We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“White Strand B&B”
Review of White Strand B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
White Strand B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Malin Head B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“White Strand B&B”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I spent 2013 New Years with my young family at the White Strand B&B and cannot sing it's praises highly enough. Mary was so welcoming and friendly, on arrival we were treated to a high tea with home baked breads and scones, such a nice touch. Mary made such a fuss over my kids and spoiled them with sweets and soda pop, they talked about visiting again the moment we got home. Breakfast was delicious and some of the nicest coffee I have ever tasted.

The rooms are immaculate and have everything that you could possible need. The scenery was breathtaking from our windows, there are beaches and plenty of open countryside to amble around at leisure.

I would not hesitate in recommending a stay at the White Strand B&B to anyone and my family and I look forward to meeting Mary again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
52
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caen, France
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Stayed at the White Strand B&B in November. It was a last-minute booking but Mary had everything ready and was very welcoming and accommodating. The double room was sparkling clean, with everything you might need (bathroom ensuite, hair dryer, kettle, tv, free wifi, etc) and a view on the hills, fields and the beach. Very quiet and relaxing. Lovely breakfast too !
This is probably the best B&B I have stayed in so far :)

Room Tip: All the bedrooms have a view on the beach and hills with skylight !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zebra2806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

As soon as you arrive at White Strand and meet Mary, you know it is a special place. The area is so calming and quiet, with big airy rooms, a beautiful breeze, amazing views and beautiful people. Mary got us settled and sent us on our way right away with lots of information of the area and what to see. Standing at the most northern tip of Ireland at sunset is an experience not to be missed, and one we feel very fortunate to have had. Mary recommended a great restaurant very close by for supper, and now we can say we dined at the most northern place to eat in Ireland - and what a great meal! Mary's hospitality was incredible, as was her house. Breakfast was delicious and Mary was able to help us plan out our next day with expert advice. Can't wait until we can make it back there for another visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaylyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Anyone interested in peace and coastal beauty has to visit Malin Head. We had no plans as to where to stay but knew we wanted to experience Malin. Mary Houghton's B and B was perfect for just that! Her rooms were clean and quiet surrounded only by sheep, the countryside and the water. Dinner at a nearby pub was super with loads of locals. We had so much fun. We experienced the most perfect, true Irish Breakfast with unbeatable french press coffee! Mary was so helpful with suggestions for touring the peninsula. Mary made the trip to the farthest point north on the island an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Have been staying at this B&B for many years and it only get's better. From the second you arrive Mary is there to make sure your stay is not only perfect but also special! A unique place a real tourist would find to be as close to home they can find! Do yourself a favor when you visit the northern tip of Ireland, stay at White Strands and you will be like me, longing to return year after year. Thanks for another great stay Mary, see you in 2014!

Jim and Harriette

Room Tip: Everyone is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Nice friendly place to stay. Mary was very helpful and informative re the tourist sites in the region. The rooms were bright with views. The bathrooms were large and airy. Breakfast was plentiful. The nearby seafood restaurant was very nice although service was a little slow.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were on a biking holiday which started in Ballina and ended in Belfast and despite staying at many excellent B&Bs this was the best! Mary was a fabulous hostess. We were only going to stay one night but despite a tight schedule we stayed 2 nights. The room was gorgeous. Mary's hospitality was exceptionally good - on each day we were welcomed in the late afternoon with tea and a variety of bread, scones, apple pie and cake. There was a great choice of breakfast - cooked really well and preceded by fruit, porridge/ cereal and juice. Mary had great advice on where to visit and routes to take. We really hope to return for a longer visit in the not so distant future. Mary thank you so much for your hospitality and care.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank North-Gates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malin Head
17.7 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
891 reviews
6.9 mi away
Ballyliffin TownHouse
Ballyliffin TownHouse
#2 of 4 in Ballyliffin
126 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
1,872 reviews
6.1 mi away
Malin Hotel
Malin Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malin
207 reviews
8.1 mi away
Ballyliffin Hotel
Ballyliffin Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ballyliffin
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Strand B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Strand B&B

Property: White Strand B&B
Address: Whitestrand B&B, Crega | Inishowen, Malin Head, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Malin Head
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Malin Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — White Strand B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you here at Whitestrand B&B in Malin Head at the northernmost tip of the Wild Atlantic Way coastal route. Since 2000 I have been welcoming guests from all over the world. Many have returned for several visits, been drawn back by the varities of activites and attractions on offer in this area. Boasting the unrivalled natural beauty of County Donegal at every turn, you will experience spectacular views from our Bed & Breakfast.Catching a glimpse of basking sharks, dolphins and seals in the waters around Malin Head will surely make your visit a memorable one. With beautiful beaches, hill walks, diving and superb water sports and gold in the area, you are sure to enjoy your stay at Whitestrand. This area, with it's rugged landscape, is a haven for cyclists, walkers and birdwatchers alike and it is one of the few remaining area in Ireland where you still hear the corncrake bird calling during the short nights around midsummer. Many visitors have come especially to view the famed Northern Lights. They have been enthralled at the spectacular red and green shimmering lights of the Aurora Borealis in the skies over Malin Head. Whitestrand B&B has three rooms ensuite, all with seaviews, one room is a family room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your White Strand B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing