We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value with fabulous views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandrock Holiday Hostel
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great value with fabulous views”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I am definitely going back to the Sandrock. Rodney and Margaret are lovely. Very helpful about the area and they supply tea and coffee which is great. The hostel is clean and homely and the views are outstanding. The price is also great. I can't recommend this place highly enough.

Room Tip: There are 2 dorms and at least 1 private room. You can request that the dorms are single sex if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
10
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Craigavon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Sandrock Hostel is an ideal place to stay. My second time there. I have recommended Sandrock to several people and everyone have loved it. The location is stunning and the hostel has all the comforts of home. Rodney and Margaret are two lovely people who go out of their way to make you feel at home. The place is spotless, free wifi, musical instruments to borrow, books to swap, maps and information Margaret delivers hot tea and biscuits when you arrive and if she knows your coming back after a day out she will do the same. Absolutely brilliant!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyconway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

I have been in Malin Head a few times before but somehow I had never had the chance to stay at the Sandrock Hostel. And well, I have been missing out on something! This hostel simply rocks: most clean that a lot of 4 stars hotels I have been to, quiet and at the same time lively, it stands just upon a pier with a great view on the ocean. The owners are really kind and funny, welcoming every person with a warm cup of coffee and cookies. They'll lend you guitars and other instruments if you like to play in the hostel common room (which has an amazing view on the ocean by the way).

Only thing I should warn you: they have only 2 ten dorm beds (but they are tidy and there’s room for everyone) and there's not much more to do around other than drinking in the local pubs (3 all at a stone's throw) and walking around (but I think that if you are going to Malin Head these are the main thing you like to do in Ireland!).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fra-Fighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S30052nellville Ga.
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Want an inexpensive fabulous place to stay in one of the most beautiful places on earth? You have it all here! Located in Irelands most northernly point ,Rodney and Margot have provided a wonderful hostel from what started out as their own holiday house . PROS free wifi, swap library, 2 roomy clean well appointed dorm rooms with 10 beds each, 2 dorm bathrooms, and common bathroom, wonderful common room, musical intruments available,outside picnic table and BBQ grill, bike rental, walking tours written in several languages, above the fishing pier where you can buy fresh seafood. Cook in the fully stocked kitchen complete with recipe books. loads of albums on the history of the area, Across the way is a beach of wonderful rocks filled with semi precious stones, views that will knock your socks off, you may spy dolphins in the bay and in season hugh basking sharks. Located within 2km of Seaview pub, restraurant, & grocery store. Rodney is a wealth of info on the area and provides a free handdrawn map to help you get around. CONS no credt or debit cards, rocks, gathered from beach were taken away by customs in carry on they say they could be weapons!! I was also told if everyone took them, eventually their would be no beach...my bad. But everthing else GOOD!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snellvillegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2008

This is by far the best hostel I've ever stayed in. It is in a stunningly beautiful locale, with lots of sights within (brisk) walking distance. Upon arrival, the owner provides a hand drawn map of the area and provides directions to all the sights.The common area is cozy (woodburning stove!) and clean, with a full and well-stocked kitchen. Multiple, very clean bathrooms and showers. I hope to return for a longer stay someday.

  • Liked — The location. I never thought places this beautiful existed in real life.
  • Disliked — Cash only - no credit cards - and very limited (pay) phone access for those with no cell service.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank miraluz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malin Head
16.7 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
888 reviews
6.0 mi away
Malin Hotel
Malin Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malin
207 reviews
9.2 mi away
McGrory's Hotel
McGrory's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Culdaff
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
6.0 mi away
Ballyliffin TownHouse
Ballyliffin TownHouse
#2 of 4 in Ballyliffin
125 reviews
1.2 mi away
White Strand B&B
White Strand B&B
#1 of 3 in Malin Head
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandrock Holiday Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandrock Holiday Hostel

Property: Sandrock Holiday Hostel
Address: Port Ronan Pier, Malin Head, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Malin Head
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Malin Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandrock Holiday Hostel is situated at 'Ireland's Most Northerly Point' in Malin Head Donegal above the small fishing pier at Port Ronan. From within the hostel there are ever changing breathtaking spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean [White Strand Bay], the headlands of Inishowen and Fanad Peninsulas and the Highlands of Donegal. These ever changing seascapes and landscapes including spectacular sunsets/sunrises at Malin Head are especially very popular with photographers and artists. The hostel at Malin Head is at a premier scenic rural location, which is a perfect base for touring, walking or cycling. Descriptive circular routes in various languages are available at the hostel. These routes highlight the local points of interest and facilities including: where to collect semi-precious stones, places of historical interest; where to buy or catch local fish including salmon [when in season] lobsters, crabs, mussels and oysters which can all be cooked in the hostel; where to view dolphins, seals and whales; and where to locate rare birds including the corncrakes, all sea birds and various birds of prey. Malin Head has also become extremely popular with divers interested in the numerous wrecks submerged just off the coast because of the unique good visibility underwater here. [Often referred to in diving magazines]. In very recent times they have located long lost wrecks. Also more and more surfers are using Malin Head. This is an unhurried hassle free area, with a welcoming friendly community with bars and shops that do not close until 1am. Bar food and restaurants. Other facilities at hostel include: Cycle hire - at special rates for guests! Musical instruments for loan to hostel guests. Nearby there is horse riding available and a unique Famine Farm attraction. Eating out and socialising in bars is considerably cheaper than in urban areas and local characters, many of whom are storytellers and/or musicians, are just waiting to meet our guests. Free WIFI access available for guests In common with other tourist hostels we provide quality budget holiday accommodation. We can accommodate up to 20 guests in two comfortable en-suite dormitories. Each dormitory has large bunk beds [duvets and pillows are provided] two showers, two wash hand basins and a toilet. There is an additional toilet, shower and wash hand basin for persons with limited mobility. There is a double self-catering kitchen equipped with utensils, hobs, microwave ovens, sinks etc and a solid fuel range with an additional oven and cooking facilities. Utensils and instructions are available for cooking locally caught fish [salmon when in season] lobsters, crabs, mussels and oysters! There are spectacular views available from a comfortable dining and lounge area, shared by all guests. A private car park and cycle shed is available for guests. Cycle hire is also available - at hostel - at special rates for guests! We are Tourist Board Approved and are members of IHH and IHO [Hostel organisations]. We welcome any enquiries and will give advice on other local accommodation [if ours is not suitable] and the daily transport facilities to Malin Head from places like Dublin, Belfast, Letterkenny and Derry. Directions: Long Distance Bus Services: If coming direct to Sandrock Holiday Hostel from Dublin or Galway get the DERRY bus'. Derry has local services to Inishowen.Mondays to Fridays there are bus services, by request thro hostel, to Sandrock Holiday Hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Sandrock Holiday Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing