted into a pub when the line closed.
It is a cosy friendly place which is slightly shabby which adds to its charm.
The food is home cooked and very good. The presentation of the dishes is a bit homely but the food is very tasty. The portions are very generous.
There is a full bar. They sell provisions like milk and eggs.
It is set in a large plot with nice views. There are goats, chickens and pigs in the grounds. A nice children’s area.
We have been many times when visiting the area.
Plenty of parking available. They do take bookings.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank WarwickshireMarakesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2019 via mobile

Enjoyed a pleasant lunch after a walk around Wistpoundland. It is a large pub with a wide menus at competitive prices for the quality of food on offer.
Chef came and delivered the food personally.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank deigh2nr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2019 via mobile

We visited this restaurant today for lunch and the restaurant was very quiet. Definitely not half full by any means. We arrived at 11.45, had coffee and then ordered lunch at around 12.20. Our lunch finally arrived at around 1.30.

We asked the gentlemen, who I assume was the manager how long our lunch would be only to be told there's a large table to be served before you so you will get it when it's ready.

When the food arrived it was mainly worth the wait, with the exception of the chips which were dry, and the sausage. Would definitely not recommend the sausage, egg and chips.

The ladies toilets were not clean with toilet paper on the floor and one of the toilets had no paper at all. The paint on the toilet door was very dirty.

Staff seemed miserable, with no smiles. It looked like there was a lack of staff.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Mick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Station House Inn also viewed

Kentisbury, Exmoor National Park
Parracombe, Exmoor National Park
 
Barnstaple, Devon
Challacombe, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to The Old Station House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing