We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit so so to be fair”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Glasgow Livingston Hilcroft Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitburn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2008

Stayed here in Jan on a business trip. The staff were warm and friendly but the place is family run and to be fair you can tell. The decor in the room was a dated and the bathroom suite was coloured and there was no where to stick your makeup bag and toilettries - like no shelf in front of the mirror. however the room was clean and tidy.

Getting bags up to the room is a problem as there is no lift and no bell boy. I struggled badly and the hallway for some reason really stinks of furniture polish to the brink of making you feel a bit queasy.

Outside the traffic was relentless as the place is just adjacent to a major junction. However there was plenty of parking.

I ate at the restaurant in the hotel in the evening and I have to admit this was a big mistake as it was over priced rubbish. I had a salmon starter that was ok but a bit tasteless (presentation great though) but the caesar chicken salad was terrible - and the chicken was so tough I couldnt eat it. I am not one to complain normally but this was so bad I actually told the waitress to tell the chef not to serve anyone else with that chicken because it was so terrible.

So i went to bed feeling hungry and listened to next door play a guitar to some girls who giggled noisily but I didnt mind that at least someone was having fun that night.

Theres no gym so I took a run in the morning. The staff didnt have an idea of where I could run so that was a bit disappointing too.

Breakfast was great if you like cooked stuff or cereals but if you eat fruit and continental like me then you can have a fruit salad and thats about it. There were no bowls or spoons for this and I had to track down the single waitess on duty to obtain these...

All in all I wouldnt stay there again if i had a choice...sorry

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank BionicBanjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlemissScotland, Owner at Best Western Glasgow Livingston Hilcroft Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2008

Whilst we strive to please all of our guests, it is is accepted that sometimes we can get it wrong. However, like all good hotels, we encourage our guests to tell us if they are unhappy, either at the time or directly after their stay, so that we can rectify any issues. We ARE a family run business and are very proud of this. We have a continuous capital investment programme in place and do our utmost to give our guests the best experience possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 320 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2007

Had a wonderful stay at Hilcroft Hotel. Room was spotless and very contemporary. Bed very comfortable and room had all we could have needed.
Staff were fantastic and went out of their way to make our stay more enjoyable. The food and bar was brilliant. Bar 108 was more like a swanky wine bar we'd have expected to find in Edinburgh or Glasgow. A real bonus to have it in the hotel. Food was also very good with a superb choice.
All in all - we had a very pleasant stay and couldn't find fault with anything

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gailpirie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2006

My family (2 adults and 2 kids, aged 8 & 10) just returned from a trip to Scotland, during which we spent 5 nights with the Hilditch family at the Hilcroft Hotel. The hotel turned out to be an excellent "home base" for trips into Edinburgh, Glasgow, St. Andrews, Stirling and Roslyn. It is located just off the M8 highway, midway between Glasgow and Edinburgh (each about 25 minutes away).

Our room was spotless, spacious and comfortable. This is a family run hotel, so the owner was often on-site, and there is a definite pride in the way the place is run and maintained.

The staff is wonderful, and very attentive.They were very patient with my numerous requests for directions, and made several excellent suggestions for things to see with the kids.

The restaurant, the "One O Eight" served excellent food, at reasonable prices. My kids got hooked on Irn Bru, the local soda, and the fish and chips. The hagis is very good (despite what you hear about it, it's like a spicy meatloaf) and my wife enjoyed the fish dishes quite a bit. The wait staff, like the rest of the hotel staff, made sure that we had everything we needed.

Overall, a great place to stay!!!

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Steve in NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Speeckaert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hilditch, Owner at Best Western Glasgow Livingston Hilcroft Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die Räume zum Parkplatz sind leiser, da nicht direkt über den Festräumen gelegen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank railtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hilditch, Owner at Best Western Glasgow Livingston Hilcroft Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
Thank padawan1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hilditch, Owner at Best Western Glasgow Livingston Hilcroft Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: Le stanze che si affacciano sul retro sono decisamente silenziose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitburn
5.7 mi away
Travelodge Livingston
Travelodge Livingston
#1 of 4 in Livingston
317 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Livingston (Bathgate) Hotel
6.5 mi away
Premier Inn Livingston (M8, Jct3) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Mercure Livingston
Mercure Livingston
#3 of 4 in Livingston
567 reviews
7.2 mi away
Macdonald Houstoun House
2.3 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bathgate
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Glasgow Livingston Hilcroft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Glasgow Livingston Hilcroft Hotel

Address: East Main Street | Livingston, Whitburn EH47 0JU, Scotland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hilcroft Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Whitburn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitburn
Price Range: $66 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Glasgow Livingston Hilcroft Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Hilcroft Hotel centrally located between Edinburgh and Glasgow and easy access to the M8 motorway. The Hilcroft Hotel is ideally situated for the first time visitor to the area through the regular visitors needing easy access to the road/rail networks. As well as being centrally located for Edinburgh and Glasgow, we are less than 10 miles to Grangemouth, Falkirk, Newbridge, Bathgate and Livingston, making us the best located hotel in the area! Whether you're visiting for business or to make use of the excellent shopping facilities in Livingston, The Hilcroft Hotel has everything you need to make your visit a welcome and relaxing trip. 32 en-suite bedrooms, FREE Wi-fi throughout the hotel, Satellite TV, 2 Honeymoon suites (one with jacuzzi bath). Relaxing One O Eight Bar and Restaurant: Modern style restaurant with a great selection of dishes, FREE on-site parking, 3 air conditioned conference suites, Excellent conference facilities including LCD projector, Secretarial services, TV, etc. The hotel is no smoking throughout its hotel and bar/restaurant. A dedicated heated area has been allocated outside of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Glasgow Livingston Hilcroft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Livingston
Livingston Best Western
Best Western Glasgow Livingston Hilcroft Hotel Whitburn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing