We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing house with stunning views”
other travelers have booked this property
Spacious lower and upper deck areas provide lovely sheltered areas to sit in the evening sun.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious lower and upper deck areas provide lovely sheltered areas to sit in the evening sun.
Catching the late evening sun on a beautiful October day 2017. Upper garden area visible. Upstairs viewing area with internal and external balconies. Exposed beams and double height.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
Spacious lower and upper deck areas provide lovely sheltered areas to sit in the evening sun.
Catching the late evening sun on a beautiful October day 2017. Upper garden area visible.
Upstairs viewing area with internal and external balconies. Exposed beams and double height.
Very spacious open plan downstairs living/ dining room with lovely views over the garden and loch.
Leather suites and solid oak furniture with views over the garden and loch.
Lovely spring colours. May 2018.
Dining room with huge oak table and leather seating for ten.
Dine in style at the huge solid oak table with seating for ten. Look out over the garden and loch.
Large oak table with leather seating for 10.
The room floods with sunlight and overlooks the loch.
Huge kitchen with utility room beyond and back door.
Double ovens and masses of storage.
Huge kitchen overlooking rear garden. American fridge/freezer.
May 2018. Half an acre of landscaped gardens with a small stream running through the woodland.
Aerial photograph of the 2 large deck areas. Enjoy the views and the outdoors whatever the weather.
A huge bedroom with King oak bed, en-suite and desk area, overlooking the loch and garden.
King size oak sleigh bed in this beautiful, spacious bedroom with views over the garden and loch
One of 3 en-suites with deep, long bath and overhead shower. Views over the back garden and hillside
A beautiful light filled bedroom with 2 windows overlooking the loch. En-suite and study area.
A beautiful very spacious double bedroom with views over the loch from 2 windows. Ensuite.
Oak side cabinets, chest of drawers, 2 mirrors, study area and en-suite with bath and shower.
A huge double bedroom with en-suite and desk area. Views over the loch from 2 windows.
Spacious twin bedroom with en-suite. Lovely views over the back garden and hillside.
En-suite shower room with walk in shower, off the back twin bedroom.
Overlooks the rear garden.
Downstairs double bedroom with leather bed and built in wardrobe
Two windows overlooking the garden
Spacious downstairs public bathroom, next to double bedroom. Large wall mirror and heated towel rail
Games room with pool table, sofa bed and children's toys. Aerial photographs of area on display
In the evening sit on the huge balcony and watch the spectacular sunsets over Loch Fyne.
Extensive deck area overlooking Loch Fyne.
Looking from the garden down Loch Fyne. The garden is full of flowering shrubs such as azaleas.
Looking down the loch from the front lawn area. A great place to have a picnic.
Looking over Strachur bay from the new pontoon. Just a few minutes stroll from the house.
In an elevated site above the village of Strachur. Stunning views of the loch and surrounding hills.
Looking down the path at side of house.
Parking space for 2 cars plus 3 cars at front of house
Looking across front lawn area. A big flat area, great for children playing
Gas B.B.Q.
A large open area to side of house with large picnic table
Picnic area, lovely and sheltered in the sun with views down the loch
Aerial view of Ardfyne's upper floor area - 3 huge bedrooms with en-suites and sitting/viewing area.
New gas B.B.Q for 2018
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Strachur, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
flipsiden...
Witney, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Amazing house with stunning views”
Reviewed August 31, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The house is so much more than we expected.so much space.
Rooms are massive,well equipped.dinning room table could fit everyone with room to spare. 2 ovens in the kitchen American fridge- freezer as well as built in fridge and freezer. we didn't struggle once for space / equipment .all fixtures an fittings were modern and up to date. With plenty of sockets around . The garage to the side mentioned in another review is no longer there. Garden with shrubbery is lovely ,totally in keeping with the area and the other gardens. The house is child friendly.
wifi a definite bonus too.
we found the owners couldn't have been more helpful, with milk etc to welcome us when we first arrived.
From the top balcony we had the pleasure of watching a group of deer which the children loved. We spent a lot of time at the loch ( you can buy fishing lines from the local shop for £1.50)this kept both adults and children amused for hours. Forest walks were amazing too. So much to do.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2014
Delighted to hear that you had a great holiday at Ardfyne.Thank you so much for your very positive feedback on the house. We have made every effort to kit the house out for large groups and the American fridge/freezer is certainly proving to be very popular.Also lovely to hear from someone who really appreciates the garden, the views and local wildlife. Would love to welcome you back at some time in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed August 17, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The magnificent view on the sea.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2014
So pleased to hear that you really enjoyed your visit to Scotland and enjoyed the house and area. Was also interested to hear that you managed to see a lot of the surrounding area. Ardfyne is certainly in a very good location for exploring the west coast and beyond.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Elinor M
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning views and peace and quiet.”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Just spent twelve days at Ardfyne with my family. An idyllic location with breathtaking views. The loch side is an easy stroll down the hill as is the little tea room and shop. My youngest two children particularly enjoyed the large garden and all the wee paths which they loved to explore.
Strachur is an ideal base for exploring Argyle and Bute. We travelled to Bute twice, crossing at Colintraive, the drive down is beautiful as is Bute. We went to Tignabruaich which has a lovely little bistro and a beautiful viewpoint on the road down. We ventured as far as Oban and Glen Coe and really enjoyed touring the stunning Scottish countryside.
The house is spacious, comfy and well equipped with lovely deep baths for a good soak. I would certainly recommend the house to large families or groups looking to relax and drink in the spectacular views from the many viewpoints in and around the house. The only downside is you miss the view when you go home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: the driveway
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words and delighted to hear that you loved the house, its garden and location.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeighBoth...
Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“House needs some TLC and is full of DIY”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I was really looking forward to staying in this house however initial impressions on driving into the property was rather disappointing, Let me first list out the positives as I do want to make this as balanced as possible. I also want to state we had a great time but this was more down to the surrounding area and weather we had the week we went, rather than the experience of the house.
Firstly the view is stunning from the top deck and you can see right across to Inveraray, which is one of our favourite places to visit. The bonus of all rooms having access to their own bathroom is also great.
There are however a lot of negatives which were really disappointing considering this is billed as 'luxury' accommodation. Most of these are little things that could be easily sorted but obviously the owners have overlooked these. The driveway on the property is poor, unlevel, unmaintained and old - it really gives a poor impression when driving in. The garden surrounding it (although at one point in time would have been pretty), has fell into an overgrown and slightly unruly mess. There is a garage / shed to the side of the house, which frankly is dangerous and on the verge of collapse and we had to ensure our friends small child who stayed at the house, stayed well away from it.
As you enter the house the basic essentials are there but the little extras that I've experienced with other properties are missing. The kitchen is obviously quite new however the owners have put down old, unhygienic carpet floor tiles in the kitchen which are not actually attached to the floor, this really doesn't give a luxurious feel. The furniture seems a bit of a mish mash and not coordinated for the house, but taken from extras the owners must have had. The décor such as the curtains don't even match and there are dated fake flowers everywhere that are more suited to an old folks home.
There has been an extension put on at one point in time and the old part of the house needs some updating in terms of windows as they are single glazed and very old and are hard to open and close correctly, (one of which even had a huge crack in it). The decking outside is dark and dingy and the ceiling has been painted in a dark paint with drips all down the outside lights.
There are lights inside and outside the house which don't work. I'd expect light bulbs to be changed in such a property when they run out. The games room has strange little stars stuck to the wall which you'd find in a corner shop stuck on discounted products and the overall impression smacks cheap. Little things that are really important such as a floor length mirror, sockets next to mirrors to plug in hair dryers etc are not present. There isn't even an ironing board and the iron they do provide actually is so old and useless it burnt my top.
Overall I wouldn't recommend this property unless is was half the price to stay than stated. It's dated in some areas and seems put together with not much thought or expense. The view as I said before is stunning but I feel this is all the owners are basing the property on. In saying this to the left of the property is a bit of land you can see from the house with diggers, and cables, obviously building other properties so the view to that side may not be there for much longer. It's not luxury in any sense and having stayed in the area last year in another property for the same price, there is just no comparison.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The property was poor and not as expected
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2014
We always welcome feedback from our guests but were puzzled and shocked to read your extremely negative report.

You advised us by email immediately after returning home that you “had a great holiday”. No mention was made of any problems or dissatisfaction with the property or indeed any reference to damage that you had done.

It was therefore a shock to us to find that the glass on the ceramic hob had been shattered and the new oak coffee table had been badly marked.

When you were informed of the damage you were understandably uncomfortable. We also note in your email response that “our friends who stayed with us were going to book to stay with their family, but I don’t think that this will happen now”.

It would seem to us therefore that you and your friends were very happy with the property until damage was pointed out and since then you have decided to present a radically different view.

Many of your statements are not a matter of opinion but are fundamentally wrong and misleading. For example, I would comment as follows –

 The upper storey and viewing gallery was completed only one year ago. The principal furniture was purchased new at that time and was chosen in matched sets to provide an up to date, contemporary style.

 The house is fully double glazed – there is no single glazing.

 The games room is furnished to appeal to children and the younger generation.

 There is an abundance of sockets throughout the house and, in particular, there is a double socket immediately adjacent to each dressing table & mirror.

 The extensive woodland garden is heavily landscaped and has been appreciated by former guests.

Many of your comments are in direct conflict with other guests’ recent reviews on TripAdvisor, such as –

 Ardfyne just picture perfect
 … Ardfyne comes out on top of our Scotland holiday homes list
 Do not miss out on this gem …
 Extra-ordinary holiday home
 The facilities were fantastic…
 Ardfyne is modernly decorated and furnished beautifully
 Superb holiday home
 … very modern with everything needed to enjoy our holiday
 The house had everything we needed for a fantastic holiday…
 The house is perfect …
 House to be proud of
 Lovely gardens and amazing views …
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharlene8...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house with spectacular views”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at the house with my family in June. If was big enough for all of us and we all had our own bathroom which was great. The house has spectacular views over the loch and we enjoyed sitting on the balcony relaxing.
You really need a car if you plan to visit the surrounding area.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 14, 2014
Really delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday at Ardfyne and that the weather was good enough for you to enjoy the views, especially from the upstairs seating area that is becoming a firm favourite with all of our guests.
Although the local shop/café/post office and pontoon are just minutes walk from the house we do recommend to all our guests that they hire a car to explore everything that this beautiful area has to offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis G
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It was all we hoped for, and more.”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

From start to finish we found Ardfyne just picture perfect. The location was ideal, the house itself was very spacious and well set out. Very clean and tidy and the upstairs hall area and balcony provided a relaxing end to the day with spectacular views - just as advertised. We have taken holiday homes (with family) for several years now and Ardfyne comes out on top of our Scotland holiday homes list. I would not contemplate going anywhere else in the area in future and will be giving strong recommendations to all my friends and family. Do not miss out on this gem if thinking of a holiday home in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness and the views.
Liked least: The driveway was a bit of a struggle
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 14, 2014
Thank you for your excellent review on Ardfyne. I was so pleased to hear that you were able to relax and enjoy the views. We would certainly be delighted if you would recommend us to all your family and friends and would love to welcome you back at some point in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COL4310
Whitburn, United Kingdom
1 review
“extra-ordinary holiday home with surreal views”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

To begin with we would like to say a massive thank you to the owners for allowing us to stay at the Ardfyne holiday home. We enjoyed a peaceful and private stay where we could relax and spend a fully filled enjoyable weekend away. The facilities were fantastic and we were provided with everything we needed and more. Our party enjoyed the sitting area upstairs where we could chill-out and take in the stunning views. This was our favourite part of the house. It was also a delight to stand out on the balcony and listen to all the nature. Ardfyne is modernly decorated and furnished beautifully. A small shop is a very short distance away -which was handy- as well as the loch which was directly across from the house. We spent a full day at loch fyne where we paddled, spotted muscles, whelks, sea urchins and crabs. The weather was also reasonably warm which added to a fun day out. Overall our stay at Ardfyne was brilliant we are definitely considering returning sometime next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the upstairs sitting area
Liked least: the midges due to humid weather conditions
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2014
Thank you for your very positive feedback. Lovely to hear that you really enjoyed your break at Ardfyne and that the weather was kind to you, allowing you to explore some of the area. Would be delighted to welcome you all back next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing