We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly if you go to Malin Head”
Review of Farren's Bar

Farren's Bar
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Malin Head
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast Food
Restaurant details
Moelan sur Mer, France
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“very friendly if you go to Malin Head”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

it was 11 am and we were looking for coffee house shown in our guide book but it closed down so we ended up in this bar .. they were really nice ... It was too early for guiness unfortunately but it was tempting ... instead had a nice cappucino !! it was still good !! too bad they only had pizza for food we weren't in the mood for that !!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mimi76Bolbec_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    16
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington dc
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Most Northernly Pub in Ireland”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

OK- This got 5 stars b/c it's novel- Its the most northernly pub in the Republic. We were driving to Malin Head and saw a sign for this pub and had to stop. We each had a Guinness- which was poured in the traditionally slow pour style by a bar tender that MIGHT have been 19 years old. The pizza oven was broken- so no pizza for us that day, but sometimes that is just the way it goes.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheryllmarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Igualada, Catalonia, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“if you're around Malin Head go there!”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

this a pub from a friendly family, you can a have a fresh beer or drink. just 3 pizzas to choose, but owners are nice!, and guest as well !, it worth go there really. I've met Bill Callaway, a tipical irish man of there who used to go at this pub and a german retired very sympathic, at the origin we cam for a quick drink, but we stayed 3h, they were very helpfull for our travel!
definitly a friendly pub, and the ireland's most northerly.
you should have a break there!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“If you're in Malin Head you shouldn't miss this place”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

This is a bar with 3 choices of pizza on the menu. The locals are lovely warm and welcoming as are the staff. If you're lucky and buy a pint the barman will write your name in the Guinness!!!

It has a pool table (always fun) and a very good smoking area. It even sells the odd item. I was able to buy paracetemol there :)

I'll definitely be going back

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farren's Bar also viewed

Malin Head, County Donegal
Gweedore, County Donegal
 
Ballyliffin, County Donegal
Clonmany, County Donegal
 
Culdaff, County Donegal
 

Been to Farren's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing