We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Cloghin Dubh

Cloghin Dubh (Front)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cloghin Dubh (Front)
Cloghin Dubh (Back) Cloghin Dubh (Side)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Cloghin Dubh (Front)
Cloghin Dubh (Back)
Cloghin Dubh (Side)
View from the Lounge over the White Strand Bay
View down west Donegal
Kitchen
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 1
View from patio doors
Kitchen/Lounge
Lounge
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 1
Lounge
View from the front Patio Doors
Malin Head Raised Beach
Lagg and Trawbeaga Bay
Glashedy
Malin Head Sunset
Good day for Sailing
Lagg
Dolphins in Malin Head June 2014
Malin Head Dolphins June 2014
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Malin Head, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Janet B
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gorgeous ”
Reviewed March 10, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here with some friends of ours last May, 2017. It was a lovely drive there, fantastic views on arrival. The house is amazing. We had comfortable rooms, all with their own well equipped bathrooms. A large lounge/dining room/kitchen which is well equipped with pots, pans, toaster etc. Instructions available on how to work any equipment. The house was very clean and tidy, we had no issues what so ever with it.
We travelled round about and found some lovely places to eat and drink. It was a tranquil, place to stay and unwind for a few days.
Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 11, 2018
Thank you Janet for your review we are so glad you enjoyed your stay in Cloghin Dubh
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillpotte...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most wonderful view!!”
Reviewed February 14, 2018 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I have stayed here with my family numerous times - we love it here! The house has the most wonderful view of the sea and surrounding mountains, the light changes constantly. You are conveniently located too, there are a couple of great pubs (particularly the Seaview Tavern!) within walking distance and Malin town and Carndonagh (great secondhand bookshop and the fab cafe Banba) are a short drive away. The house itself has all you could possibly need for a comfortable stay, well equipped kitchen and each bedroom has an ensuite bathroom. The walking opportunities are endless around Malin Head and the beaches are truly heavenly.
We'll be back...

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, modern home in idyllic, tranquil setting.”
Reviewed February 6, 2018 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Cannot thank our hosts enough for making available to us this gem of a cottage. Set right on the water in a stunning landscape, that mesmerised us by constantly changing in the light; photographer and nature lovers' paradise! So many beautiful inland and coastal hikes, along spectacular beaches, (we actually got sun burn!)There is always a good pub en route, with excellent Guinness and friendly people, (with whom you can sing along if you come across a spontaneous gathering of musicians as we did!) and plenty of eateries with wonderful seafood. Also went fishing and played golf, (pitch and putt.) But best of all was just chilling "at home" looking at the view. Hope to return soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulag898
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Peaceful getaway”
Reviewed January 2, 2018 for a stay in December 2017
2
people found this review helpful

House was lovely and clean, very well equipped for cooking at home, loads of pots and pans etc. Being a bungalow, the house was easily accessible for older family members.

Donegal is just breathtakingly gorgeous and to be perched right on the coast was awesome. The views from the house are beautiful. It's a 2 min walk down to the shore.

We arrived later in the evening and Hazel called by to say hello. We didn't need anything further during our stay but she reassured us she lives nearby and just to ring for any help. The house was lovely and warm for our arrival which was great with it being mid winter!

The photos on TripAdvisor don't do the house justice in my opinion. All the bedrooms are well presented, tidy and clean and all ensuite. Plenty of clean towels and linen. Lots of boardgames, jigsaws, dvds to get you througb rainy days! The house was lovely and cosy - there was actually a storm during one of the nights but we didn't feel the cold at all.

The local town of Malin has a decent food store which is one of those shops you can pretty much get anything in. Carndonagh has a bigger supermarket and it's only approx 10 miles away.

You should take a drive up to Malin head, the most northerly point in Ireland! Stunning views.

Final point is that I was initially apprehensive about booking this property because there is a scathing 1 star review. However I feel the owner gave a courteous and well measured response. I always think better of the business owner if there's a negative review that is met with professionalism - so don't let this put you off. I'm glad I didn't!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 5, 2018
Thank you so much for your fantastic review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoX985U...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best setting on the Wild Atlantic Way”
Reviewed October 20, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great stay at Cloghin Dubh. There couldn’t be a better setting on the Wild Atlantic Way. The views from the living room are spectacular and hypnotic. People thought we were mad going mid October but we loved it. We had every kind of weather from gales to brilliant sunshine, often in the course of an hour.

The house is very comfortable and well furnished, every room is well decorated and each of the four bedrooms has an ensuite. The kitchen is very well equipped – as someone else said, the attention to detail is excellent, they have thought of everything.

We were there to go walking and would recommend Five Finger Strand Beach or further afield the Inishowen Head Trail. We also ventured in to Derry and did the Bogside History Tour which was well worth doing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Distance from pub
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay at Cloghin Dubh and thank you for excellent review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert E
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Location Superb, Cottage a shambles”
Reviewed September 6, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
4
people found this review helpful

Our holiday was spoilt due to numerous problems with the property. We had to contact the owner as the hot water system would not work. He replaced the immersion heater as it was clogged with limescale. The hot water system would still not work properly with the showers unsafe due to uncontrollable changing from cold to scalding , the owner called in a boiler engineer who said the boiler burner nozzle was partially blocked and the system was sooted up.(the boiler annual service was 14 months overdue according to a label on the boiler). An electric shower in one of the ensuites stopped working and was replaced by the owner following this no water was available in that room so the shower and toilet were unusuable. A plumber was called in but his efforts only restored the water supply for less than 24 hours. this ensuite was abandoned for the rest of our stay.
A double bed fell down due to the frame only resting on a small bracket and not securely attached this had to be propped up with books and despite the owner being told, it was not fixed during our stay.
The kitchen utensils were in a poor state of repair and cleanliness, chipped plates and frying pan with coating peeling off.
Instructions about dealing with rubbish were out of date and no bin was provided consequently bagged rubbish had to be stored indoors.
The general cleanliness of the property was poor including a small piece of dog mess behind the sink pedestal in the utility room toilet, the sofas were filthy with biscuit crumbs and several packages of out of date food were left in the kitchen cupboards.
We had the feeling that we were just a nuisance to the owner and no real care was taken to make our stay comfortable.
Without a major overhaul we would not recommend this property to anybody.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The awful hot water system
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2016
We find this review, extremely unfair. And I’m sure, if you read the other reviews - before and after his visit you would agree it is totally out of character for the property of the way we treat our guests.

We were initially called and told that the hot water wasn't working. Mr Elkin said that the boiler was not working and the immersion heater also was not working. This was not the case. I took his word for the fact that the boiler was ‘not working’ and arranged for a boiler engineer to attend. He declared that the boiler was working ok, but a recent “Soot fall”, had made it a little inefficient. Mr Elkin had not left the boiler on for long enough to allow the water to get hot. He told me that “I don’t like the boiler room, getting so hot”! Possibly because his dog’s bowls were placed next to the room? Who knows.
Now, he was however, absolutely correct about the immersion heater. Our response was to drive twenty miles and collect a new immersion heater and fit it, the same day. It transpired that the immersion heater ‘blew’, due to a calcium-blocked pipe. This was an unfortunate, but unforeseeable problem, that was rectified fully, within five or six hours of the complaint.
The next day, we were advised that the electric shower wasn't working. Again, we drove the twenty miles to buy a new replacement shower, which was fitted and working, the same day.
Because of the previous problems, an airlock developed, which stopped water flowing to one of the bedrooms. Again, this was extremely unfortunate, but was sorted out the next morning by a local plumber.
We were not advised of any more plumbing problems after the plumber’s visit. Had we known, then we could have called the plumber back. It seems so unnecessary to have “Abandoned the En Suite” and extremely dramatic. There are four En Suite Bedrooms in the property.
We also were not aware of any chipped plates and not sure what kitchen utensils are in a poor state of repair?
There are clear instructions on how to get rid of the rubbish, which are the same now as they were two years ago. It says to buy labels for each bin liner from the local shop - which they didn't do. I removed six bags of rubbish from the premises on two separate visits, which I did not charge for. I just did it as a courtesy for the inconvenience they were experiencing with the hot water.
The dog mess behind a sink pedestal is extremely insulting.
If I went into a house and found dog mess in any location, I would make the owners aware of such a thing, immediately. I was in communication with this man, daily, for over five days. Surely, you would have brought this to my attention. The last let to holiday makers with a dog, was over twelve months ago. Mr Elkin brought his dog to the property without asking or informing us that he was bringing one. We only found out that he had brought a dog, when we went to fix the immersion. We would normally make a small charge for allowing a dog on the property, but said nothing, as, yet another courtesy, because of the problem with the immersion. It seems obvious to me, which dog was responsible for the mess.
So, to say, “we were just a nuisance to the owner and no real care was taken to make our stay comfortable” is not only untrue, but extremely offensive, after all the efforts made to sort the problems out, and without hesitation.
To sum up, yes, there were problems with the hot water, but on each occasion they were dealt with immediately. The property has been occupied for most of the Spring and Summer without any issues. Whenever any of our guests have a problem we make every effort to ensure that they are sorted out as soon as possible and this time was no exception. These problems could not have been expedited any quicker, with minimum disturbance to our guests.
Mr Elkin was at the property for 14 days and after the initial problems we heard nothing else from him until this review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martincor...
Armagh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“peace and tranquility”
Reviewed August 27, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

we all had a wonderful time from the youngest aged 1 to the oldest ages 50. a lovely clean house with all our needs catered for. so peaceful and quiet especially at night when all you can hear is the sea. will definately be back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all enjoyed themselves
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 30, 2016
Thanks Martin - so glad you all enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing