We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at Nightengales”
Review of Nightingails

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nightingails
Ranked #1 of 3 Kentisbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We have just returned home, having spent three very enjoyable nights at Nightingales. On our arrival we were made to feel most welcome by Jim and Gail, who are friendly and open and have a lovely sense of humour. Our room and bed was extremely comfortable, the standard of cleanliness excellent and the accommodation generally, was well maintained. There was a wide choice for breakfast, to include several vegetarian options - most unusual. The food was cooked well and presented in a pleasing manner. Jim and Gail were helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The area generally is beautiful, with some wonderful scenery, walks and places to visit. There are also some very good pubs/restaurants in close proximity, that serve very good evening meals. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and intend to return sometime in the near future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nightingails, Owner at Nightingails, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind remarks, we try our best and as Gail will tell you, I'm very trying!!
Look forward to welcoming you back, Jim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 55 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had a lovely relaxing stay with Jim and Gail,starting with a very welcome cup of tea and cake on arrival.Our room was very comfortable and clean with a little chocolate surprise on returning to our room later every day.There was a lovely choice at breakfast, nothing was too much trouble for Jim and Gail who were excellent and very friendly hosts. We would highly recommend .

Room Tip: We stayed in Swallow room which was the largest room.-- no noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnHLoughborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had a lovely relaxing four nights at Nightingails, we were made to feel very welcome, nothing was too much trouble for Jim or Gail. The rooms were lovely and exceptionally clean. The breakfasts were yummy! The garden was fantastic to relax in and soak up the countryside. Highly recommend, we will be going back!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Julers5143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Gail & Jim were all out to please and they succeeded! Breakfast was wonderful, the garden and the surrounding area beautiful and relaxing. We had the smallest room, Wren, which we would have found too small if we had stayed longer than three nights, but it had a comfortable bed, was well equipped and excellent value. We would come again if we needed to.
We found the beaches of Croyde and Saunton easy to drive to.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

From the moment we arrived we were made so welcome, it was as if we had known Gail & Jim for a very long time. The rooms are well furnished and every little thing is well thought out, and the breakfast is to die for, we have already booked for September and that certainly won't be the last. Give it a go you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: we like a large room, so the swallow room was all of that
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The owners, Gail and Jim, provide everything one could possibly need for a stay in their delilghtful guest house. The accommodation is beautifully presented and the standard of care and cleanliness excellent. We were made very welcome and encouraged to come and go as needed. It was so nice to be able to use the Guest Lounge and a thoughtful touch that tea and coffee making facilities were available in addition to those in our room. Lots of reading material is provided plus local guide books and Gail and Jim do a wonderful job in recommending places to visit. Kingsbury Mill is ideally placed for exploring North Devon or simply for providing a relaxing, peaceful weekend away. We are more than happy to recommend a stay at Night in Gails and look forward to a return visit. We also would recommend a meal at the nearby Pyne Arms, East Down EX31 4LX.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We arrived quite late in the evening from a business meeting Gail and Jim made us welcome straight away with tea and cake!
Breakfast the following day was great and they were very helpful with directions and places to visit. We felt very relaxed in the spotless but homely environment. We found this to be a relatively unknown area of Devon with beautiful countryside and many places to visit. Look forward to visiting again.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nightingails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nightingails

Address: Kentisbury Mill | Mill Lane, Kentisbury, Exmoor National Park EX31 4NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Kentisbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kentisbury
Price Range: $79 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country house Accommodation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Nightingails reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing